VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 02:12:04 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
  Print  
Author Topic: 070410 - GNOME 2.18.0  (Read 30164 times)
Klinggon22
Member
*
Posts: 10



« Reply #60 on: June 06, 2007, 11:58:39 am »

Ok I am new to vl and trying to find out how do i enable the testing repository as well as the patches repository

in slapt-get??
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #61 on: June 06, 2007, 12:13:01 pm »

@ easuter: Yes, it only happens on a VNC session. My guess is that it's a conflict between Vino and TightVNC

I'm not sure it's setting it to any kind of layout, it's just really messed up

for example, when I hit the keys "test" on my keyboard, the screen shows "ngbn". and FWIW, the Vino VNC doesn't work...

And the keyboard settings on the system menu should work, (it defaults to a 105 key US keyboard (with win keys)). Changing that to a different keybd doesn't work either
« Last Edit: June 06, 2007, 12:25:59 pm by M0E-lnx » Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #62 on: June 06, 2007, 12:25:35 pm »

Quote
for example, when I hit the keys "test" on my keyboard, the screen shows "ngbn".

I see.... Shocked

AFAIK, Vino is a VNC server designed to fit into GNOME, for example: http://swik.net/vino

Try removing the package and see if that fixes anything.
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #63 on: June 06, 2007, 12:28:08 pm »

Ok I am new to vl and trying to find out how do i enable the testing repository as well as the patches repository

in slapt-get??

Open /etc/slapt-get/slapt-getrc as root in a terminal, and then add these lines to the end of the file:

Code:
SOURCE=ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/testing/
SOURCE=ftp://ftp.osuosl.org/pub/vectorlinux/veclinux-5.8/patches/

Save the file, and then refresh the package list, using GSlapt if you prefer. After that search for the package called gnomemeta and install it.
Logged

Klinggon22
Member
*
Posts: 10



« Reply #64 on: June 06, 2007, 12:36:07 pm »

Thanks alot for the quick reply "easuter" it is much appreciated..
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #65 on: June 06, 2007, 03:42:04 pm »

Moe, the problem you are experiencing is a bug in Vino. I'm trying to determine if this bug has been fixed with the latest release (2.18.1) because there is no mention of it in the changelog.

I'll have a fixed package at the latest by tomorrow morning.

This is the official bug report if your interested:

http://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=440429
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #66 on: June 06, 2007, 06:31:55 pm »

The Vino 2.18.1 package is in the testing repo. I had to patch the sources anyway because this problem was still not fixed in the new release

Source: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.8/source/testing/gnome/vino/
Package: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/veclinux-5.8/testing/gnome/vino-2.18.1-i586-1vl58.tlz

You will need to grab the new Vino package with slapt-get since it also requires a gnutls upgrade from the repo.

Let me know if it works so I can move it to to the extra/ repository!  Smiley
« Last Edit: June 07, 2007, 04:58:43 am by easuter » Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #67 on: June 07, 2007, 04:34:37 am »

I've upgraded the vino package and it's deps, but the bug is still there...
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #68 on: June 07, 2007, 04:58:23 am »

I've upgraded the vino package and it's deps, but the bug is still there...


In that case I'll have to get in touch with some of the GNOME devs on the mailing lists....
Logged

kazuya
Vectorite
***
Posts: 104


« Reply #69 on: June 07, 2007, 05:17:24 am »

wonderful add-on. Loving it.
Logged
easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #70 on: June 07, 2007, 09:57:19 am »

Moe, can you tell me what are the contents of your ~/.vnc directory please. There may be a workaround for this that doesn't require more package rebuilding/patching.
Logged

M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3185



« Reply #71 on: June 07, 2007, 10:00:36 am »

Code:
moe:$ ls -al ~/.vnc
drwx------  2 moe moe 4096 2007-06-07 08:45 ./
drwxr-xr-x 44 moe moe 4096 2007-06-07 11:20 ../
-rw-r--r--  1 moe moe 3443 2007-06-07 11:20 Dynamite7:1.log
-rw-r--r--  1 moe moe    6 2007-06-07 08:45 Dynamite7:1.pid
-rw-r--r--  1 moe moe  901 2007-06-04 09:25 Dynamite7:3.log
-rw-------  1 moe moe    8 2007-06-01 07:49 passwd
-rwxr-xr-x  1 moe moe  124 2007-06-01 07:49 xstartup*
Quote
moe:$ cat ~/.vnc/xstartup
#!/bin/sh

xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
twm &
Logged

easuter
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2160



« Reply #72 on: June 11, 2007, 07:38:50 am »

Caitlyn reported that the GNOME upgrades (like GTK and PyGTK) are causing breakages in python related apps, like Wifi-Radar (an possible Exaile too):

http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=3299.msg20513#msg20513

Could those who use GNOME please test Wifi-Radar and see if its working?
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!