VectorLinux
July 25, 2014, 07:43:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Skype  (Read 3430 times)
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2010, 07:59:27 am »

OK since I downloaded my original download and now, skype's download page changed.  you have to look carefully on the page and make sure to get the static build.  I've re-downloaded it and as of now it's working......(at least started up)......just downloaded it, extracted teh bz2 and clicked on the  skype (the one without the icon) and it fired up  Huh Huh Huh  I'll try the symlink thing soon.....
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1419



« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2010, 04:50:47 pm »

Hey Guys and Gals,

I got it working on the desktop.  Here is what I did:

 I looked on my T42 laptop, which runs skype fine, and saw I had qt4 4.50 loaded.  Looked on the desktop and it had qt 4 4.41 loaded.  Looked on the repositories (not testing) and 4.41 was latest available.  So went to testing and downloaded qt4 4.50. 

Skype works fine now on the desktop too.
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2010, 08:21:03 pm »

how did you find which one you had loaded already .....in debian it was "apt-cache polcy (packagename)  what is that here??

Thanks
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1419



« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2010, 08:34:50 pm »

Applications > System > gslapt package manager

gslapt requires root.

Once in gslapt, type qt4.  Scroll to the bottom of the screen.  That will show you what version of qt4 is installed.  If not qt4 4.50, then do the following:

At the top of the gslapt screen, click on "edit."  Then click on "preferences."  Then click on "sources."  Then click on the "testing" repository and tell it to reload the package list.  Then type qt4 in the gslapt bar.  You should see qt4 4.50.  install it.  Then back to "edit," "preferences" etc and unclick the "testing" repository.  You do not want it on as you will forget it is on and, later on, load some stuff that is not tested properly and will make your system unstable.

Generally, the firm rule is to always load programs (firefox etc) from gslapt and not from any other source, as that program will work in vector 6.0.

Good luck.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Deach
Vectorite
***
Posts: 168


« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2010, 09:39:10 pm »

ok thanks....taking me a bit to get used to this gslapt but I love it.  Again , thanks!!
Logged

Inspiron 4000 Laptop, VL 6.0  600 mhz; 384 ram : Inspiron1100 VL 6.0
Inspiron B120 & B130 Laptop, VL 6.0  1. 4& 1.5  ghz; 1gig ram
IBM Thinkpad Laptop, VL 6.0  1.5 ghz;  1 gig ram
tratata
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2012, 07:41:26 am »

I have troubles with skype-2.2.0.25 on [VL7.0]
There are, extraneous noises when I speak, I tried to configure my microphone with alsa mixer, but it didn't fix the problem.
Microphone is fine, I have cheked it on the other pc.
Tell me please, what can i do to fix the problem.
Доброго времени суток, надеюсь здесь достаточно русскоязычных пользователей.
Проблема со skype-2.2.0.25 на [VL7.0]
Как только начинаю говорить появляются посторонние шумы, хрипит так как будто говорю по рации, настройка alsa mixer не решила проблему.
Микрофон в порядке, использовал его для звонков с другого пк.
Заранее благодарен.
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1419



« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2012, 01:54:58 pm »

Sorry,

Can't help.  I have switched to linphone.
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
tratata
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #22 on: August 17, 2012, 08:45:03 am »

Any way It's the best OS I ever seen.
Developers, thank you !!!
I installed Vector on my fathers pc, and he didn't believe that we can use It for free.
Now I know he wouldn't spent money on Windows.
Logged
tratata
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #23 on: August 20, 2012, 08:07:11 am »

Hello It's me again.
The problem with extraneous noises in skype is solved, by switching sound on external sound card (C-media CMI8768)

or try this  >>>>>http://mydebianblog.blogspot.com/2006/07/blog-post.html<<<<<
I'm hope It will help you.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!