VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

Author Topic: VL 7.1  (Read 25256 times)

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #60 on: January 24, 2013, 05:14:56 am »

Eureka! Figured it out.

Wireless IS talking to the Interwebz. However, I can't resolve domain names. I can access a site if I plug in the IP address, but the second I click a link, it bombs with a server not found error.

Same with traceroute, ping, etc. I get an error stating it cannot resolve the host name.

We're getting closer! :D
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #61 on: January 24, 2013, 07:39:54 am »

do you have a nameserver in your /etc/resolv.conf?
can you post your /etc/fstab?
Logged

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #62 on: January 24, 2013, 09:13:57 am »

resolv.conf did the trick. Had to manually add the entries to the file, but it appears to be working.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #63 on: January 24, 2013, 09:24:28 am »

Just tried beta O.8.
Think the kernel in this instance does not play nice with my hardware. When I use graphical install it just goes runlevel 6 and reboots. When I go for the text installer I have no use of the usb keyboard.
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #64 on: January 24, 2013, 09:30:16 am »

ROTFLMAO! And I just blew up the installation trying to install Enlightenment and its dependencies. I'll reinstall later today and get everything fixed. (Note to self - 7.0 stuff doesn't work on 7.1!)
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #65 on: January 24, 2013, 11:01:06 am »

OK. Reinstalled.

resolv.conf settings do not stay in place on restart. I had to reinput the IP for my router in order for the Interwebz to start working again.

Cannot mount other partitions or drives. Looked for Settings -> Apps -> Startup but there wasn't an Apps category.

You asked for etc/fstab earlier. Here it is:

Code: [Select]
# fstab generated by vinstall
UUID=a03420f3-a0c6-45ad-9425-67ff3756009d     /swap     swap     sw 0 0
UUID=98785046-0566-4b4b-b448-c2a31f7befde     /     ext4     defaults 0 0
UUID=77fe3047-bc72-47a3-a1a3-f5a7d9ee7131     /home     ext4     defaults 0 0
proc     /proc     proc     defaults 0 0
none     /dev/pts     devpts     gid=5,mode=666  0 0
tmpfs     /dev/shm     tmpfs     defaults 0 0
sysfs     /sys     sysfs     defaults 0 0
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

uelsk8s

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #66 on: January 24, 2013, 04:16:36 pm »

it has moved to Settings -> Session and Startup
can you give this one a try: http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.1/iso/VL64-7.1-STD-B0.9.iso
while the install is running open a terminal and check to see if your /home is mounted.
Logged

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #67 on: January 24, 2013, 04:22:00 pm »

it has moved to Settings -> Session and Startup
can you give this one a try: http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.1/iso/VL64-7.1-STD-B0.9.iso
while the install is running open a terminal and check to see if your /home is mounted.

Welp, I selected everything and I still wasn't able to mount another drive or partition. I'll see if there's anything in the logs.

Downloading the ISO and will install it shortly.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #68 on: January 24, 2013, 05:53:20 pm »

/home (sdb6) is not being mounted during the install or during the initial restart.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1332
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #69 on: January 25, 2013, 12:31:28 am »

VL64-7.1-STD-B0.2.iso
Desktop PC

Booting from USB stick ends switching to init 6

Booting from CD with gui ends again with a blank page with only panel active.

Will try tui booting next.

Booting from CD in tui.

Cannot find CD. Inserted USB stick, that was found and installation in tui
from stick went smooth.

Unfortunately when X opens neither keyboard nor mouse working, therefore no login. On console both work.

Out and Reboot with reset.

VL64-7.1-STD-B0.8.iso

No change from above quote.

Tried all settings in vxconf.  Copied a xorg. conf from a working slack-14 kernel 3.7. Nothing doing in X, mouse and KB not working.
Logged

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #70 on: January 25, 2013, 03:47:03 am »

Ugh. Logged in this morning to find .9 didn't pick up the SOHO installation during the GRUB installation. >.<
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #71 on: January 29, 2013, 03:03:45 pm »

Some more thoughts on network manager.

Compared to wicd, it's more cumbersome with the VL install. What I've had to do is select the wireless connection and then edit the connection to provide the password. It's not asking when I do the initial selection. I was dinking around with Mint 14 XFCE and I didn't have to go through that process. When I selected the wireless router, it immediately asked for a password.

Is there a specific reason why we're looking to get away from wicd and use network manager?

« Last Edit: January 29, 2013, 03:07:29 pm by retired1af »
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #72 on: January 30, 2013, 05:19:37 am »

NM suports a much more wide connection schemes. It can discover network interfaces (wicd requires you to input the interface name when it is something different than eth0, which is a FAQ in this forum).
I dont get the behaivor you describe here, maybe this is a bug in our NM package that can be fixed.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #73 on: January 30, 2013, 05:21:45 am »

/home (sdb6) is not being mounted during the install or during the initial restart.

We confirmed this bug and we are working on it.
thanks!
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1309
Re: VL 7.1
« Reply #74 on: January 30, 2013, 09:50:56 am »

NM suports a much more wide connection schemes. It can discover network interfaces (wicd requires you to input the interface name when it is something different than eth0, which is a FAQ in this forum).
I dont get the behaivor you describe here, maybe this is a bug in our NM package that can be fixed.

OK. Just curious.

Yes, there does seem to be a bug in the initial setup, at least for wireless.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5] 6 7 8