VectorLinux
September 22, 2014, 09:51:02 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
  Print  
Author Topic: 070410 - GNOME 2.18.0  (Read 29705 times)
Freeman
Tester
Vectorite
****
Posts: 323


Choice to the user!


« Reply #30 on: April 15, 2007, 09:58:52 am »

If I do so, all my settings will be lost 'again'. And I just had it all set up like is wanted it. So maybe I just stick with this setup and when RC3 is released I'll get back on to you, to let you know if it still happens with the newest SOHO or not. I hate it to start 5 times all over again in one day.  Cool Later on, more news.. For now: I rest my case  Grin
Logged

It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #31 on: April 16, 2007, 01:50:09 am »

I got my last gnome for VL-5.8 from freerock gnome. It was gnome-2.14 and gave no problems. Are they still in  the game? There was no 2.16 much less a 2.18.
Dropline-gnome as well has not come up with 2.18 yet.
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #32 on: April 16, 2007, 03:44:02 am »

I think Dropline has their 2.18 GNOME partilly built and in testing, so I guess this is the first functional GNOME 2.18 to roll out that works for VL  Grin

I'm not sure about Freerock's vitality, their page has no indication of updates or a roadmap for that matter.
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #33 on: April 18, 2007, 12:34:13 am »

BTW,

Nautilus (the file manager) kind of sucks in its default settings. If you want it to look and act more like Thunar, then run gconf-editor and navigate to apps > nautilus > preferences and click on the always_use_browser checkbox. That should make it more usable

Logged

Blaster
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #34 on: April 18, 2007, 04:06:27 am »

Hi Easuter, Freeman and other forum users,

I'm using Vectorlinux 5.8 Soho RC2. I'm connected using a wireless network which works flawlessly.

I'm having a problem installing gnomemeta. I've added the sources mentioned in your first post to the sources list of Gslapt. After updating the package list and marking gnomemeta for install, Gslapt gives the error: 'Packages failed to download'.
When using slapt-get in the console, I get the following error:
Code:
Get ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/extra/ dbus-glib 0.72-i586-4vl58 [0kB]...Done
Download of dbus-glib incomplete

It seems like the package dbus-glib 0.72-i586-4vl58 can't be found on the server.
I've already tried to clean the package list and using another mirror but the problem remains.

Following sources are added tot the sources list in Gslapt:
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/testing/
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/patches/
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/packages/
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/extra/

Thanks for any help!
Logged
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« Reply #35 on: April 18, 2007, 08:48:29 am »

---snip---
I'm having a problem installing gnomemeta. I've added the sources mentioned in your first post to the sources list of Gslapt. After updating the package list and marking gnomemeta for install, Gslapt gives the error: 'Packages failed to download'.
When using slapt-get in the console, I get the following error:
Code:
Get ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/extra/ dbus-glib 0.72-i586-4vl58 [0kB]...Done
Download of dbus-glib incomplete

It seems like the package dbus-glib 0.72-i586-4vl58 can't be found on the server.
I've already tried to clean the package list and using another mirror but the problem remains.

Following sources are added tot the sources list in Gslapt:
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/testing/
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/patches/
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/packages/
http://ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/extra/

Thanks for any help!


The dbus-glib package is most definitely on our main server. It's also on the University of Utah mirror. Here are direct download links to the file:

http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.8/extra/base/dbus-glib-0.72-i586-4vl58.tlz
http://vectorlinux.cs.utah.edu/veclinux-5.8/extra/base/dbus-glib-0.72-i586-4vl58.tlz

To get back to your problem, it's entirely possible that you'll need to clean out the package lists the manual way. They are hidden files in the /home/ftp/pub/veclinux directory (or somewhere under veclinux), IIRC. To find them type ls -al | grep .# at the prompt.

Once you've cleaned the cruft, try slapt-get --update again to get the latest repo list.

HTH,
John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
Blaster
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #36 on: April 18, 2007, 09:39:58 am »

Thanks for your help John,

I've added the Utah-server to my sources list and manually removed the package directory but this doesn't solve the problem...

