VectorLinux
July 24, 2014, 07:21:13 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Few Installation problems  (Read 1095 times)
Metodej

« on: September 16, 2012, 10:33:28 am »

Hello.

I am new to Vector - it was my first install. At start, I am not asking any question - I ran to several problems during install and I want to share my solution. So if somebody will ran to same problem, here can be found solution.

I was installing on netbook Asus VX6 (no cd drive, so USB installation - I made usb stick with Unetbootin.. so maybe few problems were connected with this choose)

1. First problem was with "Could not find ramdisk image: /isolinux/init.gz" - there is already topic about it
    -> renaming "init.lz" to "init.gz" and "initrd.lz" to "initrd.img" solve this problem

2. Default installation didnot work - after choosing resolution (no matter what I choosed) - restart of computer.
   -> text install (instead just pressing enter at first screen, type "linux")

3. My Installation media wasnot found.
    -> I mounted vectorlinux.iso to one partition of harddisk (I have one small partition for some special reason, so it was also useful for this)

4. One of my partition wasnot found - I couldnot see it in dialog. I have 4 partitions. I didnot see the third one (so not the last one or neither the one, where was iso mounted)
     -> I found out that my partition was mounted somehow during installation process, so I had to unmouted it manually (with parameter  "-l").