Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)  (Read 2879 times)

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)
« on: June 19, 2012, 03:58:40 pm »
Amarok isn't behaving properly and a search via Google shows many who have the same issue. Basically, Amarok plays one song on the playlist and then stops. Most of the issues I saw during my search points to the phonon backend.

So I fired up GSlapt and looked for phonon and find this (see attached).

So my question is, which backend should be installed? The unchecked phonon-xine-backend is larger than the installed version.

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2012, 05:11:27 pm »
As far as I know the correct packages name is phonon-backend-xine...is phonon-xine come default in VL7 SOHO?

Masta

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)
« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 08:28:17 pm »
In CD2/iso2... packages/kde ...they are named without "backend".

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 09:16:51 pm »
Ok...phonon-backend-xine and phonon-xine is the same things just with different package name. Consider it a bugs :P
What is the problem with it? What are your plan?

fogpipe

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2012, 11:50:54 am »
The best luck i have had with KDE and sound is using phonon with the gstreamer backend. Even then phonon didnt work correctly unless i restarted alsa every time i logged into kde.

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1280
Re: Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2012, 04:32:32 pm »
Ok...phonon-backend-xine and phonon-xine is the same things just with different package name. Consider it a bugs :P
What is the problem with it? What are your plan?

The issue I'm having with Amarok is it plays one song in the play list and then stops.
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Amarok and phonon-xine backend (SOHO 7)
« Reply #6 on: December 06, 2012, 10:37:52 pm »
There is a new amarok in the testing repo...maybe you can test it...and I would recommend to abandon phonon-backend-xine and use phonon-backend-gstremer instead...