VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Browse local network  (Read 2388 times)

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Browse local network
« on: December 22, 2012, 09:39:36 am »

I have WinXP, VL6 and VL7 using DHCP through a stand-a-lone Wireless access point.  (Also have a Kodak printer at 192.168.1.99.)

From the XP, I can browse to the shares on both of the Linux machines but how do I do that on the Linux machines?  PyNeighborhood on VL6 and VL7 requires me to enter the url and did nothing.  Smbtree yields
Code: [Select]
KODAKAIO
\\EKDE1DE521      040a4041;KodakESP5200+7293;W202980;
cli_rpc_pipe_open: cli_nt_create failed on pipe \srvsvc to machine EKDE1DE521.  Error was ERRSRV - ERRaccess (The requester does not have  the  necessary  access  rights  within  the specified  context for the requested function. The context is defined by the TID or the UID.)
\\EKDE1DE521\IPC$           
FOWLPLAY
\\GATEWAY       
\\GATEWAY\WATCOM         
\\GATEWAY\C_Prog         
\\GATEWAY\IPC$            Remote IPC
\\GATEWAY\GtwyDocs       
\\DELL            Dell Samba Server
\\DELL\IPC$            IPC Service (Compaq Samba Server)
\\DELL\Public          Public Stuff
\\COMPAQ          Compaq Samba Server
\\COMPAQ\IPC$            IPC Service (Compaq Samba Server)
\\COMPAQ\Public          Public Stuff
Note that the \\DELL\IPC$ should be (Dell Samba Server) as set in smb.conf!  Also I have shared to directories with thunar_shares and they are not listed.  WinXP does list them

GATEWAY is WinXP
DELL is VL6
COMPAQ is VL7

Bruce
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Browse local network
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2012, 11:00:21 am »

I use konqueror since it understands smb. To use it: smb://address or ip of machine you want to connect to

You could also mount the windows shares on the boxes.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: Browse local network
« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2012, 01:50:12 pm »

Is konqueror a part of some other package?  It is not listed in gslapt in VL6 or 7.

Getting them mounted is the problem.  I don't know their URL until I can find something to list it.  I got used to one set of machine codes: 192.168.1.100, ...101, ...102 for Gateway, Dell and Compaq.  Today it is ...102, 100, 101 respectively. 

On Compaq, fstab has "Dell.BICS.net/Public /home/bruce/DellPublic nfs defaults,user 0 0"
Code: [Select]
compaq:/~
bruce:$ dir
DellPublic/ Desktop/ code/
compaq:/~
bruce:$ mount DellPublic
mount.nfs: remote share not in 'host:dir' format
compaq:/~
bruce:$ mount.nfs //Del.BICS.net/Public DellPublic -v -w -s
mount.nfs: permission denied: no match for DellPublic found in /etc/fstab
compaq:/~
bruce:$ mount.nfs //Del.BICS.net/Public /home/bruce/DellPublic -v -w -s
mount.nfs: permission denied: no match for /home/bruce/DellPublic found in /etc/fstab
compaq:/~
bruce:$ su
password
compaq://home/bruce
root:# mount 192.168.1.100/Public .DellPublic -tnfs
mount.nfs: remote share not in 'host:dir' format
Got in over my head - again!
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

stretchedthin

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3780
    • Opensourcebistro.com
Re: Browse local network
« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2012, 10:13:13 pm »

I'm not entirely sure this will work with the older thunar on vl6.0, but I'd be interested to know if it does, and your in a good position to find out.

File sharing with Thunar
Logged
Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4105
Re: Browse local network
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2012, 03:44:01 am »

Konqueror is part of KDE. You don't have to install the entire suite, but there are quite a few packages needed. Off the top of my head: kdebase, kdelibs, kdenetwork.. possibly kdebindings. You should try a livecd with KDE and see how it does. I am partial to this one: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-6.0/iso-release/VL6.0-KDE-Classic-Live.iso  ;)
Logged

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Browse local network
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2012, 08:12:59 am »

nfs = network file share

NFS is mostly used in the Unix environment.

It is not the way to mount the shares.

Next you need a mount point.

mount -t cifs //ntserver/download -o username=vivek,password=myPassword /mnt/ntserver

The above command as root will mount the shares if you edit as needed.

mount = make a file accessible

cifs = is the protocol

/mnt/server = the mount point (This is where you will access the share

You can also do this in /etc/fstab as an automagic thing. Then you only need to
do this once.

As far as addressing. There are a couple solutions. Assign the ip via the
router. Assign the ip on each machine. Run a dhcp server on the network.

Then you can do computer naming in /etc/hosts file for each machine.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: Browse local network
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2012, 10:53:33 am »

Stretched: Thanks for the info on ssh.  I will try that on Compaq (VL7) when I dig it out again.  On Dell (VL6), I have already set thunar up with thunar_share_plugin from info found in this forum - and it is working.  WinXP can see not only the shares defined in Samba, but the ones added by Thunar.  Compaq smbtree could only see the ones from Samba.

Nightflier: I've stayed away from kde as I'd heard it took a lot of resources.  I will, however, try you suggestion.

BigPaws: I see a correction I need to make in fstab.  Thanks.  I was beginning to think about assigning a permanent ip to Dell, which I've already done with the Kodak printer.  I hesitate to do that with the laptops, Gateway & Compaq, so that they can connect with other Wireless Access Points as I travel.

Thanks to all of you have a Merry Christmas (Happy Hanukkah, or whatever).

Bruce
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1869
Re: Browse local network
« Reply #7 on: December 23, 2012, 10:56:34 am »

Your router maybe able to permanently (reserve) assign addresses. That way
when you connect they will get the same address.

Bigpaws
Logged