Author Topic: Package builder utility  (Read 138157 times)

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #120 on: June 12, 2007, 11:54:18 am »
Yeah dude.

You can only expect so much. :)
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2921
    • The Linux Works
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #121 on: June 12, 2007, 11:56:07 am »
hanumizzle:  I didn't know about it either until I started working on Hebrew support for VL 5.8.  I wanted to know why Ubuntu's version of Xfce had Hebrew menus and VL's didn't.  I researched the issue and... well... now y'all are stuck with me and my meddling.

-Cait
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VL64 7.1

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #122 on: June 12, 2007, 11:58:48 am »
Well, I'd say that it would be nice if we have documentation written for vpackager that has this information.

Vpackager should always use the package's defaults, so if a configure option is added,the user should know it,see it,have the freedom to edit it...
Maybe in future versions we could have configure profiles that the user could create and choose from the drop down menu (default,configure profile,custom)... and have profiles in the list of custom profiles as default.

Default custom profiles that can be included in vpackager could be:

kde app :  --prefix=/opt/kde
gnome app:  --with-included-gettext
games: --prefix=/usr/games
etc etc... this is yet another sweet feature,i guess

....but that calls for more entries in vpackager's settings file and another settings window ( configure profiles editor?)
about the tray... yeah i expected to hear that.. :( i knew it
« Last Edit: June 12, 2007, 12:00:32 pm by blurymind »
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #123 on: June 12, 2007, 12:00:31 pm »
hanumizzle:  I didn't know about it either until I started working on Hebrew support for VL 5.8.  I wanted to know why Ubuntu's version of Xfce had Hebrew menus and VL's didn't.  I researched the issue and... well... now y'all are stuck with me and my meddling.

-Cait

Very observant of you then. Glad you found it.

Shalom...
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #124 on: June 12, 2007, 12:04:10 pm »
Quote from: blurymind
kde app :  --prefix=/opt/kde
gnome app:  --with-included-gettext
games: --prefix=/usr/games

The thing is that the --with-included-gettext option is NOT only for GNOME. Its valid for just about all GTK apps, including Xfce for example.
And like I said before, using it on non-gtk apps doesn't seem to create any disturbances in the build process, so there should be no problems having it as a default.

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #125 on: June 12, 2007, 12:08:23 pm »
Ok... I feel like i'm outnumbered here, so I'll add it on as default for the next release...

caitlyn

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2921
    • The Linux Works
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #126 on: June 12, 2007, 12:15:18 pm »
Quote
The thing is that the --with-included-gettext option is NOT only for GNOME. Its valid for just about all GTK apps, including Xfce for example.

Even some non-gtk apps use it now.

Quote
And like I said before, using it on non-gtk apps doesn't seem to create any disturbances in the build process,

I have had it cause the configure script to fail exactly once.  I don't remember what I was building at the time but it can happen in rare cases. 

Quote
so there should be no problems having it as a default.

You're mostly right but it's not quite 100% which is why I suggested a separate option. So long as, in the rare case where it does cause a problem, the user can disable it within vpackager (i.e.: using custom build options) then I agree it shouldn't be an issue.

I realize this may be seen as taking a devil's advocate position as I am the one who is so all fired up about having it, but... I do want Moe-lnx to have all the facts, not just a bunch of us shouting at him :)

Thanks,
Cait
eMachines EL-1300G desktop, 1.6GHz AMD Athlon 2650e CPU, 4GB RAM, nVidia GeForce 6150 SE video
VL64 7.1

Toshiba Satellite A135-S4727,  Intel Pentium T2080 / 1.73 GHz, 2GB RAM, Intel GMA 950

HP Mini 110 netbook, 1.6GHz Intel Atom CPU, 2GB RAM, Intel 950 video, VL 7.1

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #127 on: June 12, 2007, 12:25:31 pm »
At the end of the day, this is always good for development...

Of course, it's impossible to get all the functions implemented in one shot, so bare with me.


easuter

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2160
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #128 on: June 12, 2007, 04:41:33 pm »
Oh! just one more :P:

--mandir=/usr/man

That is the Slackware prefix for all manpages. Debian and others use /usr/share/man, which is normally what the configure scripts use by default...

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #129 on: June 12, 2007, 05:59:20 pm »
Quote from: blurymind
feature request idea:
option to Send to tray while its compiling.

I don't think thats possible with Gambas 1.0.x
No, it is possible in Gambas 2, but was buggy last time I tried it$.
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #130 on: June 13, 2007, 01:30:14 am »
ok,but is it possible that the packager could disable --with-included-gettext when the build fails...vpackager should give 100% control over the user. Maybe at its settings window have enable/disable recomended configure options.... with something written when you move the cursor over it "( [ --with-included-gettext  --mandir=/usr/man ] this should be enabled by default. If you get an error message that has to do with it at configure,disable it"
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/

M0E-lnx

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 3499
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #131 on: June 13, 2007, 05:47:46 am »
IMO, that would be a little too much. Let's not forget that not all apps will build with this anyway, so I think it should include only a couple of building profiles, anything after that, or a re-attempt can be done using the "custom" option.

EDIT:
Just uploaded 1.0beta4
New features include:
+ Package editor
+ Stand-alone slack-desc writer
+ Settings panel.
The mentioned bugs have been squashed.

Test away
« Last Edit: June 13, 2007, 12:09:50 pm by M0E-lnx »

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #132 on: June 14, 2007, 05:02:06 am »
very good ...

I like the package editor.there are some bugs to squash and some other things to iron out.

Bug report:
Package editor- when i click on "edit slack-desc" i get
Code: [Select]
sh: /usr/bin/medit: No such file or directory
I like the browse contents button.

The "done" button should say "repackage" or something like that..
The exit button should be clickable even before a package has been selected.
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2504
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #133 on: June 14, 2007, 05:12:56 am »
M0E-lnx: why not just cook up your own simple editor in Gambas, there are examples and such around. That way you can preset a fixed-width font to make things easier with slack-desc.

EDIT: Plus you can be sure it will always be there... ;)
« Last Edit: June 14, 2007, 05:14:40 am by Joe1962 »
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

blurymind

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1082
Re: Package builder utility
« Reply #134 on: June 14, 2007, 05:18:52 am »
M0E-lnx: why not just cook up your own simple editor in Gambas, there are examples and such around. That way you can preset a fixed-width font to make things easier with slack-desc.

EDIT: Plus you can be sure it will always be there... ;)
is it possible to use the one that vpackager already has (slack-desk editor)? I think it does its job very well. Plus if you think of writing a new editor,why not make a *.desktop editor?
status: playing around with new tablet and learning to 3d :p
google page :  http://blurymind.googlepages.com
DA PAGE :  http://www.blurymind.deviantart.com/