VectorLinux
August 22, 2014, 05:21:09 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: VLocity 64 7.0 installation does not write bootloader  (Read 1801 times)
jahLux
Member
*
Posts: 9


« on: December 06, 2012, 04:19:18 am »

I am attempting to install VLocity 64 7.0 on my laptop - multi-boot environment - however, all attempts to write the bootloader [LILO or GRUB2] have ended in failure. VLocity 64 7.0 does in fact install as I am able to boot into it using the install disc.I even manually forced a 'change' of the boot-flag, to no avail.
What am I missing?
BTW - I use Acronis as my boot-manager and never experienced this anomaly with any previous VectorLinux product.
VLocity 64 7.0 seems to be fantastic otherwise . . . .  Cry
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 07:00:40 am »

How many partitions are you using?

Bigpaws
Logged
jahLux
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 07:45:32 am »

How many partitions are you using?

Bigpaws

Thirteen (13), on a 1G HDD - 2 Primary + 11 in Extended, - 10 Linux & 1 Swap.
Everything else works smoothly - I even subsequently loaded BlackOpal64 in the partition where I was unsuccessfully attempting to load VLocity64 and it's running like a dream !!
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2012, 08:17:26 am »

I dont understand exactly what the problem is.

Can you tell us where you install bootloader to?  Which bootloader and also provide an error message if at all possible ?

On a side note, if you have a working bootloader, you do not need to overwrite it with every OS you install, you could just have one OS manage the bootloader on an MBR and maybe chain from there to each bootsector for each install for instance.
Logged

jahLux
Member
*
Posts: 9


« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2012, 06:42:41 pm »

I dont understand exactly what the problem is.

Can you tell us where you install bootloader to?  Which bootloader and also provide an error message if at all possible ?

On a side note, if you have a working bootloader, you do not need to overwrite it with every OS you install, you could just have one OS manage the bootloader on an MBR and maybe chain from there to each bootsector for each install for instance.
The problem is this - neither boot-loader [LILO nor GRUB2]  will write to the partition [root] in which the VLocity 64 7.0 is installed.
As a consequence of this, the partition cannot be 'seen' by the boot-manager nor chain-loaded for boot.
I simply want to be able to write the bootloader as I've been doing it since Vector Linux 5.0  Cry
Logged
bigpaws
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1846


« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2013, 11:33:29 am »

You may need to manually config for the settings. I run into
this from time to time. The usual place is the root partition.

HTH

Bigpaws
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3179



« Reply #6 on: February 12, 2013, 10:21:45 am »

If you are installing to the partition, then grub2 is out of the question for you.  The default behaviour in gub2 is to avoid installation to anything other than MBR, so you're kind of stuck with LILO on that one .... or jack with grub2 manually.

If you can boot your install, lilo could be as easy as running 'vliloconf' on a terminal and selecting the right options.

Basically, your lilo.conf must read 'boot=/dev/sdXX' ( like /dev/sda1 instead of /dev/sda) for the bootloader code to be written to the bootsector of your installed /
Logged

v12fairlane
Member
*
Posts: 29


« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2013, 11:41:02 pm »

i had this problem too, it turned out that vector was trying to install to an ms-dos partition, i didn't format the disk first. not sure how you might get around it though but i ended up using another disc that asked me to confirm whether or not i wanted to over-write the ms-dos partition, after that i could install vector 7.0 64 properly and get it running.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!