VectorLinux
November 26, 2014, 02:59:06 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: how do i open terminal as root?  (Read 2219 times)
budnflo
Member
*
Posts: 5


« on: January 04, 2013, 09:50:30 am »

some of my icons are now invisible after i tried out different styles in appearance.
someone recommended "Try this in the terminal as root. update-mime-database /usr/share/mime" in another thread.
when i enter into terminal it says  I don't have write permission on /usr/share/mime. Try rerunning me as root.
how do i return as root? thank you.

 
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2013, 10:15:24 am »

You can either log off and login as root
or type:

su

Then enter the root password and you then have
root permissions.

su = switch user

Bigpaws
Logged
budnflo
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2013, 10:25:27 am »

thankyou. it does this.  Sad
budnflo:$ su
Password:
su: Authentication failure
budnflo:/~
budnflo:$ su
Password:
su: Authentication failure
budnflo:/~
budnflo:$
sorry for the dumb questions, but how do i login as root?
Logged
budnflo
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2013, 10:33:32 am »

to login as root, what do i enter for "username" when logging in?
« Last Edit: January 04, 2013, 10:42:47 am by budnflo » Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2013, 10:37:36 am »

You can try:

su root

Then give the root password when asked.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
budnflo
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2013, 10:41:33 am »

still no working
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2013, 11:19:00 am »

Ensure you input the password EXACTLY the way it was originally assigned. Remember, Linux is case sensitive.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4030



« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2013, 11:51:05 am »

Have you tried just hitting "Enter" (no password)?
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2013, 12:24:46 pm »

To login as root the user name is root and your password as mentioned needs to be exactly what you entered during install. if you are using the live cd the passwords are blank as mentioned. In a terminal you would use su as you did and then your password which was not correct thus not authenticated.
Logged

Everything Is Relative
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1857


« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2013, 12:59:01 pm »

Is this a livecd?

Bigpaws
Logged
budnflo
Member
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2013, 01:09:30 pm »

thank you guys so much.  i greatly appreciate your time and help. not a lilve cd. i must have entered incorrect password. dont see how that is possible.  Undecided will have to reinstall i suppose. thank you again.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!