VectorLinux
September 02, 2014, 05:35:47 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] Driver for AX226 Wimax USB modem by ZTE  (Read 10883 times)
tunit
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #15 on: July 13, 2012, 05:41:30 pm »

I've got the following outputs and I cannot make anything out of it...

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:863 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:863 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:76312 (74.5 Kb)  TX bytes:76312 (74.5 Kb)


# Generated by dhcpcd
# /etc/resolv.conf.head can replace this line
# /etc/resolv.cof.tail can replace this line

Should I try the iwlist scan command and the dhcpcd with ssid commands mentioned in the howto? maybe these will work now since I can connect now..
Logged

Vector 7 GG xfce 4 dual-booted with windows vista on Toshiba Satellite L300 intel celeron 2 GHz RAM 1 GB Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
tunit
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #16 on: July 13, 2012, 06:28:04 pm »

No good. I've emailed the gui support to let them know about this no IP problem. Let's see what they say about it. Thanks for your help, and please let me know if you come up with anything else.
Logged

Vector 7 GG xfce 4 dual-booted with windows vista on Toshiba Satellite L300 intel celeron 2 GHz RAM 1 GB Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
tunit
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #17 on: July 13, 2012, 09:28:39 pm »

root:# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=20 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
         
eth1      no wireless extensions.


root:# dhcpcd
dhcpcd[3156]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[3156]: eth1: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[3156]: eth0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[3156]: wlan0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[3156]: timed out
dhcpcd[3156]: forked to background, child pid 3199
Logged

Vector 7 GG xfce 4 dual-booted with windows vista on Toshiba Satellite L300 intel celeron 2 GHz RAM 1 GB Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #18 on: July 14, 2012, 07:53:32 am »

you have 3 different network cards there eth0, eth1 and wlan0.
we need to know which is which.
run "dmesg|grep eth" and "dmesg|grep wlan"
once you find the right one you should be able to bring it up with "ifconfig eth1 up" and then "dhcpcd eth1"
change eth1 to the correct nic.
Logged
tunit
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #19 on: July 14, 2012, 07:32:11 pm »

you have 3 different network cards there eth0, eth1 and wlan0.
we need to know which is which.
run "dmesg|grep eth" and "dmesg|grep wlan"
once you find the right one you should be able to bring it up with "ifconfig eth1 up" and then "dhcpcd eth1"
change eth1 to the correct nic.

I have found out eth1 to be the correct nic. and then did this -

banglalion:/~
root:# ifconfig eth1 up
banglalion:/~
root:# dhcpcd eth1
dhcpcd[3265]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[3265]: eth1: broadcasting for a lease
dhcpcd[3265]: timed out

So it times out... is there something wrong with my dns server configuration and that's why I am unable to lease an IP.. maybe it's requesting a wrong dns server or something?
Logged

Vector 7 GG xfce 4 dual-booted with windows vista on Toshiba Satellite L300 intel celeron 2 GHz RAM 1 GB Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
tunit
Member
*
Posts: 22


« Reply #20 on: July 14, 2012, 09:16:25 pm »

SUCCESS!!!!!!!

I am posting from VL7!! Big thanks to uelsk8s and ofcourse Minhazul the developer of the driver. I did the following-



banglalion:/~
root:# ifconfig eth1 up
banglalion:/~
root:# service wimax start
Starting WiMAX daemon
********** CSCM Server Started ********** 07/15/12 11:27:31
banglalion:/~
root:# dhcpcd eth1
dhcpcd[4093]: sending commands to master dhcpcd process
banglalion:/~
root:# dhcpcd -d
dhcpcd[4121]: dhcpcd already running on pid 3451 (/var/run/dhcpcd.pid)
banglalion:/~
root:# wimaxcmgui

I will just enter the SOLVED tag on this thread now. THANKS AGAIN!
Logged

Vector 7 GG xfce 4 dual-booted with windows vista on Toshiba Satellite L300 intel celeron 2 GHz RAM 1 GB Mobile Intel(R) 965 Express Chipset Family
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!