Author Topic: Slackware version?  (Read 2164 times)

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 876
Slackware version?
« on: May 31, 2020, 11:55:47 pm »
This might be a bit of a loaded question, but which Slackware version does VLocity64 use? I ask that because I am going to try and install 32-bit libraries into it (I have the instructions on how to go about it).

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4506
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2020, 04:52:37 am »
VL diverged from SW somewhere after 12.2. That's why /etc/slackware-version now says "Inspired by.. " 

In the end, it was probably most compatible with SW 14.0

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 876
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2020, 02:41:56 pm »
Is there a way that I can find out what slackware version VLocity64 actually is?

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 791
  • it's enough
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2020, 03:28:59 pm »
No.

It's not a Slackware version.

It's not Slackware.

There are differences in scripts, interfaces, and hooks. That means there's a lot of Slackware stuff that will not work.


If you want Slackware, get Slackware. If you want current packages, install an operating system that has currently maintained packages. There are critical elements of VL that need updating; for those, there's no other OS to borrow from.

It's pining for the fjords. It is not, however, simply stunned, no matter how stoutly you nail it to its perch.
Robert

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 876
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2020, 05:39:19 pm »
How then is VLocity64 different than Slackware?
« Last Edit: June 02, 2020, 05:45:49 pm by Locator »

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 791
  • it's enough
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2020, 06:03:57 pm »
The plumage don't enter into it. It's stone dead.
Robert

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 876
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2020, 08:50:32 pm »
I'm not asking about "plumage", I'm just trying to find out what type of Linux operating system VLocity64 is.

roarde

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 791
  • it's enough
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2020, 09:39:41 pm »
It's Vector Linux, compiled a long, long time ago for a x86_64. It has no other type. There's no other way to put it.

And now for something not completely different.
Mate, this bird wouldn't "voom" if you put four million volts through it! 'E's bleedin' demised!
Robert

Locator

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 876
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2020, 09:59:20 pm »
I'm sorry for seeming like a pest about it, but to me, a least, it seems to handle a lot like Slackware, which is why I asked about it.

bigpaws

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1904
Re: Slackware version?
« Reply #9 on: June 17, 2020, 10:19:00 pm »
It behaves similar to Slackware. The builds are not from Slackware or any
Slackware like system. It was built as from the ground up using different
setups and goals. There is no clear Slackware version that you ask for.

Bigpaws