VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 07:44:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: vidalia and polipo  (Read 2453 times)
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 408


« on: January 31, 2013, 07:51:05 pm »

bonjour!

would anyone kindly package vidalia and polipo  to add more  secure for Tor working under Vl7 64bit ?

in Vl7.1 rc rellease, vidalia and popilo should made  default for  install tor.

do upload to test repo at first,i'll test it and feed up you asap.
Logged
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 408


« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2013, 05:34:22 pm »

vector community don't care about rising gorverment censorship over internet?
if you care, do package vidalia and polipo, upload to test repo at first asap>>>
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2013, 06:57:24 pm »

vincent2

Pls test below packages...for vidalia you need to install GeoIP and tor...

vidalia
32bit: http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.0/x86/vidalia-0.2.21-i586-1vl70.txz
64bit: http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.0/x86_64/vidalia-0.2.21-x86_64-1vl70.txz

polipo
32bit: http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.0/x86/polipo-1.0.4.1-i586-1vl70.txz
64bit: http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.0/x86_64/polipo-1.0.4.1-x86_64-1vl70.txz

PS: Packagers are volunteers that help to packaged applications on their free time. So some packages may take longer time to get done. Please take note of this...
Logged
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 408


« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2013, 09:05:56 pm »

bonjour!hata-ph,

thanks!just installed ...
i'm fully aware that vector developer make contributions at their precious spare times, but vidalia and polipo and tor should be the default tools when next release.especially under the current rising censorship from authorities, malaysia /singapore/thailand're worse, estonia plus indonesia and philippines 're more free
but with polipo, there's prompt:
Quote
installpkg polipo-1.0.4.1-x86_64-1vl70.txz

.-----.-----------------------------------------------------------------------.
| 1/1 | Installing polipo-1.0.4.1-x86_64-1vl70.txz                            |
'-----'-----------------------------------------------------------------------'

.-----------------------------------------------------------------------------.
| polipo (caching web proxy)                                                  |
|                                                                             |
| Polipo is a small and fast caching web proxy (a web cache, an HTTP          |
| proxy, a proxy server). While Polipo was designed to be used by one         |
| person or a small group of people, there is nothing that prevents it        |
| from being used by a larger group.                                          |
|                                                                             |
| License: GPL                                                                |
| Authors: http://www.pps.univ-paris-diderot.fr/~jch/software/polipo/         |
| Website: http://www.pps.univ-paris-diderot.fr/~jch/software/polipo/         |
'-----------------------------------------------------------------------------'

Executing install script for polipo-1.0.4.1-x86_64-1vl70...
install-info: warning: no info dir entry in `automake-history.info.gz'
install-info: warning: no info dir entry in `time.info.gz'
Rebuilding the GNU info directory file: /usr/info/dir
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2013, 09:44:12 pm »

vincent2,

you can safely ignore the messages for polipo...
Logged
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 408


« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2013, 12:52:08 am »

it does work.....
but ip can't be hiden yet....any command or config available to torify ip a swell?
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2013, 03:45:40 am »

it does work.....
but ip can't be hiden yet....any command or config available to torify ip a swell?

No, you can't "hide" your IP address beginning at your connection. The Internet doesn't work that way.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 408


« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2013, 04:42:14 am »

what do you mean?
it's said that with proper config  file,can hide original IP
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1425



« Reply #8 on: February 16, 2013, 08:19:26 am »

Vincent2,

What does polipo do that google chrome incognito browsing doesn't?  Is polipo more secure?
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #9 on: February 16, 2013, 08:49:53 am »

Polipo is nothing more than a lightweight proxy. No more, no less.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 408


« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2013, 07:36:53 pm »

bonjour!hata-ph,
now
vidalia works fine, but polipo gets crashed from time  to time.....hope you can offer fix version of polipo soon, plus POLIPO  CONFIG FILE FOR HIDING IP

KEEP UP GOOD WORKS!
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2013, 11:17:24 pm »

any message from polipo? have you check with the the polipo forum?
Logged
vincent2
Vectorite
***
Posts: 408


« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2013, 06:42:29 pm »

didn't seeany logs, as polipo's configured to work together with vidalia,polipo 's working background....
every time polipo stops,have to restart vadalia again, or typing
polipo restart in console

by the way do update jre pkg, now 7u15 released for securities
Logged
hata_ph
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 3258


-- Just being myself --


« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2013, 08:44:42 pm »

you should check with polipo support team about your issue...

will check on latest jre soon...
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!