VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux  (Read 148 times)

sidoko

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • user
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« on: February 02, 2016, 05:18:05 am »

 :-[
Sorry wigums, it doesn't with the newest version...
The wl-driver doesn't even load with the actual VL-7.1-STD...
And due to my lack of knowledge I wasn't able to get more information out of my Compaq CQ56-115EG
Logged

wigums

  • Packager
  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2016, 11:12:47 am »

my bad. i should have mentioned thats for 7.2
we didnt do anything about this issue in 7.1 and
it would require a new kernel which i dont see
happening at this stage in the game

the reason this came about was because i had 2 laptops
both with a broadcom card using b43 module which would
randomly quit working. the wl module fixes this issue.
as far as im aware noone else reported similar issues

do you have an issue staying connected to wifi with a broadcom card?
« Last Edit: February 02, 2016, 11:46:25 am by wigums »
Logged
When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.

https://wigums.wordpress.com/drawings-2/
https://vlcoredocumentation.readthedocs.org/en/latest/
wigums@vectorlinux.net

sidoko

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • user
Re: Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2016, 04:19:07 pm »

No, I can't even load the WL, so no connection.
Every possible solution I found via google leds to an error, sometimes it does not find the module, sometimes it's just the wrong version or structure or there are too big holes in my ability and knowledge.
I even tried changing the card but the InsydeO2-BIOS is whitelisted and I cannot use ANY other card and I don't want to use ANY other Linux since I installed it on 8 machines since Friday... ;-)
Maybe we can find a step-by-step-solution for dummies (like me)?

EDIT
Maybe I can compile it myself?
« Last Edit: February 03, 2016, 03:03:53 am by sidoko »
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4194
Re: Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2016, 03:23:52 am »

First step is to properly identify the card involved.
Run terminal command "lspci" and post what it says.
Logged

sidoko

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • user
Re: Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2016, 05:24:43 am »

Code: [Select]
root:# lspci -v |grep Broadcom
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)

Code: [Select]
root:# lspci -v*[snip]*
Code: [Select]
02:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4313 802.11bgn Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 145c
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 7
Memory at 50100000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 3
Capabilities: [58] Vendor Specific Information: Len=78 <?>
Capabilities: [48] MSI: Enable- Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Capabilities: [d0] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] Advanced Error Reporting
Capabilities: [13c] Virtual Channel
Capabilities: [160] Device Serial Number 00-00-12-ff-ff-36-ac-81
Capabilities: [16c] Power Budgeting <?>
*[snap]*

It's the
Code: [Select]
02:00.0 0280: 14e4:4727 (rev 01)
ergo HP/Compaq halfsize card...
Logged

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4194
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2016, 09:05:45 am »

So.. using the old b43 driver won't work according to this guide: https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43

Looks like someone needs to figure out how to enable wl on 7.1
Logged

wigums

  • Packager
  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2016, 03:18:01 pm »

one of the cards i had issue with was also a 4313.
it requires the kernel to be recompiled which at
this time isnt a trivial thing to do for 7.1. maybe we can
roll a specific kernel with a specific name to address
this issue? so far only 2 people have had an issue.

there must be a solution that doesnt require EVERYONE
on 7.1 to get a kernel upgrade
Logged
When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.

https://wigums.wordpress.com/drawings-2/
https://vlcoredocumentation.readthedocs.org/en/latest/
wigums@vectorlinux.net

sidoko

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • user
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #7 on: February 07, 2016, 12:27:36 pm »

OK, so let's go further, just step by step.
As far as I found out, the "old" WL.KO kernelmodule should do its work, but I can't find the sources, I even can't find a way to properly compile it and last but not least, I'm not able to get it loaded though to test its functionality.
Maybe we can start of here? Or shall I upgrade to 7.2?
Logged

wigums

  • Packager
  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #8 on: February 07, 2016, 01:37:39 pm »

personally id suggest upgrade to 7.2
however we are trying to address the issue in 7.1
we've been busy in meat space
Logged
When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.

https://wigums.wordpress.com/drawings-2/
https://vlcoredocumentation.readthedocs.org/en/latest/
wigums@vectorlinux.net

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2341
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #9 on: February 08, 2016, 05:34:29 am »

You could install the 7.2 kernel packages (kernel, kernel-modules, plus kernel-headers and kernel-src if you need them) in 7.1. It may work or it may not, but I guess you have nothing to loose :)
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

sidoko

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • user
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2016, 05:55:14 am »

I'm afraid, I have something to loose, despite my honor as a IT-professionist... ;)
I never did things with linux but I want to learn!
How can I follow that 'procedure'? I already installed a second CQ56 with bcm4313 (14e4:4727) on VL7.2, but screen resolution is everytime out of range... :'(
« Last Edit: February 08, 2016, 06:22:36 am by sidoko »
Logged

wigums

  • Packager
  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
Re: using broadcom wifi with vector linux
« Reply #11 on: Today at 10:51:40 am »

we have sorted out the broadcom issue in 7.1. here are the instructions

http://vlcore.vectorlinux.com:10080/m0e.lnx/sta-builder/blob/master/README.md

thanks to M0E-Lnx
Logged
When the people fear their government, there is tyranny; when the government fears the people, there is liberty.

https://wigums.wordpress.com/drawings-2/
https://vlcoredocumentation.readthedocs.org/en/latest/
wigums@vectorlinux.net