Code:
Get ftp://ftp-osl.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/testing/ glitz 0.5.6-i586-5vl58 [117kB]...Done
Get http://vectorlinux.cs.utah.edu/veclinux-5.8/extra/ dbus-glib 0.72-i586-4vl58 [0kB]...Done
Download of dbus-glib incomplete

Slapt-get only refers to the map '/extra' and not the map 'extra/base' is this normal?
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #37 on: April 18, 2007, 10:14:55 am »

It looks like all of the .meta files are borked in the extra repository - at least all meta files that were updated on 4/11.  They all indicate a compressed size of 0kb on utah and official repos.
« Last Edit: April 18, 2007, 10:17:22 am by newtor » Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #38 on: April 18, 2007, 12:31:30 pm »

That is definitely weird...
I'm on it, so it should be fixed real soon.  Smiley

Thanks for the heads up!
« Last Edit: April 18, 2007, 12:33:18 pm by easuter » Logged

Blaster
Member
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #39 on: April 18, 2007, 01:06:17 pm »

Thanks for solving the problem Easuter !!

Everything is downloading fine now...


Greetz,


Blaster
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #40 on: April 18, 2007, 08:24:59 pm »

VL-5.8-Gold

Installed gnome-2.18. Now vasm does not show any more gnome as a choice for window manager, it did with gnome-2.14 from free rock. gnome-2.18 packages has no gdm. Got one but will not install looking for some library. Using freerock gdm and it works.
Gnome-panel can not find some applets such as weather or keyboard switcher.

From console giving "startx gnome-session" gives a mess and crashes once terminal which shows up is clicked.

Possitive, gthumb does not crash anymore when trying to go full screen or slide show.

Claws-Mail (sylpheed-claws) had to be recompiled to start again due to new, forgot what.

Regards
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #41 on: April 19, 2007, 09:59:13 am »

Quote from: Pita
Now vasm does not show any more gnome as a choice for window manager

GNOME won't appear in VASM because it doesn't have an xinitrc. And frankly it doesn't really need one since KDM does a great job detecting GNOME and adding it to the session list automatically.
Had WDM been shipped with VL 5.8 then yes, an xinitrc would be necessary.
I'm pretty sure that Freerock had its own xinitrc though.

Quote from: Pita
From console giving "startx gnome-session" gives a mess and crashes once terminal which shows up is clicked.

I may be wrong, but IIRC you should use xinit gnome-session instead?
Not sure though.

Quote from: Pita
gnome-2.18 packages has no gdm

I don't have any plans for a GDM package atm. IMO it sucks big-time compared to KDM and hasn't been able to start any sessions properly with only default configuration.
I may add it in the future, but I probably won't add it to the default GNOME installation.

Quote from: Pita
Claws-Mail (sylpheed-claws) had to be recompiled to start again due to new, forgot what.

Sylpheed isn't part of GNOME, but yes, it does need to be rebuilt.

Quote from: Pita
Gnome-panel can not find some applets such as weather or keyboard switcher.

I haven't tested all the applets personally, so thanks for that info, I'll look into it  Smiley
Logged

Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #42 on: April 19, 2007, 11:13:58 pm »

Since I don't use ?dms normally I did not know that there is kdm. I agree a great piece especially that one can leave it and go on a console startup. xdm and gdm are obnoxiously sticky and I have to give a kill command to get rid of them.

xinit or xinit gnome-session brings up my choosen window manager fluxbox.

BTW where can I edit the icons of gnome window desktop, like the one of xfce4 under ~/Desktop?

Regards
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #43 on: April 20, 2007, 01:11:50 am »

 
Quote from: Pita
BTW where can I edit the icons of gnome window desktop, like the one of xfce4 under ~/Desktop?

You will need to use the gconf-editor
You can just run it in a terminal if you want (as a regular user!) or select it from the programs menu.
Then navigate to apps > nautilus > desktop and modify the options as you see fit.

Ahhh....GConf is showing its ugly head already  Roll Eyes
Logged

Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1310


« Reply #44 on: April 20, 2007, 06:35:57 pm »



xinit or xinit gnome-session brings up my choosen window manager fluxbox.

Just found the command has to be "xinit /usr/bin/gnome-session" to bring up gnome.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!