VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: Copying from Windows SOLVED  (Read 121 times)

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
Copying from Windows SOLVED
« on: June 27, 2015, 05:01:53 pm »

Installed 32 bit VL 7.1.  It is great that Thunar can navigate to my Win7 machine.  What is not nice is that if I try to copy a file from Win7 to VL, Thunar disappears without copying.  If I have two copies of Thunar running, they both disappear.  Even if I navigate back from Windows to home, it still disappears. 
If I double click on an Excel file on Windows, Gnumeric does open it.
« Last Edit: July 03, 2015, 10:25:01 am by StrayBit »
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

retired1af

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1310
Re: Copying from Windows
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2015, 05:07:54 pm »

I've had that happen. If I turn right back around and do it again, the file/files copy over.
Logged
ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: Copying from Windows
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2015, 05:09:09 pm »

You may also want to try installing another file manager (spacefm, pcmanfm) and see how it does.
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
Re: Copying from Windows
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2015, 10:24:17 am »

I could find no way to open/browse SMB files in either pcmanfm nor spacefm.  I spent over an hour with the latter.  I do like that I can open a root terminal or gui in the it.
I upgraded Thunar per the other post which worked.
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: Copying from Windows SOLVED
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2015, 11:48:56 am »

Good to hear you got it working. :)

For future reference, to connect to samba shares in spacefm: Use the address bar on top and enter:
smb://username@IPaddress/sharename
Logged

StrayBit

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 420
Re: Copying from Windows SOLVED
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2015, 03:34:21 pm »

I have not seen any address bar nor found any way to get it visible.
Logged
Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4108
Re: Copying from Windows SOLVED
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2015, 06:46:30 pm »

Okay, the main thing is you got it working in Thunar, so you're good.
Logged