VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Daylight Savings Time???  (Read 3383 times)

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 778
Daylight Savings Time???
« on: March 11, 2013, 05:03:46 pm »

Is there any way to compensate for Daylight Savings Time in Vector Linux 7.0?
Logged

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 610
  • move the needle
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2013, 07:25:25 pm »

It should be automatic, but I'm wondering if the US timezones aren't out of date and have the old, later dates for the switchover. I'm having the same problem.
Logged
Robert
VL 7.1 Light

MarkGrieveson

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2013, 08:34:06 pm »

Mine worked fine.
Logged
I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2013, 03:59:59 am »

I'll have to dig into my BIOS settings to see if there's a DST switch. Mine didn't change over, either, but my installations are set to get the time from the system.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 778
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2013, 01:10:04 pm »

Mine worked fine.

How do I get my Vector Linux 7.0 to work fine as well? My clock didn't change over automatically.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3249
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2013, 01:37:47 pm »

Mine worked fine.

How do I get my Vector Linux 7.0 to work fine as well? My clock didn't change over automatically.

Try runing vzoneset and set your correct time zones.  Mine worked just fine.

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 778
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2013, 04:06:02 pm »

Where do I find it?
Logged

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 610
  • move the needle
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2013, 07:17:48 pm »

vzoneset:  open a terminal, su, then vzoneset

Can also access this through VASM or VasmCC.

But I'm thinking it may be the ones where hardware clock is set to localtime that are having the problem, and not those set to GMT.

Mine didn't change over, date still returns "EDT", hw clock is on local time.
Logged
Robert
VL 7.1 Light

MarkGrieveson

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #8 on: March 15, 2013, 07:54:38 pm »

I'm not sure why mine worked.  It is set to local time.  It relies on the computer's time.  So, I think it would not have worked if the time within the computer did not change.  If I wish to alter the time (IE, adjust it by a few minutes if I've noticed that it's a little off) I do it via the BIOS, and not via Vector.
Logged
I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4130
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2013, 08:22:30 am »

I usually run ntp on my machines. If you don't want a daemon running, you can add a command like "ntpdate -b pool.ntp.org" to rc.local, and it will set the clock on boot.
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2013, 08:27:35 am »

I've always had terrible luck with getting NTP to run properly. I finally gave up years ago and just set it manually if I have to.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

MarkGrieveson

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 531
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #11 on: March 16, 2013, 12:40:54 pm »

I don't have ntp installed on my machine.
Logged
I am using VL7.0 standard with XFCE

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1470
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #12 on: March 16, 2013, 02:47:24 pm »

My time switched just fine. Perhaps its because I had followed hata_ph's suggestion on this forum some time back:
   
Quote
Re: automatically starting ntp.conf
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2012, 06:02:25 am »
   Reply with quoteQuote
1. copy this file https://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/packages.git/tree/trunk/ntpd?h=packages/ntp to your /etc/rc.d/init.d
2. chmod 755 /etc/rc.d/init.d/ntpd
3. chown root:root /etc/rc.d/init.d/ntpd
4. after that you should be able to configure it under vasm>services

I don't know how to "configure it under vasm>services" as hata_ph suggested, but it seems to work fine without any configuration.  NTPD does show in run level 4.

I wholeheartedly agree with retired1af's comments about ntp.  However helpful NTP may be, the NTP site is one of those sites maintained by people who seem more interested in impressing the reader with their expertise than in, as hata_ph did, just showing us what to do.
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 610
  • move the needle
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #13 on: March 16, 2013, 06:34:48 pm »

Scrounged around and found references to rc.S (naturally).

From /etc/rc.d/rc.S:
# Set the system time from the hardware clock using hwclock --hctosys.
if ! grep -qw nohwclock /proc/cmdline && [ -x /sbin/hwclock ]; then
  if ! grep -q -w rtc /proc/ioports ; then
    CLOCK_OPT="--directisa"
  fi
  if grep "^UTC" /etc/hardwareclock 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null ; then
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 18
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --utc --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  else
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 19
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --localtime --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  fi
fi


Wasn't familiar with hwclock
HWCLOCK(8)                  System Manager's Manual                 HWCLOCK(8)

NAME
       hwclock - query and set the hardware clock (RTC)

SYNOPSIS
       hwclock [functions] [options]


"hctosys" is a function; "utc" and "localtime" are options. So I moved --hctosys to before --utc and --localtime.

Worked.

I'd like to know how these lines read for those that are working, and for those that aren't.

BTW:    vlconfig2 version is 7.0 3vl70
« Last Edit: March 16, 2013, 06:52:22 pm by roarde »
Logged
Robert
VL 7.1 Light

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1470
Re: Daylight Savings Time???
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2013, 06:51:51 pm »

Mine (works) looks the same.

Quote
# Set the system time from the hardware clock using hwclock --hctosys.
if ! grep -qw nohwclock /proc/cmdline && [ -x /sbin/hwclock ]; then
  if ! grep -q -w rtc /proc/ioports ; then
    CLOCK_OPT="--directisa"
  fi
  if grep "^UTC" /etc/hardwareclock 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null ; then
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 18
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (UTC)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --utc --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  else
    /etc/rc.d/rc.text 9 'Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime).'
      # bootsplash
      progressbar 19
    echo "Setting system time from the hardware clock (localtime)."
    /sbin/hwclock $CLOCK_OPT --localtime --hctosys >> $INITLOG 2>&1
  fi
fi
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pages: [1] 2