VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [ SOLVED ] KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?  (Read 1330 times)

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
[ SOLVED ] KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« on: February 08, 2016, 12:07:48 pm »

Is there a way to get VectorLinux 7.0 to boot to KDE mode, and if so, how do I go about doing it?
« Last Edit: February 09, 2016, 07:49:31 pm by Locator »
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4327
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2016, 01:40:40 pm »

Use gslapt and install package "kde4-meta".
Logged

macondo

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 252
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2016, 01:42:53 pm »

I don't use kde, this is a shot in the dark...
Have you tried editing your .xinitrc?
Code: [Select]
exec startkde

# reboot
Logged
VL 7.1 Light - icewm - jwm - ratpoison
“Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't after you.” ― Joseph Heller, Catch-22
Oscar Peterson - Bossa Nova - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cSX_7ejc5u8

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4327
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2016, 02:02:07 pm »

After KDE is installed, you choose it from the login manager. Look for "sessions", select KDE.
Logged

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2016, 10:43:04 am »

Use gslapt and install package "kde4-meta".

I tried that, and the following window popped up:
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4327
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2016, 01:11:25 pm »

You have found a bug. Make a post in the "New Package Requests" thread on the forum. Describe the error and request a re-build of the package.
Logged

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2016, 01:31:11 pm »

Thank you.
Logged

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3451
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2016, 02:10:19 pm »

Enable untested repository for 7.0, refresh your sources, and try again

libkcddb and libmusicbrainz5 have been pushed to 7.0 untested.

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #8 on: February 09, 2016, 04:40:51 pm »

I tried that, and got the following:
Logged

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 738
  • it's enough
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #9 on: February 09, 2016, 05:43:13 pm »

32-bit, right? In a code block for easier cutpaste:
Code: [Select]
SOURCE=http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com/untested/veclinux-7.0/x86/
Logged
Robert
VL 7.2 Light B2

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 821
Re: KDE mode for VectorLinux 7.0?
« Reply #10 on: February 09, 2016, 07:48:38 pm »

Sorry about that. Somehow I had the wrong link included :(. but I got it corrected and it updated this time :).
Logged