VectorLinux
April 19, 2014, 07:16:12 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Daylight Savings Time???  (Read 1827 times)
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 589



« on: March 11, 2013, 04:03:46 pm »

Is there any way to compensate for Daylight Savings Time in Vector Linux 7.0?
Logged
roarde
Vectorite
***
Posts: 488


move the needle


« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 06:25:25 pm »

It should be automatic, but I'm wondering if the US timezones aren't out of date and have the old, later dates for the switchover. I'm having the same problem.
Logged

Robert
VL Light 7.0, icewm/spacefm
MarkGrieveson
Vectorian
****
Posts: 531


« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 07:34:06 pm »

Mine worked fine.
Logged

I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2013, 02:59:59 am »

I'll have to dig into my BIOS settings to see if there's a DST switch. Mine didn't change over, either, but my installations are set to get the time from the system.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 589



« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2013, 12:10:04 pm »

Mine worked fine.

How do I get my Vector Linux 7.0 to work fine as well? My clock didn't change over automatically.
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3134



« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2013, 12:37:47 pm »

Mine worked fine.

How do I get my Vector Linux 7.0 to work fine as well? My clock didn't change over automatically.

Try runing vzoneset and set your correct time zones.  Mine worked just fine.
Logged

Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 589



« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2013, 03:06:02 pm »

Where do I find it?
Logged
roarde
Vectorite
***
Posts: 488


move the needle


« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2013, 06:17:48 pm »

vzoneset:  open a terminal, su, then vzoneset

Can also access this through VASM or VasmCC.

But I'm thinking it may be the ones where hardware clock is set to localtime that are having the problem, and not those set to GMT.

Mine didn't change over, date still returns "EDT", hw clock is on local time.
Logged

Robert
VL Light 7.0, icewm/spacefm
MarkGrieveson
Vectorian
****
Posts: 531


« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2013, 06:54:38 pm »

I'm not sure why mine worked.  It is set to local time.  It relies on the computer's time.  So, I think it would not have worked if the time within the computer did not change.  If I wish to alter the time (IE, adjust it by a few minutes if I've noticed that it's a little off) I do it via the BIOS, and not via Vector.
Logged

I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3941



« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2013, 07:22:30 am »

I usually run ntp on my machines. If you don't want a daemon running, you can add a command like "ntpdate -b pool.ntp.org" to rc.local, and it will set the clock on boot.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1221



« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2013, 07:27:35 am »

I've always had terrible luck with getting NTP to run properly. I finally gave up years ago and just set it manually if I have to.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
MarkGrieveson
Vectorian
****
Posts: 531


« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2013, 11:40:54 am »

I don't have ntp installed on my machine.
Logged

I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1397



« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2013, 01:47:24 pm »

My time switched just fine. Perhaps its because I had followed hata_ph's suggestion on this forum some time back:
   
Quote
Re: automatically starting ntp.conf
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2012, 06:02:25 am »
   Reply with quoteQuote
1. copy this file https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/tree/trunk/ntpd?h=packages/ntp to your /etc/rc.d/init.d
2. chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/init.d/ntpd
3. chown root:root /etc/rc.d/init.d/ntpd
4. after that you should be able to configure it under vasm>services

I don't know how to "configure it under vasm>services" as hata_ph suggested, but it seems to work fine without any configuration.  NTPD does show in run level 4.

I wholeheartedly agree with retired1af's comments about ntp.  However helpful NTP may be, the NTP site is one of those sites maintained by people who seem more interested in impressing the reader with their expertise than in, as hata_ph did, just showing us what to do.
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
roarde
Vectorite
***
Posts: 488


move the needle


« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2013, 05:34:48 pm »

Scrounged around and found references to rc.S (naturally).

From /etc/rc.d/rc.S:
# Set the system time from the hardware clock using hwclock --hctosys.
if ! grep -qw nohwclock /proc/cmdline && [ -x /sbin/hwclock ]; then
  if ! grep -q -w rtc /proc/ioports ; then
    CLOCK_OPT="--directisa"
  fi
  if grep "^UTC" /etc/hardwareclock 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null ; then
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 18
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --utc --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  else
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 19
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --localtime --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  fi
fi


Wasn't familiar with hwclock
HWCLOCK(8)                  System Manager's Manual                 HWCLOCK(8)

NAME
       hwclock - query and set the hardware clock (RTC)

SYNOPSIS
       hwclock [functions] [options]


"hctosys" is a function; "utc" and "localtime" are options. So I moved --hctosys to before --utc and --localtime.

Worked.

I'd like to know how these lines read for those that are working, and for those that aren't.

BTW:    vlconfig2 version is 7.0 3vl70
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 05:52:22 pm by roarde » Logged

Robert
VL Light 7.0, icewm/spacefm
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1397



« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2013, 05:51:51 pm »

Mine (works) looks the same.

Quote
# Set the system time from the hardware clock using hwclock --hctosys.
if ! grep -qw nohwclock /proc/cmdline && [ -x /sbin/hwclock ]; then
  if ! grep -q -w rtc /proc/ioports ; then
    CLOCK_OPT="--directisa"
  fi
  if grep "^UTC" /etc/hardwareclock 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null ; then
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 18
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --utc --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  else
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 19
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --localtime --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  fi
fi
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!