VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: A couple months with Vector  (Read 1513 times)

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
A couple months with Vector
« on: July 15, 2012, 03:39:05 am »

Vector Runs like a work horse to put it plain and simple.  But one thing i seem to miss and have really used a lot in my past distribution is when i right click on a file or video especially my videos and select preferences,  it does show things like file size but video dimensions like 1024x720 it does not. Just gives file type Etc "Kind MPG-4".  Can thunar be tweaked to allow for "more" such information?
Logged

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1487
Re: A couple months with Vector
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 07:18:51 am »

Thunar gives info on jpeg files as follows:

What files is it not giving info on?

Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: A couple months with Vector
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 05:40:23 am »

well seems like all photos and homemade videos, unless i'm doing something wrong. here is my screen shot on a mpeg-4 video i made
Logged

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: A couple months with Vector
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2012, 05:41:19 am »

This is when i right click on the object and select preferences.
Logged

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: A couple months with Vector
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2012, 05:42:33 am »

how did you enable images if i may ask?
Logged

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1487
Re: A couple months with Vector
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2012, 07:46:35 am »

I don't think I did anything other than load thunar 1.4.0 from the vector repositories.  Thunar shows the image info for some files but not others.  For example it doesn't show image info on .mov files.  Perhaps there is a way to get it to do so, but that is beyond me.

Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

syncdram

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 84
Re: A couple months with Vector
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2012, 10:41:30 am »

I just double checked my version of thunar, and were both running the same version. I guess I'll have to dig a little more. Thanks
Logged