VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?  (Read 10490 times)

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« on: July 02, 2012, 09:37:11 am »

Hi, ¿how I can add a custom resolution (1600x900) in the drivers fglrx 4.12 with the new Xorg system?
I am using Vector Soho 7.0 and ATI 3200 video card
Thank you very much.
Logged

pierce.jason

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 250
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2012, 07:04:49 pm »

If you have propitiatory fglrx drivers installed, use the amd control panel. It is quite comprehensive and "generally" works right. ;)
Logged
pierce.jason
Email: $(echo -e "moc\x2eliamg\x40nosaj.ecreip" | rev)

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2012, 08:41:27 pm »

This video will show you how to install proprietary drivers if you have not already.
Will also show you how to access control panel as root.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A7knXebI3Vo
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2012, 04:55:01 pm »

If you have propitiatory fglrx drivers installed, use the amd control panel. It is quite comprehensive and "generally" works right. ;)
if you mean "catalyst control center", that resolution is not selectable - but the monitor supports it - with the old xorg system, we could add the resolution by editing xorg.conf. But, I do not know with the new system.
I have already installed the fglrx drivers.
Thanks to both of you.
Logged

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2013, 05:49:16 am »

This works for me - xrandr -
Code: [Select]
http://www.taringa.net/posts/linux/11051316/Cambiar-la-resolucion-de-pantalla-con-xrandr.htmlI think nvidia proprietary drivers do not support xrandr
Regards.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2013, 05:59:59 am by JM »
Logged

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 629
  • move the needle
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2013, 06:26:26 pm »

If you're comfortable editing xorg.conf, get the machine into text mode (issuing "init 2" as root works), log back in as root then do "Xorg -configure".
An xorg.conf.new will be placed in /root. Make needed changes, test with Xorg -config /root/xorg.conf.new. When you have it, copy it to /etc/X11/xorg.conf. Then you can go back to graphical with "init 4".

If xorg.conf is present, xorg will use it. If you have a working xorg.conf for this machine/display backed up somewhere, you can just copy it over rather than generating a default and editing.

There's also a way to put just the needed changes (and not have an xorg.conf) under xorg.conf.d, but I don't know the ins and outs of that. Maybe someone can enlighten us both.
Logged
Robert
VL 7.1 Light

JM

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: ¿Use custom screen resolution with fglrx drivers?
« Reply #6 on: May 12, 2013, 03:51:08 pm »

Thanks roarde, edit Xorg and adding custom resolution did not work, but the "xrandr" method worked. Hope this helps someone else.
Greetings.
Logged