Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?  (Read 9674 times)

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« on: July 02, 2012, 08:37:11 am »
Hi, ¿how I can add a custom resolution (1600x900) in the drivers fglrx 4.12 with the new Xorg system?
I am using Vector Soho 7.0 and ATI 3200 video card
Thank you very much.

pierce.jason

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 06:04:49 pm »
If you have propitiatory fglrx drivers installed, use the amd control panel. It is quite comprehensive and "generally" works right. ;)
pierce.jason
Email: $(echo -e "moc\x2eliamg\x40nosaj.ecreip" | rev)

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 07:41:27 pm »
This video will show you how to install proprietary drivers if you have not already.
Will also show you how to access control panel as root.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7knXebI3Vo
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2012, 03:55:01 pm »
If you have propitiatory fglrx drivers installed, use the amd control panel. It is quite comprehensive and "generally" works right. ;)
if you mean "catalyst control center", that resolution is not selectable - but the monitor supports it - with the old xorg system, we could add the resolution by editing xorg.conf. But, I do not know with the new system.
I have already installed the fglrx drivers.
Thanks to both of you.

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2013, 04:49:16 am »
This works for me - xrandr -
Code: [Select]
http://www.taringa.net/posts/linux/11051316/Cambiar-la-resolucion-de-pantalla-con-xrandr.htmlI think nvidia proprietary drivers do not support xrandr
Regards.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2013, 04:59:59 am by JM »

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 584
  • move the needle
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2013, 05:26:26 pm »
If you're comfortable editing xorg.conf, get the machine into text mode (issuing "init 2" as root works), log back in as root then do "Xorg -configure".
An xorg.conf.new will be placed in /root. Make needed changes, test with Xorg -config /root/xorg.conf.new. When you have it, copy it to /etc/X11/xorg.conf. Then you can go back to graphical with "init 4".

If xorg.conf is present, xorg will use it. If you have a working xorg.conf for this machine/display backed up somewhere, you can just copy it over rather than generating a default and editing.

There's also a way to put just the needed changes (and not have an xorg.conf) under xorg.conf.d, but I don't know the ins and outs of that. Maybe someone can enlighten us both.
Robert
VL Light RC 1.2

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2013, 02:51:08 pm »
Thanks roarde, edit Xorg and adding custom resolution did not work, but the "xrandr" method worked. Hope this helps someone else.
Greetings.