VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 18

Author Topic: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.  (Read 26153 times)

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1364
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #75 on: July 19, 2014, 10:46:51 am »

vincent2..Thought you may find this interesting

These may not be your specific modem but should point you in the right direction

Huawei 3G E156 B?
http://go2linux.garron.me/linux/2011/02/huawei-3g-e156-b-slackware-linux-connect-910

Huawei 1550 3G
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/slackware-14/3g-modem-794337/

 edit: wvdial and libwvstreams are installed in vector also usb-modeswitch you will need to edit your dial and modeswitch conf files
« Last Edit: July 19, 2014, 11:18:44 am by overthere »
Logged
Everything Is Relative

overthere

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1364
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #76 on: July 19, 2014, 10:50:04 am »

VL 7.1 RC 2.2.3
 when libvirt is selected for install via gslapt-ERROR libvirt : depends: dmidecode>=2.12
Logged
Everything Is Relative

vincent2

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback--3G modem,proxy ARP
« Reply #77 on: July 19, 2014, 08:05:07 pm »

ok....

now 3G modem does work under vl7.1 rc2.2.4 64bit, huweie1550....By setting dialing device as "dev/ttyUSB0" on the chestnut-dialer config menu,

BUT modem does connect to internet, i can ping 8.8.8.8, just couldn't visit anywebsite, it prompted network error in bruisers....

"nslookup vectorlinux.com"  generated network errors, while "nslookup vectorlinux.com 8.8.8.8" got correct ip....

at chestnut-dialer logs, it prompted as"cannot  determine ethernet address for proxy ARP", where's gone wrong ?

any commands to reconfigure modem ARP correctly???
« Last Edit: July 20, 2014, 06:06:46 am by vincent2 »
Logged

vincent2

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback--3G modem,proxy ARP
« Reply #78 on: July 20, 2014, 07:01:48 am »

ok....

now 3G modem does work under vl7.1 rc2.2.4 64bit, huweie1550....By setting dialing device as "dev/ttyUSB0" on the chestnut-dialer config menu,

BUT modem does connect to internet, i can ping 8.8.8.8, just couldn't visit anywebsite, it prompted network error in bruisers....

"nslookup vectorlinux.com"  generated network errors, while "nslookup vectorlinux.com 8.8.8.8" got correct ip....

at chestnut-dialer logs, it prompted as"cannot  determine ethernet address for proxy ARP", where's gone wrong ?

any commands to reconfigure modem ARP correctly???

now i edited /etc/resolv.conf again, adding:
---------------------------------
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220
-----------------------------------

now internet running normal with 3Gmodem...
at last 3G modem works fine under vl7.1 rc2.2.4 64bit
Logged

vincent2

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #79 on: July 20, 2014, 07:24:15 am »

apparently,NetworkManager Applet 0.9.6.4 still can't make 3G modem connected automatically yet....
Logged

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2321
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #80 on: July 20, 2014, 10:21:31 am »


apparently,NetworkManager Applet 0.9.6.4 still can't make 3G modem connected automatically yet....

Did you try using the configuration screen to setup DNS for your network? I gave it a try with my phone and it worked automatically for me. A problem with this is that we dont have the same device as you, so its impossible to debug for us.
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

vincent2

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #81 on: July 20, 2014, 06:23:45 pm »


apparently,NetworkManager Applet 0.9.6.4 still can't make 3G modem connected automatically yet....

Did you try using the configuration screen to setup DNS for your network? I gave it a try with my phone and it worked automatically for me. A problem with this is that we dont have the same device as you, so its impossible to debug for us.

what's model of ur phones? i'm using huaweie 1550 3G modem, the most popular model, on knoppix, slackware, mandriva all works fine  with network manager applet, not under vl7.1 rc 2.2.4 with network manager applet yet  only work with chestnut-dialer under vl7.1...

now i already edited /etc/resolv.conf again, adding:
---------------------------------
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220
-----------------------------------

anyway, network manager applet  still can't drive 3G modem connected yet, while booting into knoppix 7.2.0,once configured 3G modem under network manager under knoppix,network manager applet will show 3G network name, just clicking it, 3G gets connected.
network manager on vl7.1 rc2.2.4 's still buggy, maybe missing links for 3G modem...
i can add 3G gprs network on mobile internet at network manger config menu, but 3G never gets connected....always has to resort to chest-dialer again for 3G connections......
Logged

vincent2

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #82 on: August 05, 2014, 08:39:32 pm »

once rebooting, haVE TO

edited /etc/resolv.conf again AGAIN AGIAN adding:
---------------------------------
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220
-----------------------------------

Logged

vincent2

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
SKYPE 4.3
« Reply #83 on: August 05, 2014, 08:45:40 pm »

now old version of skype  on repo can  no longer work any more due to SKYPE clouds config.....

DO include new skype versin 4.3 into next vl7.1  64 bit RC release....


skype 4.3 surce code 's only 32bit, not working on  vl7.1 rc 2.2.4 64 bit  at all. ......


aslo New kernel should be uploaded to test rep for  testing  securities, kernel , 3.15.x, 3.16.x....
Logged

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1342
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #84 on: August 06, 2014, 06:04:05 pm »

Microsoft has blocked Skype-4.2 and is forcing users to skype-4.3 with which one has to use pulseaudio. I guess that goes under user-friendlyness.

Skype is a 32 bit application and therefore you will need to install multilib on 64 bit version.
Logged

sledgehammer

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1483
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #85 on: August 07, 2014, 07:36:57 am »

Quote
DO include new skype versin 4.3 into next vl7.1  64 bit RC release...

Skype is not open source.  I vote "no."  Skype doesn't belong in a decent OS.

John
Logged
VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511

Pita

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1342
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1340
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #87 on: August 08, 2014, 05:05:12 am »

Even when compiled with the proper 32-bit libraries in place, skype on a 64-bit system tends to be buggy and extremely unstable. Not worth the time IMO.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

vincent2

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 417
Logged

retired1af

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1340
Re: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.
« Reply #89 on: August 09, 2014, 08:50:18 am »

Knock yourself out.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 18