VectorLinux
January 27, 2015, 10:11:58 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL7.1 STD feedback and suggestions.  (Read 16788 times)
pekka
Member
*
Posts: 2


« Reply #135 on: December 28, 2014, 07:45:02 am »

Hi
I was sent here by the guys at #vectorlinux channel in  freenode.
I've tested VL64-7.1-STD-RC3.1, and have some feedback about the text-installer.
The installation utilized an USB-flash pen, a desktop pc with a BIOS, and a new server with UEFI.

1) UEFI:
When trying to install VL on a system with new UEFI the installer get dropped to a root shell, see attached picture.
Ctrl-Alt-F1/F2/F3 gave 3 root shells, but no installer.  I dont know if it is the intention to have 3 virtual consoles in the installer. Never the less, I did like the idea. The availability of virtual consoles is a good thing. They are power tools for experienced users who do not need an X-session. But what is the command to start the installer from a root shell?
In the end I did overcome the UEFI install issue by installing VL on my desktop pc which have a BIOS, and then put the disk back in the server. VL did then boot without problems on the server.

2) BIOS:
With the BIOS, the installer start the installation process without any problem. The installer apparently run on the first virtual console. When testing the other 2 consoles, Ctrl-Alt-F2 and Ctrl-Alt-F3, I get 2 additional text-install processes. However the root shells are available by using the "back" button in the first page of the text-installer. I think there should be some information about the availability of 2 additional consoles in the text in the first page. Root consoles are a very useful feature for power users.

3) SSD:
The desktop pc is using a SSD as a system disk,  and the disk is set up for multibooting. That imply VectorLinux will share the SSD with other operating systems. However, I use GUID Partition Table (GPT), which is a better choice for for a SSD. The text-installer come with standard cfdisk (linux fdisk) as partition tool. Unfortunately cfdisk lack support for GPT. I think VectorLinux should add support for GPT, at least in the 64-bit version which I assume will also be used on newer hardware. A good tool, which operate in the same way as linux fdisk is GPT fdisk, http://sourceforge.net/projects/gptfdisk/
It would be nice if GPT fdisk was availale as an option in the "Disk Partition" page.

4) Installing on RAID? - Some additional thoughts:
I did the test on quite new hardware, but sometimes I do install VL on old hardware. In my eyes, given the fact that VectorLinux run well on old hardware, and has a slower release cycle than compareable distros, make Vectorlinux a very good choice for a server OS. Old desktop pc's can get a second life as servers, and I avoid reinstall too often. However, running a server on old HW is a risk. Sooner or later the HW will fail. If I reuse old HW this way, I always use raid arrays. Mirrored raid give an extra layer of security when old mechanical disks fail. And they do fail.
The linux kernel do autodetect raid arrays, and raid arrays were available as an install option in the text-installer. However, when I did install VL on a mirrored raid array (md126), VL did fail to boot. LILO boot loader did show an option to boot md126, but booting md126 gave a kernel panic. Both LILO and GRUB2 can be configured to boot an OS installed on a raid array, and some distros offer this option "out of the box" in the installer. However, with slackware you need to chroot, do a mkinitrd and make sure the necessary kernel modules are loaded, configure and reinstall bootloader from the chroot environment, etc. This kind of hacking take time.

I think a working "out of the box" option to "install VL on raid" in the text-installer would be a great feature. This feature will save users a lot of time and kernel-woodoo. And if I don't remember wrong, with this feature VectroLinux will be the only Slack-based distro, and maybe one of the few non-systemd distros, which have this feature working "out of the box" in the installer. Maybe a feature worth considering for VectorLinux.

###
« Last Edit: December 29, 2014, 10:15:46 am by pekka » Logged

systemd refugee
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 561


move the needle


« Reply #136 on: December 28, 2014, 10:38:16 am »

Thank you for your thoughts, pekka. I know it helps a lot to have a fresh take on install from someone who can express it so well.

UEFI and easier access to GPT were discussed, but the time that would have been spent on them had to be skipped to get this already late release out the door. GPT is available in the shell at install time: parted. I'm used to trying fdisk first, then cfdisk. Being used to those, I look at parted differently as I think you do. But I tried to put new eyes on and took another look. Since the word "help" is indeed a working command, I begin to think parted might be the best choice for those who haven't partitioned from the command line before; and not at all hard for previous users of other tools to pick up. But yes, a tip to its availability at the right point would be nice. UEFI and easier access to GPT will surely be handled in later releases.

Which brings me to one of my own questions: Does the gui installer already handle GPT if the table is already present? I have no way to check.

I have no doubt that VL releases will come to handle GPT and UEFI as automatically as is possible, just not this time.

