VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Back to Vector!  (Read 1976 times)

Herpy

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Back to Vector!
« on: June 03, 2012, 05:59:42 pm »

I have returned with using Vector Linux 7 Light, I went in a distro hopping phase but I missed this distro mostly cuase things did not break like they do in the buntu relm. So I'm back and it's good to be back!  ;D
Logged
Forever in a box

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Back to Vector!
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2012, 06:46:17 pm »

Welcome back Herpy;
 You'll have to tell us about you wonderings, when you have time.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Back to Vector!
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2012, 12:01:48 am »

welcome back :)
Logged

nitehawk

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 155
  • Just me.
Re: Back to Vector!
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2012, 02:26:45 pm »

Hiya, Herp

Yeah,...I sometimes go "dabbling" amonst other distros.   I always come back to Vector, though.   It seems to "just work" on my slightly older (to pretty well older) computers.  Has most all the apps I usually use OOTB,...and doesn't take a whole lot of tweaking,...other than just getting the desktop like I like it.  

I had been using Slackware 13.37 for awhile,...then just thought to myself,  "why bother"?  Slackware proper does seem to have a better rendition of nouveau.   But that's only relevant if I want to use the xscreensaver vid called "Noof".   In Slackware,..it appears to run so smoothly,...but in Vector it seems to "jerk" in little spikes.  But that's not a show-stopper, for sure.
Everything else is just soooooo much easier to set up and use in Vector than in Slackware  (and gotta love Gslapt!).
Logged

Herpy

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
Re: Back to Vector!
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2012, 01:39:55 pm »

Alright I will tell ya about my distro hopping after I ditched Vector for a couple of months.

Distro hopping. My addiction. I started hopping distros ever since Ultimate 3.0 gamers came out. A lot of new distros started coming out like Manjaro, I started dabbleing with wattos. And I stuck with Sabayon for a few months. But alas, I got into the Linux Distro Community and at the time I had difficulty getting mumble to run so I went to Sabayon. And my system broke multiple times. Rolling Release is good but I figured, why do I want to live on the bleeding edge? I tried Crunchbang and that was buggy. Fluxbox and mumble do not get along and I am like well crap. Then Back to School is here. I do Online High school. On my senior year so I figured I wanted somthing that would not go bang. Somthing that just works. Solid as a rock. Vector came calling back to me. After a few runs in virtualbox, mumble was working. My favorite games are in the repos now. So I took the plunged and installed.....Vlocity. Vlocity is still early and needs work. It did not let me use my proper screen resolution. My cpu is amd 64 bit but I do not even have 4 gigs of ram! So I installed good old 32 bit vector. Hopefully when I need a new cpu Vlocity will be ale to detect my resolution and I can Vector the 64 bit way but as of now. Good old Vector Linux Standard Gold is just perfect for me.

If you read all of that give yourself a pat on the back.
« Last Edit: September 02, 2012, 01:42:11 pm by Herpy »
Logged
Forever in a box

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4130
Re: Back to Vector!
« Reply #5 on: September 02, 2012, 06:24:52 pm »

Pat, pat. To you. ;)
Logged

Chris530

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Back to Vector!
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2012, 03:44:26 pm »

My laptop has Sabayon Gnome3 (I'm one of the few that love Gnome3) and everything else in the house has either Vector or Slackware installed.  With Slack it's so much easier to install software and Vector makes it even more so.
Logged

ronnyquest

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 90
    • Traveller Downport
Re: Back to Vector!
« Reply #7 on: November 11, 2012, 04:26:54 pm »

Vlocity is still early and needs work. It did not let me use my proper screen resolution. My cpu is amd 64 bit but I do not even have 4 gigs of ram! So I installed good old 32 bit vector. Hopefully when I need a new cpu Vlocity will be ale to detect my resolution and I can Vector the 64 bit way but as of now. Good old Vector Linux Standard Gold is just perfect for me.

Odd that you have issues with VL 7.0-64.  I have it running on mine and my wife's desktop machines with nary an issue as far as CPU and GPU recognition.  They have both run VL 7.0-64 since RC2 or so.  See the machine configurations in my sig.

BTW, kids love your desktops.
Logged
Compaq Presario 900Z (AMD Athlon MP, 1.5 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 30 GB HDD) - VL 6.0 Standard
Gateway Laptop (Celeron M 1.60 GHz, 1 GB RAM, 80 GB HDD) - VL 6.0
2 x Homebrew PCs (AMD Phenom II X4 965, 4096MB RAM, 500 GB SATA HDD, ATI Radeon HD 5700, ASUS M4A79XTD EVO) - VL 7.0-64