VectorLinux
December 20, 2014, 06:13:45 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sony Vaio PCG-3A8N  (Read 4990 times)
agusplastra
Member
*
Posts: 42


« Reply #15 on: September 27, 2012, 05:17:30 am »

It has wireless capabilities for sure but I have no idea how.
Logged
rokytnji
Vectorite
***
Posts: 101


Linux Friganeer


WWW
« Reply #16 on: September 27, 2012, 06:19:30 am »

Code:
su -c "hwinfo --netcard"

and

Code:
su -c "hwinfo --wlan"

and

Code:
lshw -C network

will usually find a wireless card when lspci can't. I have seen this kind of behavior before trouble shooting orinco wireless pcmcia chips in AntiX  forums. Trouble is. You need to install the packages I mention in my thread

http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=16796.msg93407#msg93407

to run that command for it to work out for you.

Edit: http://slackware.schoepfer.info/13.1/slackware/misc/hwinfo-13.57-i686-1jsc.tgz

Edit: http://pkgs.org/slackware-13.37/slackers-i686/lshw-B.02.16-i686-1cf.txz.html

And another Edit in case you get lost: http://pkgs.org/slackware-13.37/slackers-i686/lshw-B.02.16-i686-1cf.txz/download/

Quote
It has wireless capabilities for sure but I have no idea how.

If it has a wireless chip. Those commands should find it.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2012, 06:37:49 am by rokytnji » Logged

agusplastra
Member
*
Posts: 42


« Reply #17 on: September 27, 2012, 06:37:22 am »

Thanks!
How can I download the packages? they are not available from your previous post.

What about the internal webcam?
Logged
rokytnji
Vectorite
***
Posts: 101


Linux Friganeer


WWW
« Reply #18 on: September 27, 2012, 12:43:05 pm »

Thanks!
How can I download the packages? they are not available from your previous post.

What about the internal webcam?

Errr, look up above? For the webcam. One thing at a time. I posted what I tried, to show you on webcam, earlier.
Maybe some other members can help you on that.
Logged

agusplastra
Member
*
Posts: 42


« Reply #19 on: September 27, 2012, 04:14:18 pm »

Oops!, sorry. you are right. Here are the outputs

root:# su -c "hwinfo --netcard"
11: PCI 800.0: 0200 Ethernet controller                         
  [Created at pci.301]
  Unique ID: rBUF.UqyJGtpz0r5
  Parent ID: QSNP.OLl41tQGGoC
  SysFS ID: /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:1c.4/0000:08:00.0
  SysFS BusID: 0000:08:00.0
  Hardware Class: network
  Model: "Sony 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller"
  Vendor: pci 0x11ab "Marvell Technology Group Ltd."
  Device: pci 0x4351 "88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller"
  SubVendor: pci 0x104d "Sony Corporation"
  SubDevice: pci 0x9005
  Revision: 0x16
  Driver: "sky2"
  Driver Modules: "sky2"
  Device File: eth0
  Memory Range: 0xfc200000-0xfc203fff (rw,non-prefetchable)
  I/O Ports: 0x5000-0x5fff (rw)
  IRQ: 45 (6253 events)
  HW Address: 00:1a:80:a2:b9:6e
  Link detected: yes
  Module Alias: "pci:v000011ABd00004351sv0000104Dsd00009005bc02sc00i00"
  Driver Info #0:
    Driver Status: sky2 is active
    Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe sky2"
  Config Status: cfg=new, avail=yes, need=no, active=unknown
  Attached to: #21 (PCI bridge)

The other two commands doesnt seem to work

Thanks



Logged
agusplastra
Member
*
Posts: 42


« Reply #20 on: September 27, 2012, 04:23:45 pm »

sorry again. Here is the output

root:# lshw -C network
  *-network               
       description: Ethernet interface
       product: 88E8036 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller
       vendor: Marvell
       physical id: 0
       bus info: pci@0000:08:00.0
       logical name: eth0
       version: 16
       serial: 00:1a:80:a2:b9:6e
       size: 100Mbit/s
       capacity: 100Mbit/s
       width: 64 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm vpd msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=sky2 driverversion=1.28 duplex=full firmware=N/A ip=192.168.11.8 latency=0 link=yes multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100Mbit/s
       resources: irq:45 memory:fc200000-fc203fff ioport:5000(size=256)

The wlan command doesnt display anything


Logged
rokytnji
Vectorite
***
Posts: 101


Linux Friganeer


WWW
« Reply #21 on: September 27, 2012, 07:28:23 pm »

Code:
The wlan command doesnt display anything

Probably means either your wireless card is broke or you don't even have one.

Code:
root:# lshw -C network
  *-network               
       description: Ethernet interface
       product: 82801BA/BAM/CA/CAM Ethernet Controller
       vendor: Intel Corp.
       physical id: 8
       bus info: pci@0000:02:08.0
       logical name: eth0
       version: 03
       serial: 00:09:6b:b8:bf:d4
       size: 100Mbit/s
       capacity: 100Mbit/s
       width: 32 bits
       clock: 33MHz
       capabilities: pm bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp mii 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
       configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=e100 driverversion=3.5.24-k2-NAPI duplex=full firmware=N/A latency=66 link=yes maxlatency=56 mingnt=8 multicast=yes port=MII speed=100Mbit/s
       resources: irq:20 memory:f2000000-f2000fff ioport:2000(size=64)
  *-usb
       description: Wireless interface
       product: RTL8187B_WLAN_Adapter
       vendor: Manufacturer_Realtek
       physical id: 1
       bus info: usb@1:1
       logical name: wlan0
       version: 2.00
       serial: 00e04c000001
       capabilities: usb-2.00 ethernet physical wireless
       configuration: broadcast=yes driver=rtl8187 driverversion=3.0.8 firmware=N/A ip=<filtered> link=yes maxpower=500mA multicast=yes speed=12Mbit/s wireless=IEEE 802.11bg

Network and netcard failed also to show a wireless hardware device. If you look at my usb output. That is my wireless usb on this desktop. So you say you have wireless on this Vaio Laptop but I have tried everything I know of to see it. Land Line is all that shows.

Sorry I can't help ya.  Sad
Logged

Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!