VectorLinux
November 25, 2014, 06:23:18 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Black boarder after setup  (Read 458 times)
Jabaruk1
Member
*
Posts: 3


« on: July 08, 2014, 04:49:27 am »

Hi ,i am a newbie trying VL7.0 light on a very old laptop Toshiba sat 4030cdt

Celeron 300Mhz CPU
196 meg ram
Trident Cyber 9525 SVGA graphics

all has gone well i installed ok and got a desktop but i have a 1inch,ish black boarder around the desktop,i would like to use the whole screen,i have looked at the Xorg.config file but it is empty and even if it was not empty i would not know what look for .Could any one help please.

Side note , i am amazed how well VL runs on this old hardwear . Smiley
Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4030



« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2014, 05:44:20 am »

In a root terminal, run command "vxconf" and follow the prompts. When it's done, reboot and try again.
Logged
Jabaruk1
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2014, 06:28:17 am »

The whole screen went corrupt it was almost full screen but i could not read anything just multi color lines everywhere ,that was after i rebooted.
i am back to where i was by booting in text mode and running vasm and selecting auto2,in text mode vxconf did nothing but take me back to terminal
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2014, 10:20:23 am »

 Hi Jabar.. I have (somewhere) a toshiba 4070cds with 192 megs ram, I recall it does 640x480 and 800x600 at a lower bit rate, and better if you use an external monitor rather than the lcd. Yours may be similar, I think the cdt had a higher res so perhaps yours is 800 and 1024 thus the black boarder, it's at 800.

Anyway try a monitor if you have one or lower the bit rate on the higher res or perhaps use vesa rather than xorg, not sure how you make that selection with vector anymore but someone will likely help.

I used puppy linux as it is designed to run on as little as 128 megs and runs in ram so my 4 gig hd could be used as a save file and swap file. even with puppy I had to tweak the vid setting to work at the higher res.. damnsmall was also used on this but one or the other would not allow use of my pcmcia backpak cd burner.. eventually hotmail would no longer work on the resolution so I upgraded to vector on a desktop with more ram, and better graphics..


« Last Edit: July 08, 2014, 10:31:46 am by overthere » Logged

Everything Is Relative
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4030



« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2014, 03:02:42 pm »

You may need to manually edit xorg.conf. When you boot to text mode, log in as root and run "vxconf", does it not do anything?
Logged
overthere
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1281



« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2014, 04:38:54 pm »

Also have a look at this thread, It may be very helpfull

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1081627

config file from puppy worked on ubuntu for 4030cdt

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier     "X.org Configured"
Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Keyboard0"
Driver      "kbd"
Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option      "XkbModel" "pc102"
Option      "XkbLayout" "gb" #xkeymap0
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier  "Mouse0"
Driver      "mouse"
Option     "Protocol" "auto" #mouse0protocol
Option     "Device" "/dev/mouse"
#Option      "Emulate3Buttons"
#Option      "Emulate3Timeout" "50"
Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5" #scrollwheel
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
#DisplaySize   240   180 # mm
Identifier   "Monitor0"
VendorName   "TOS"
ModelName    "5082"
HorizSync    31.5-48.5
VertRefresh  40-70
#UseModes     "Modes0" #monitor0usemodes
Option      "PreferredMode" "1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes0"
#modes0modeline0
EndSection

Section "Device"
# Available Driver options are:-
# Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
# <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
# [arg]: arg optional
#Option     "AccelMethod"        # [<str>]
#Option     "SWcursor"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "PciRetry"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "NoAccel"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "SetMClk"            # <freq>
#Option     "MUXThreshold"        # <i>
#Option     "ShadowFB"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "Rotate"              # [<str>]
#Option     "VideoKey"            # <i>
#Option     "NoMMIO"              # [<bool>]
#Option     "NoPciBurst"          # [<bool>]
#Option     "MMIOonly"            # [<bool>]
#Option     "CyberShadow"        # [<bool>]
#Option     "CyberStretch"        # [<bool>]
#Option     "XvHsync"            # <i>
#Option     "XvVsync"            # <i>
#Option     "XvBskew"            # <i>
#Option     "XvRskew"            # <i>
#Option     "FpDelay"            # <i>
#Option     "Display1400"        # [<bool>]
#Option     "Display"            # [<str>]
#Option     "GammaBrightness"    # [<str>]
#Option     "TVChipset"          # [<str>]
#Option     "TVSignal"            # <i>
Identifier  "Card0"
Driver      "trident" #card0driver
VendorName  "Trident Microsystems"
BoardName   "Cyber 9525"
BusID       "PCI:0:4:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device     "Card0"
Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 16
    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       16
        Modes       "1024x768"
    EndSubsection
EndSection
« Last Edit: July 09, 2014, 04:40:47 pm by overthere » Logged

Everything Is Relative
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!