VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 09:38:22 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: no sound in 7.1 rc1  (Read 1512 times)
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 125



« on: April 06, 2014, 09:18:56 am »

i only have sound through firefox.... mplayer, xmms, vlc, etc there is no sound....but it works perfect when watching youtube in firefox for example.

 fuser -v /dev/dsp* and fuser -v /dev/snd/* both reurn nothing, to me meaning the card is not being accessed even when a media player is running. when i run firefox and browse a youtube video i get

(1:119)# fuser -v /dev/snd/*
                     USER        PID ACCESS COMMAND
/dev/snd/controlC0:  paul       3641 F.... panel-18-mixer
/dev/snd/pcmC0D0p:   paul       5667 F...m plugin-containe


lspci returns
00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)

yes ive been through the mixer settings, it works obviosuly as ive got sound in firefox
« Last Edit: April 06, 2014, 10:57:27 am by wigums » Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 125



« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2014, 03:26:38 pm »

well ive managed to get UMPlayer working. while working on something else i re-installed libvdpau and MPlayer. so now UMPlayer has sound. vlc still has no sound atm however
Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
stretchedthin
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3780


WWW
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2014, 05:25:04 pm »

I've noticed that I can only get sound in some applications when I remove pulseaudio.  Only then to lose sound in other requiring me to put pulseaudio back.  I've held off mentioning this thinking it may be my hardware, but if others can verify maybe this should be looked into further.
Logged

Vectorlinux screencasts and  tutorials can be found at....
http://www.opensourcebistro.com/blog1
http://www.youtube.com/user/vid4ken?feature=mhee
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 125



« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2014, 06:12:46 pm »

verified and its being worked on per our irc discussion...just posting to let others know
Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2014, 04:17:45 am »

That's strange. I have sound in pretty much everything I've tested so far. VLC I had to change the output device, but everything seems to be working fine.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
wigums
Packager
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 125



« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2014, 09:16:50 am »

pulseaudio has been upgraded  and added alsa-plugins. anyone care to give it a test drive?
Logged

When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!