VectorLinux
April 19, 2014, 09:55:34 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem installing Asus USB -N13 wireless  (Read 3334 times)
yac
Member
*
Posts: 6


« on: September 14, 2012, 12:20:33 pm »

Hello, I am relatively new to both linux and wireless internet.

Recently did a fresh install of Vectorlinux 7 on a new system with Asus USB-N13 wireless adapter but having problems in not connecting to internet. Have tried following the wireless howto posted here:
https://vector.ecosq.com/ic/HowTos/HowToBook/ChapterWireless

1) Running lsusb

root:# lsusb
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 003: ID 0b05:17ab ASUSTek Computer, Inc.
Bus 003 Device 002: ID 1267:0103 Logic3 / SpectraVideo plc G-720 Keyboard
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:c03d Logitech, Inc. M-BT96a Pilot Optical Mouse


2)  Searched ID number 0b05:17ab which seems to correspond with Realtek rtl8192cu


3) Running iwconfig

root:# iwconfig
lo        no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.


4) Edited /etc/modprobe.d/network.conf to add the line:
alias wlan0 rtl8192cu and rebooted computer

However, in the howto it then mentions ifplugd but doesn't appear to be used in my vectorlinux 7 system.

Any advice on how to proceed from here would be very much appreciated, thank you.
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3206


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2012, 04:12:49 pm »

show us the output of lsmod...
Logged
yac
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2012, 05:04:24 pm »

show us the output of lsmod...

root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
fuse                   51559  3
ipt_REJECT              1622  1
ipt_LOG                 5161  1
xt_limit                1116  2
xt_tcpudp               1734  8
xt_addrtype             1397  4
xt_state                 867  6
nf_conntrack_pptp       3325  0
nf_conntrack_proto_gre     2654  1 nf_conntrack_pptp
nf_conntrack_netbios_ns      705  0
nf_conntrack_broadcast      833  1 nf_conntrack_netbios_ns
nf_nat_irc               966  0
nf_conntrack_irc        2399  1 nf_nat_irc
nf_nat_ftp              1148  0
nf_nat                 10655  2 nf_nat_irc,nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack_ipv4       8132  8 nf_nat
nf_defrag_ipv4           931  1 nf_conntrack_ipv4
nf_conntrack_ftp        4113  1 nf_nat_ftp
nf_conntrack           37076  11 xt_state,nf_conntrack_pptp,nf_conntrack_proto_gre,nf_conntrack_netbios_ns,nf_conntrack_broadcast,nf_nat_irc,nf_conntrack_irc,nf_nat_ftp,nf_nat,nf_conntrack_ipv4,nf_conntrack_ftp
iptable_filter          1020  1
ip_tables               7949  1 iptable_filter
x_tables                9772  8 ipt_REJECT,ipt_LOG,xt_limit,xt_tcpudp,xt_addrtype,xt_state,iptable_filter,ip_tables
snd_seq_dummy           1035  0
snd_seq_oss            21907  0
snd_seq_midi_event      3924  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                36499  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          3853  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            28741  0
snd_mixer_oss          10545  2 snd_pcm_oss
speedstep_lib           2558  0
freq_table              1763  0
mperf                    937  0
snd_hda_codec_realtek   201951  1
snd_hda_intel          16321  3
snd_hda_codec          51458  2 snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               4128  1 snd_hda_codec
e1000e                109786  0
snd_pcm                48666  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              12858  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    36298  15 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
rtc_cmos                6673  0
soundcore               3736  2 snd
snd_page_alloc          5143  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
i2c_i801                6330  0
video                   9731  0
i2c_core               13898  1 i2c_i801
processor              21842  0
thermal_sys             9985  2 video,processor
hwmon                   1093  1 thermal_sys
joydev                  7017  0
sg                     18020  0
button                  3510  0
serio_raw               3010  0
evdev                   6626  6
vector:/~
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3206


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2012, 04:33:12 am »

I think u need to download the linux driver from asus official website

http://my.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Adapters/USBN13/#download
Logged
yac
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2012, 08:27:08 pm »

I think u need to download the linux driver from asus official website

Some success, thank you. I looked at the driver on Asus but it didn't work as it was for a Ralink chip (the N13 has several different types). However, it was on the right track and I saw from some other forums to use the Realtek driver
http://www.realtek.com/downloads/searchView.aspx?keyword=rtl8192cu

Installed this driver (rtl8192cu) and system now detects wireless card and was able to detect the wireless networks in wicd

However, I seem to be having several strange problems now in wicd.

First, is that even though my network is set to Automatically connect in wicd, it doesn't seem to when first starting up the computer or logging in.

I am able to connect to my network but frequently drops off, and it doesn't try to reconnect even though the wicd option of Reconnecting is enabled in the Preferences section.

The strangest problem is that after a drop connection and then trying to reconnect with my network gives an error of unable to obtain IP address. If I then click to connect on a different network (not mine) and let it time out, and then go back to click on connecting on my own network again it is usually successful, so it seems almost like a setting is being stored in a cache and not being properly cleared if the connection is dropped. Any ideas as to what might be causing this would be appreciated, thank you.
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1833


« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2012, 02:41:00 am »

I guess Asus changed the chipset. I have the same
named device that show for lsusb:

0b05:1784 ASUSTek Computer, Inc. USB-N13 802.11n Network Adapter [Ralink RT2870]

My wireless works out of the box. The rtl8192cu is a different driver than what you need
being the rt2870sta.

They are similar but not the same which would explain the problems you are having.

Did you try setting up the wireless before any of these other solutions?

Bigpaws
Logged
yac
Member
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2012, 09:52:32 pm »

My wireless works out of the box. The rtl8192cu is a different driver than what you need
being the rt2870sta.

Thanks, I double checked the install disk that came with the card, and it was the rtl8192cu driver that came with it so looks like there are 2 different versions of the card. I tried installing both of the above drivers but neither was successful, the only one that somewhat worked was the one off the realtek website.

The wireless network had been working on a windows computer, but also having a few recent dropped connections on that one, although not as much as the new install for vl.

Thanks for the assistance but in the end, I ended up buying a new wired router and setting things up without wireless.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!