VectorLinux
October 23, 2014, 06:08:15 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Atheros NIC on Lenovo G580 Laptop.  (Read 4610 times)
sqlpython
Member
*
Posts: 7


If It Moves Compile It.


« on: March 14, 2013, 12:13:17 pm »

 HI all!
 I installed my first Slackware in 1996 (Slack 95)
 No Linux Distro I have tried or used since that has EVER had to have a NIC driver/module compiled.
Wireless Yes but Not the Hardwire Cat5 NIC.

Well, I can't say that anymore. Grin
  My new Backup Laptop a Lenovo G580 has a Atheros NIC requiring the alx.ko module. Also the Broadcom-STA Wireless module wl.ko.
What a pair, Huh?
  https://www.lenovo.com/products/us/tech-specs/laptop/essential/g-series/g580/
  Celeron CPU, 4gb mem, 500gb HD, R/W DVD, Window 8 (Windows 8 is a pig)
AND the NEW EFI security boot.

 Here is what I did to Get Vector and Some other DIstros on Board.

  
 1. Entered the BIOS setup and changed BOOT to Legacy from the EFI...
   .... The EFI security gave LiveCDs a fit..
   .... Once set to Legacy Boot all worked..
 2. Gparted and Wiped the ENTIRE DRIVE. (Win8 is the Worst OS I have Ever Tried)
...........Win8 is basically a GIANT smart phone interface.
 3. Divided the 500mb as (4) 100gb (1) 90gb and (1) 10gb SWAP
 4. Tried a lot, A Lot of LiveCDs to see who would boot up with The WiFi working.. Settled on Kubuntu and Vector.
 5. Installed each to a partition.
 6. When Installing Vector I used the std Vector 7 Gold Not the LiveCD (Better Installer)
 7. While I had to Install the Broadcom-STA Wifi from Kubuntu's DVD .but Vector came on from Boot.
 8. Last piece of hardware is the Atheros alx NIC module..
  Here are the steps to download and compile..
  Worked like a charm with the WiCD Network interface manager.
  Vector is a Great Slackware Spin. I really like the all the vl tool scripts and vl-qwick-pics apps.

http://www.linuxfoundation.org/collaborate/workgroups/networking/alx
  For the below file.. 2012-02-28 date seems to work best. Some others gave me compile errors.

 DOWNLOAD:
compat-wireless-2012-02-28-p.tar.bz

Open Terminal in Download Directory
Right Click on File and (Extract Here)

Next CD into (New Install DIr) with FileManager or Terminal

To compile and install the alx driver you can do:

Again Open a Terminal in the Install Directory.
and
Code:
./scripts/driver-select alx

 
Code:
su
Enter Password Become root

Code:
make
Code:
make install


Now  Simply reBoot

 I did

Or you could

Code:
make unload to unload all: wireless, bluetooth and ethernet modules
make wlunload to unload wireless modules
make btunload to unload bluetooth modules
Code:
modprobe alx

If unsure reboot.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2013, 12:17:19 pm by sqlpython » Logged

If it Moves Compile It.
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 01:32:22 pm »

Interesting. What model Atheros is that? I have a AR8151 in my notebook and haven't had an issue with VL recognizing it.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
sqlpython
Member
*
Posts: 7


If It Moves Compile It.


« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2013, 06:48:08 am »

Not in front of it now but I believe it is

Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8162 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 08)

Edit: Another issue with this laptop is the Touchpad. A bit wider then on my Thinkpad.
The heels of my thumbs frequently brush it (and it is sensitive) which either sends the cursor to the other side of the screen OR acts as a Tap and opens some app.  (Annoying)
 I start typing in a Terminal and then suddenly I am typing at the beginning of a command line jumbling up my command syntax.
  In the end I may not keep this machine. Too difficult to be productive with....

 
« Last Edit: March 19, 2013, 06:53:35 am by sqlpython » Logged

If it Moves Compile It.
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1425



« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2013, 08:03:40 am »

To make my Samsung productive, I had to turn off the touchpad and use a wireless mouse.
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1264



« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2013, 08:43:47 am »

Personally, I can't stand using ANY touchpad and immediately turn the #$)(&#$ thing off as soon as I get a new system home.  Grin
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 532


move the needle


« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2013, 05:24:45 pm »

Same problem with touchpad here. syndaemon -i 1 -d  helps a great deal, but it's still a big problem.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC2.2.2, icewmvmods
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!