Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Problem with memory detection (4GB ram not all detected)  (Read 4748 times)

khashayar

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Problem with memory detection (4GB ram not all detected)
« on: October 13, 2013, 08:03:28 am »
in x86 architecture 4GB ram not all detected insted of 3.2GB ram is detcted

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1311
Re: Problem with memory detection (4GB ram not all detected)
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2013, 10:42:19 am »
This is common and normal to my understanding, the limits include other devices so a 4 gig showing 3.2=800 meg..vid maybe or other system device.
Everything Is Relative

khashayar

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with memory detection (4GB ram not all detected)
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2013, 10:59:19 am »
This is common and normal to my understanding, the limits include other devices so a 4 gig showing 3.2=800 meg..vid maybe or other system device.
thanks for answer.
when my os ubuntu(when update) is dectect all (4GB) in claculate linux by command cl-kernel -m and change Processor type and features --> High Memory Support (4GB)  --> 64GB my system dettect all (4GB).
I think change in PAE for dectect 4 GB ram larger but i dont know

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4072
Re: Problem with memory detection (4GB ram not all detected)
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2013, 03:09:46 pm »
A 32 bit OS can normally only address 3.2 G of RAM. With PAE enabled you can use more, but the VL kernel is not configured that way. PAE adds extra overhead that can have a negative impact on performance.

khashayar

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Problem with memory detection (4GB ram not all detected)
« Reply #4 on: October 14, 2013, 01:19:05 am »
A 32 bit OS can normally only address 3.2 G of RAM. With PAE enabled you can use more, but the VL kernel is not configured that way. PAE adds extra overhead that can have a negative impact on performance.
thanks for answer

hata_ph

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 3261
  • -- Just being myself --
Re: Problem with memory detection (4GB ram not all detected)
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2013, 04:43:13 pm »
if you are having more than 4GB RAM and your processor is 64bit enabled...try the 64bit version of VL