VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: IceWM fork  (Read 1745 times)

askfor

• user
IceWM fork
« on: November 25, 2015, 08:40:35 am »

I'd like  to bring attention to fork of IceWM at https://github.com/bbidulock/icewm

Official release, 1.3.8 is several years old, and have some bugs, like taskbar autohide and 'reboot' and 'shudown' entries in 'logout' menu. Github fork, version 1.3.11, resolves those bugs and adds some new features.  I wasn't aware of it until several days ago, when I downloaded source code. It is built without problem on Vector and I have been using it ever since.

If there is interest I might try to build VL package out of it, which is something I have never tried before.

macondo

• Vectorite
Re: IceWM fork
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2015, 09:43:19 am »

I'd like  to bring attention to fork of IceWM at https://github.com/bbidulock/icewm

Official release, 1.3.8 is several years old, and have some bugs, like taskbar autohide and 'reboot' and 'shudown' entries in 'logout' menu. Github fork, version 1.3.11, resolves those bugs and adds some new features.  I wasn't aware of it until several days ago, when I downloaded source code. It is built without problem on Vector and I have been using it ever since.

If there is interest I might try to build VL package out of it, which is something I have never tried before.

I have no problems with autohide, as for the fork version, I'm interested fwiw.

PD: Apologies, forgot to mention that i do all that from the .icewm/keys and not from the menu, check:  http://forum.vectorlinux.com/index.php?topic=18710.0
« Last Edit: November 25, 2015, 04:26:31 pm by macondo »
VL 7.1 Light - icewm - jwm - ratpoison