Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: rdesktop installed but can't start it.  (Read 2675 times)

michelspas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« on: February 12, 2013, 11:07:46 am »
Hello,

I instaled VL7.0 gold and very impress in general.  One major problem for me to connected to my NT server.
I downloaded rdesktop and installed it with Gslapt but the program does not seems to be on the computer.
Even if the program is check as installed in Gslatp, I can't use it.  It is not in any menu and in the function RUN program it does not find it???
Any clues???

Thank a lot.
Mike

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2013, 11:30:59 am »
Try typing the command "rdesktop" in a terminal and look for info or error messages.

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2013, 11:38:58 am »
rdesktop <ip-of-your-windows-box>

see rdesktop --help for more information

michelspas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2013, 01:29:25 pm »
I typed in the prompt command ''rdesktop''.  The system give me a lot of info, like -u for user -r repair etc...(it seems to me that the program is instaled)???  I am using linux for year but I am not familiar with text command???

michelspas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2013, 01:36:14 pm »
WOW... I just typed rdesktop -n (my dnsalias)    and the program started. ;D

What would be the way to start the program with the GUI interface to acces the setup and to get the short cup?

Thank a lot

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2013, 05:31:43 pm »
Not sure if we have a good front end for rdesktop. Do you need to connect to several windows computers, or just one?

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 06:14:34 pm »
I am building grdesktop and remmina...once it in the repo pls help to test it :)

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2013, 03:04:32 am »
hata_ph to the rescue again.  ;D

Make sure you enable the testing repository in gslapt and refresh. Freerdp seems to have picked up where rdesktop left off. It is under active development and supports the newer (Win7) encrypted connection.

michelspas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #8 on: February 13, 2013, 05:54:23 am »
I did try Freerdp with same result (does not appear in the menu).
Remina appears in the '' Internet'' menu but does not offer RDP?? just VNC.

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #9 on: February 13, 2013, 06:07:10 am »
I did try Freerdp with same result (does not appear in the menu).
Remina appears in the '' Internet'' menu but does not offer RDP?? just VNC.


Are you sure? I tested grdesktop and remmina both work to remote desktop my win2008 server...

michelspas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #10 on: February 13, 2013, 06:48:01 am »
I am sure, I installed VL7.0 here at the office on an old AMD system and at home on an old Celleron 1.3 laptop.  In both cases I could not access Freerdp and Rdesktop in the ''Internet'' menu.  Remmina was installed properly and accessible but has not the usual RPD menu. 
I am pretty familiar with all the RDP program because I ran 3 old pc as client at the office (to acces WIN TS 2003).  Most with Mint or Lubuntu.
I was trying to get better recognisances of hardware and more speed with Vector.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #11 on: February 13, 2013, 02:03:08 pm »
I tried Remmina on my machine. It has several protocols, including RDP, to choose from. Did you try creating a new entry?


michelspas

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #12 on: February 15, 2013, 08:17:18 am »
Please have a look at the picture attached, you can see that RDP is not an option on my version of Remmina.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2013, 10:59:11 am »
I do see the difference, don't know why that is. You did leave rdesktop installed, right? Remmina is just a pretty face on the command line that does the work.

Did you try grdesktop? It is very straight forward.

If none of those work, I can show you how to make shortcuts for connecting to your servers.

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3208
Re: rdesktop installed but can't start it.
« Reply #14 on: February 15, 2013, 11:34:16 am »
Probably causes:
1. remina was not built against rdesktop
2. The end use does not have rdesktop installed
3. There is also a remina-plugins package (maybe this offers more protocols? )
« Last Edit: February 15, 2013, 11:37:36 am by M0E-lnx »