VectorLinux
October 30, 2014, 06:58:56 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
Author Topic: No sound on the WWW (solved)  (Read 7670 times)
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #30 on: January 08, 2013, 08:07:23 am »

still nothing
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #31 on: January 08, 2013, 08:17:32 am »

Is it time to use the wonder toolGrin
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #32 on: January 08, 2013, 12:05:19 pm »

LOL very very tempting!  I am wondering if it the combined graphic/cpu that is the issue, perhaps getting an nvidia graphics card might help (I know I am grasping at straws here).
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #33 on: January 25, 2013, 04:21:35 am »

The plot thickens, when running a live cd of the latest Mint I get sound on youtube.... next step is to install it and see if it still works (though I am slightly wary as Grub doesn't always pick up other Linuxs installed (so a quick back up and a look at adding grub entries would be useful! ) 

If it does work what do you suggest I make a note of?
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #34 on: January 25, 2013, 05:21:59 am »

Lyn, the issue I've found with GRUB not picking up other installations depends on whether you're installing a 32-bit or 64-bit system. It's been my experience that GRUB for 32-bit distros tends to ignore any 64-bit installation.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #35 on: January 26, 2013, 09:44:51 am »

OK installed a 64bit version of mint and all is working as expected, I have sound when using the www....  Flash etc This proves that its not the hardware that is a problem its the software (and its configuration).   Now what configuration files do I need to look at to replicate on Vector - so that I can get sound working in my Vector install....  Sound also works in Manjaro live 64 bit version.... an Arch Linux based distro.
Logged
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #36 on: January 31, 2013, 02:51:08 am »

Any idea of what config files I should be looking at to resolve the no sound on web pages issues?  Now that I have a distro where I have it all working what should I copy to my vector installation?
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #37 on: January 31, 2013, 07:29:05 am »

Hi
Have you read this already

http://dallarosa.tumblr.com/post/19626256742/fixing-no-sound-in-browser-problem-on-linux

 I think you are almost there..0 HD-Audio Generic would be the hdmi port, you already added .asoundrc but there is another step..setting the default devcie
« Last Edit: January 31, 2013, 06:00:49 pm by overthere » Logged

Everything Is Relative
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #38 on: February 01, 2013, 10:10:02 pm »

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you, that worked....

Added

pcm.!default {
   type hw
   card 1
}

ctl.!default {
   type hw           
   card 1
}

To .asoundrc   and now I have sound!   I can't tell you how pleased I am - will mark this solved.
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #39 on: February 01, 2013, 11:44:01 pm »

 Smiley
Logged

Everything Is Relative
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #40 on: February 03, 2013, 01:27:46 am »

I searched the internet and couldn't find that page, I suspect quite a few people with have this issue so I think if we could make the solution "sticky" then that might help others....and thank you again for this.
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #41 on: February 03, 2013, 08:54:48 am »

I agree with STICKY, this is an unusual issue, Glad you have it solved...cheers
Logged

Everything Is Relative
v12fairlane
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #42 on: July 21, 2013, 11:42:04 pm »

the solution worked for me, thanks heaps
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!