Author Topic: change keyboard layout login screen  (Read 7077 times)

|nic|

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 171
    • My Blog
change keyboard layout login screen
« on: August 15, 2015, 03:04:31 am »
Hi,

I would like to change the keyboard layout of the login screen.
The rest of the system is set up correctly, but I just can't find where to modify it for the login screen.
I'm using VL 7.1 std.

Can someone help me?

greets.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2015, 03:07:22 am by |nic| »
registered user #393337

macondo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 252
Re: change keyboard layout login screen
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2015, 08:37:28 am »
I don't have a solution for gdm, I don't use DMs for precisely the problems like yours.

I changed my boot procedure, i use 'startx' and if i wanna change my window manager, i do it from the .xinitrc
(exec favorite_wm).

Edit /etc/inittab as ROOT, and change the 'default run level' to 3 and reboot.

Code: [Select]
# Default runlevel. (Do not set to 0 or 6 !)
id:3:initdefault:

When you come back login with your user_name (Enter)
Password (Enter)
$ startx (Enter) and you're in like Fynn, it never fails.
Hopefully the lang will be like the rest of the system.

Otherwise, never mind my ramblings...
« Last Edit: August 15, 2015, 08:42:31 am by macondo »
VL 7.1 Light - icewm - jwm - ratpoison
“Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't after you.” ― Joseph Heller, Catch-22
Oscar Peterson - Bossa Nova - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSX_7ejc5u8

|nic|

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 171
    • My Blog
Re: change keyboard layout login screen
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2015, 04:07:24 am »
Thanks macondo for the response.

It could be a solution for myself, but I'm setting up a laptop for my mother and I want to make it as easy as possible for her to use.

I'll find a solution to boot directly into the WM.

thanks :-)
registered user #393337

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2383
Re: change keyboard layout login screen
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2015, 02:53:02 pm »
I think this should work:

Code: [Select]
~/.dmrc

[Desktop]
Language=de_DE.UTF-8   # change to your default lang
Layout=de   nodeadkeys # change to your keyboard layout

If you run gdmsetup as root, you can configure auto login from there.

HTH, Rodrigo
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

|nic|

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 171
    • My Blog
Re: change keyboard layout login screen
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2015, 04:09:06 am »
Hi rbistolfi,

I'll try this when I get home :-)

greets,

|nic|
registered user #393337