VectorLinux
October 22, 2014, 05:22:21 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8
  Print  
Author Topic: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.  (Read 11545 times)
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #30 on: May 07, 2014, 01:54:55 pm »

Hi Caitlyn, welcome back.  Smiley

http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/pkg/untested/veclinux-7.1/iso/
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #31 on: May 07, 2014, 05:38:43 pm »

Thanks for the welcome.  I'll take a look at the new version but that's all I can promise.  I don't have much time to offer these days.

I did get the link from the chat room already.  I've never been known for being patient Smiley
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #32 on: May 07, 2014, 06:49:23 pm »

I just installed Vector Linux 7.1 STD RC2 on my 4.5 year old HP Mini 110 netbook.  Any distro can work on this machine but most need some tweaking to get them to work after installation.  It's not a system where I expect anything to "just work". 

To my very pleasant surprise VL 7.1 just works on this netbook.  Wireless and wired internet configured correctly out of the box, video done right, sound fine.  The installer display was perfect on the netbook, something no previous version of VL accomplished, and in general the graphical installer is much more polished and much simpler than I remember.  Great job by the developers.

A few very minor quibbles:  I agree with the previous comment that hiding passwords should be included.  I'd rather if it was optional but it should be there.  Also, why Quit or Reboot at the end?  Aside from troubleshooting a problematic install, why would anyone just quit?  Perhaps that button should be renamed to drop to shell or something.  Finally, just before packages start installing there is a period where, on older hardware like this, the installer looks like it hangs for quite a while.  It isn't hung; it is working but there are no visual cues to tell a VL newcomer to be patient.

On the overall I really, really like what I see.  Huge improvement over 7.0 when it was first released.  I'll bash on it over the next few days and see if I can come up with anymore bugs.  I'll also give the 64-bit a go next week when I'll have some time at home on the desktop.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
Lyn
Vectorian
****
Posts: 651



« Reply #33 on: May 07, 2014, 11:27:52 pm »

Did you, perchance, forget to check the "Install XFCE" box during install?

No I checked that :-)
Logged
caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #34 on: May 08, 2014, 04:27:07 am »

That raises another question.  Why is Install XFCE the only software choice?  If you're not offering another desktop shouldn't that step be skipped.  It's sure to cause confusion to newcomers.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #35 on: May 08, 2014, 04:33:24 am »

That raises another question.  Why is Install XFCE the only software choice?  If you're not offering another desktop shouldn't that step be skipped.  It's sure to cause confusion to newcomers.
Advanced install mode will let you install a text-only system.
Logged

caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #36 on: May 08, 2014, 01:49:06 pm »

VL 7.1 STD RC2 (32 bit) on my netbook:  I installed Midori and it won't run.  The browser does launch but crashes withing a few seconds.
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #37 on: May 09, 2014, 11:32:59 am »

Could you launch it from a terminal window and post the output please?
Logged

caitlyn
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2876


WWW
« Reply #38 on: May 09, 2014, 03:50:53 pm »

Here you go:
Code:
cmartin:$ midori

(midori4:2560): GLib-Net-WARNING **: couldn't load TLS file database: Error reading file '/usr/share/ca-certificates': Is a directory

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_object_unref: assertion 'G_IS_OBJECT (object)' failed

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-menu-bar-popup-delay after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-can-change-accels after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-menu-popup-delay after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-menu-popdown-delay after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-label-select-on-focus after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-menu-images after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-button-images after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-scrolled-window-placement after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-entry-select-on-focus after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: Attempt to add property GtkSettings::gtk-entry-password-hint-timeout after class was initialised

(midori4:2560): libsoup-WARNING **: (soup-uri.c:574):soup_uri_copy: runtime check failed: (SOUP_URI_IS_VALID (uri))
Segmentation fault
Logged

eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
CentOS 6.5 (will try VL64-7.1 soon)

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #39 on: May 09, 2014, 11:55:13 pm »

Installed VL64bit RC2 to dell optiplex 745 via dvd rw.
onboard graphics, sata dvd and hdd

The gui installer would not load but did give a text installer

chose advanced and created a / and swap partitions then proceeded with install
checked xfce and lilo
all went smooth and default lilo installed to my surprise

booted to xfce desktop with two options for panel
the wallpaper was xfce mouse, had to add the wallpaper from usr/share/wallpaper
..had the issue in 32bit and think I solved putting the default wallpaper in the same folder.

fluxbox and awesome are in the session list but not an option..same in 32bit..are they to be removed or do I need to install for the option to have an effect? would be better if the xsession was installed with or it worked..whatever
connected to network and firefox loads the forum thus a post

have sound for dvd after quick adjust in umplayer preferences and tube seemed to work

anyway nice so far
Logged

Everything Is Relative
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #40 on: May 10, 2014, 04:58:18 pm »

My experience with VL7.1 has been that when it won't recognize my USB keyboard and/or mouse, so as a result, when it gets to the first install screen my mouse pointer freezes, and more with it  Cry, and during the one or two rare times when I was able to get past that point (by using a spare PS2 mouse I happened to have), I was able to get to the logon screen - at which point my mouse pointer froze after one second, and my USB keyboard was acting rather 'buggy' (When I would press the keys, the cursor would move, but no text would appear.

By the way, I have a Gigabyte Z77-DS3H motherboard (brand new).
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #41 on: May 10, 2014, 11:48:25 pm »

VL64bit dvdrw install to optiplex 745(slim)

Added an ati radeon x1300 pro to the pci-e slot ( max for psu), up the ram to 4gig (max) added a new dvdrw drive and a larger hd, then reinstalled VLocity

I still get the text installer and same results but tooling around gave no issues so far

install to /dev/sda2 with lilo to / same as 32 bit
guessing this is no longer possible with the kernel upgrade as it worked fine during earlier beta tests.
booted fine via dvd: linux root=/dev/sda2 ro

Here is Vlocity with animated desktop

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ybkyhueioxdbbms/aniVLocity.png

Not fond of this box (hardware) but One mans junk is anothers...
« Last Edit: May 11, 2014, 02:29:48 am by overthere » Logged

Everything Is Relative
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #42 on: May 11, 2014, 02:50:35 am »

When I would press the keys, the cursor would move, but no text would appear.
I had that happen on a machine with nVidia graphics. If I typed username and password it would log me in and be ok after that. Did you get past that point?
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #43 on: May 11, 2014, 04:00:29 pm »

With an older nvidia card (gforce gf4mx440se 128 meg agp), ps2 keyboard and usb mouse I have a similar issue with the login...no text in session or language and cursor moved in name box with no text.

I found that clicking language then clicking cancel would then magically show text in sessions and language as well as text in the login box. this is consistent

once logged in all is well with the exception the odd icon will appear opaque until touched. otherwise fine

I can login as usual, not seeing the text and works the same. an accepted hardware issue for me (lest I find a card to fit the slot). the proprietary drivers are not as good on this old card but may be an alternative for newer nvidia cards.
Logged

Everything Is Relative
Locator
Vectorian
****
Posts: 706



« Reply #44 on: May 11, 2014, 06:22:34 pm »

When I would press the keys, the cursor would move, but no text would appear.
I had that happen on a machine with nVidia graphics. If I typed username and password it would log me in and be ok after that. Did you get past that point?
Sometimes yes, and sometimes no. So for now I have ended up going back to Vector Linux 7.0 (at least until VL7.1 gets fixed), because at least I can get it to work correctly with my computer setup.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 8
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!