RAID brings up another question from me: Wasn't VL set up to install to RAID at one time?
(not that i'd have anything to do with its absence)

Can't click "Post" without saying thank you once again, pekka.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2014, 10:43:58 am by roarde » Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC3.1, icewmvmods
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1435



« Reply #137 on: December 28, 2014, 11:23:16 am »

Don't know much about this complicated discussion.  But I loaded VL64-7.1-STD-RC3.1 on my samsung rf511, via unetbootin, and had no problems. The onboard wifi card worked out of the box.  Great distro!  I didn't reformat home and all my files are there.  There was a file missing when I loaded libreoffice and lyx doesn't work yet.  I will look into that as time permits.

John 
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386



« Reply #138 on: December 28, 2014, 11:47:45 am »

Thanks for the link, nightflier.  Sorry for my abbreviation - I was installing rc3.1.
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 561


move the needle


« Reply #139 on: December 28, 2014, 12:20:55 pm »

@StrayBit:
Sorry if I didn't catch you before a reinstall. I suggest using the bootsplash as you apparently had been doing, I'm pretty sure any difference between using splash and not has been repaired. But if it hasn't, the difference would favor bootsplash and the initrd it uses.
Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC3.1, icewmvmods
StrayBit
Vectorite
***
Posts: 386



« Reply #140 on: December 28, 2014, 04:29:01 pm »

Using 7.0-LIVE, I copied the 7.1-rc3.1.iso and mdsum....txt from Win7 to my iso partition where I could check it  - it matched.
Ran the memtest from the LIVE cd - 1014M passed with no errors.
What can I do to get it to accept my passwords?  I haven't reinstalled yet but I could to allow the animation.

Also, since installing SW14.1 and 7.1-RC3.1, I get a message that my battery is low and have to press F1 to continue!  This is a tower - no battery.  Booting to cd does not give that message.  Nor did previous installations.

Presently, I have to use the cd to boot into 7.0.  I hate those USID labels!  And live desktop does NOT tell me what the various partitions are just their size!  (That's when I didn't catch it to mount them at startup.)
Logged

Dell GX280: [7.0-Gold-Final], 6.0-Gold-Final, 5.9-Gold
HP 670 Win7 & VL7.0
roarde
Vectorian
****
Posts: 561


move the needle


« Reply #141 on: December 28, 2014, 04:42:01 pm »

See if reformatting swap (again as swap) helps. This will have the unwanted side effect of changing its UUID. Allow for that. I'd reference it by /dev/ for right now.
« Last Edit: December 28, 2014, 04:50:14 pm by roarde » Logged

Robert
VL STD 7.1 RC3.1, icewmvmods
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4050



« Reply #142 on: December 29, 2014, 03:57:24 am »

Also, since installing SW14.1 and 7.1-RC3.1, I get a message that my battery is low and have to press F1 to continue!  This is a tower - no battery.  Booting to cd does not give that message.  Nor did previous installations.

That is referencing the bios battery on your motherboard. It is usually the size of a coin and snaps in/out of a spring loaded holder. It is there to maintain your bios settings when grid power is not available.
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1271



« Reply #143 on: December 29, 2014, 04:04:27 am »



That is referencing the bios battery on your motherboard. It is usually the size of a coin and snaps in/out of a spring loaded holder. It is there to maintain your bios settings when grid power is not available.

Hopefully. I've had a motherboard or two where that sucker was soldered onto it and there was no easy way to replace it. >.<
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4050



« Reply #144 on: December 29, 2014, 04:28:54 am »

Presently, I have to use the cd to boot into 7.0.  I hate those USID labels!  And live desktop does NOT tell me what the various partitions are just their size!  (That's when I didn't catch it to mount them at startup.)

If the command "blkid" does not give you the info, try "ls -al /dev/disk/by-uuid"
Logged
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1321


« Reply #145 on: December 29, 2014, 05:24:10 pm »

VL-7.1-STD-RC3.1.iso  32bit  PC desktop

Gui installer hang on installing grip. Sad
Got out with menu reboot.

In /boot there was no vmlinuz-3.12.16. Sad
Copied sata over from from iso.
When booting there was no fstab in /etc Sad


This is surely the fault of a badly scratched DVD.  Embarrassed

So sorry.

Installed now with unetbootin and all went smooth.

However, can't find the password for root.
Logged
sledgehammer
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1435



« Reply #146 on: December 29, 2014, 06:00:31 pm »

Pita,

Not sure about 32 bit but on latest 64 bit GUI installer asks for administrative password on same page as user password, one line down or above.  If you put in administrative password at that point, use it as your root password.

John
Logged

VL7.0 xfce4 Samsung RF511
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1321


« Reply #147 on: December 30, 2014, 04:56:26 pm »

Pita,

Not sure about 32 bit but on latest 64 bit GUI installer asks for administrative password on same page as user password, one line down or above.  If you put in administrative password at that point, use it as your root password.

John

I must have missed that. Will check again.
Solved by making me sudo then make root PW.

Healthy & Happy New Year
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!