VectorLinux
August 01, 2014, 05:36:44 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
Author Topic: VL-5.8-SOHO-RC3 Bugs/annoyances  (Read 27195 times)
glas
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #30 on: May 06, 2007, 02:06:21 am »

I downloaded and installed 5.8 SOHO RC3 today and so far so good except ... none of the browsers are able to play streaming video from my main news channel http://www.russiatoday.ru/test/ 

Usually Firefox has no problem with this using its MPlayer plugin.

Both SeaMonkey and Firefox try to start up but then choke. Opera won't even touch it. And Konqueror gives me a choice of tools, none of which work with this stream.

Could this be a software conflict problem? (I'm no developer).
Logged
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« Reply #31 on: May 06, 2007, 08:51:10 pm »

I downloaded and installed 5.8 SOHO RC3 today and so far so good except ... none of the browsers are able to play streaming video from my main news channel http://www.russiatoday.ru/test/ 

Usually Firefox has no problem with this using its MPlayer plugin.

Both SeaMonkey and Firefox try to start up but then choke. Opera won't even touch it. And Konqueror gives me a choice of tools, none of which work with this stream.

Could this be a software conflict problem? (I'm no developer).

glas,

I merged your comments about SOHO 5.8 RC 3 with the bug report thread, since your post is more of an annoyance post than a kudo. ;-)

Cheers,
John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
Dweeberkitty
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 836



WWW
« Reply #32 on: May 07, 2007, 03:53:22 pm »

When is the final supposed to be ready? It looks pretty close to me.  Wink
Logged

Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #33 on: May 07, 2007, 05:13:21 pm »

When is the final supposed to be ready? It looks pretty close to me.  Wink

...when it's ready is the usual Slackware distro response!  Wink
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Dweeberkitty
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 836



WWW
« Reply #34 on: May 07, 2007, 05:49:58 pm »

When is the final supposed to be ready? It looks pretty close to me.  Wink

...when it's ready is the usual Slackware distro response!  Wink

Well...Duh! I kind of figured that. Kind of hoping for a projected date though. I have some clients who are getting anxious to have their computers setup but I don't want to put an old release on their computer and then have to update.
Logged

Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #35 on: May 07, 2007, 06:43:35 pm »

Tell them we don't work on an upgrade treadmill basis. Smiley
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #36 on: May 07, 2007, 07:01:29 pm »

I would say Any day now

Smiley

Logged
Sty
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 114


« Reply #37 on: May 07, 2007, 07:03:48 pm »

Good evening fellow Vectorites,

I must say, it has been a while; just no time to play these days. Sad

I'm loving the way SOHO is shaping up.  I really love the new icon, kudos to whomever the designer is.

I do have a few little things I've run into with the limited time I've been testing it:

1) When you choose GRUB as a boot loader, all future references point to LILO, especially the part about rebooting at the end.

2) When it's time to set the Time Zone, can we fix scroll indicator?  Right now it's pretty broken which makes it very confusing when you're trying to set your timezone.  I know I'm paging up for quite some time to get to US/Mountain and the whole time it's showing that I'm at the top of the choices.  Also, I haven't checked, but are the changes to US Daylights Savings Time in V5.8SOHO?

3) In setting the partitions for various folders, i.e. /home, /usr, /opt, etc. you may set a second hard drive to one except for the Windows/Linux mount.  I always get an error of no more partitions are available.

4) Perhaps instead of using the logo during the boot up going across we can use colored orbs?  Say going from Red to Green or something else that seems to show you are "charged and ready to go?"  My fear is that our beautiful icon will be overused and lose its value.

5) This is more of a personal observation than anything, and I mean no offense by it.  In my most humble opinion, the SeaMonkey icon looks like a merger of a "pregnant Firefox" with an anorexic Thunderbird.  In fact, I was scared to click it and see what I would get.  It made sense after I opened SeaMonkey, but it seemed like a bit of a wild card.

Great job everyone who is working on this excellent edition.  I only hope things will calm down so that I may play more.

On a side note, I saw the name thread and am lacking the time to contribute, but if I were to christen Vector 5.8 SOHO, it would be Vector Complete 5.8.  Simple, clean, accurate, what more could you ask for?

Best regards,
~Sty
Logged

* Enterprise *
Running Vector Linux 5.9 Deluxe
|| Intel Core2Duo E6600 | 4 GB DDR2 RAM | ATi Radeon X1900XT ||
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« Reply #38 on: May 07, 2007, 07:58:44 pm »

---snip---
2) When it's time to set the Time Zone, can we fix scroll indicator?  Right now it's pretty broken which makes it very confusing when you're trying to set your timezone.  I know I'm paging up for quite some time to get to US/Mountain and the whole time it's showing that I'm at the top of the choices.  Also, I haven't checked, but are the changes to US Daylights Savings Time in V5.8SOHO?
---snip---

Yes, VL 5.8 has the correct timezone information for the new US Daylight Saving Time law.

HTH,
John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #39 on: May 07, 2007, 08:01:39 pm »

Also instead of scrolling through all of the timezones Try just pressing the U key and it will take you there
Logged
saulgoode
Vectorite
***
Posts: 340



« Reply #40 on: May 07, 2007, 10:10:19 pm »

I have not installed RC3 but even so would wish to ask question. It is really just a curiosity and shouldn't be taken as a criticism:

Why 5.8?

Why is the fractional portion jumping from "1" to "8"? Were there internal minor versions which never were released?

Why "5" and not "6"? Under GNU versioning -- and other systems support a similar concept -- a bump in the major version is recommended when project changes affect its data/configuration files (for example, if the format of the GIMP's XCF were to change, a version bump from 2.x to 3.0 would be dictated). Under this criteria, it would seem the fact that 5.8 TLZ packages are not handled by 5.1 would recommend that they not share the same major version.

Logged

A complex system that works is invariably found to have evolved from a simple system that works.
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #41 on: May 08, 2007, 02:13:37 am »

It was simple, at least at that time. Not all the elements wanted for a major version change to 6.0 were in place, but we felt waiting for so long was not warranted, as we had a Dynamite pretty much ready.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
MikeCindi
Tester
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1071


« Reply #42 on: May 08, 2007, 04:01:03 am »

Noticed last night that I have no PCMCIA access on my laptop. Yenta is loaded...I've not actually tried to troubleshoot this yet just noted it when I put a flash disk in the slot. Past versions of SOHO and std have had support available "out of the box".
Logged

The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
VL64 7.1b3                                     RLU 486143
Yves Bellefeuille
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #43 on: May 08, 2007, 05:34:52 pm »

Here are various typing mistakes and typos during the installation. It should be fairly easy to locate where they appear; feel free to ask if anything is hard to locate.

- - -
To continue the install of VECTOR LINUX  -> To continue the installation

Welcome to the VECTOR LINUX Install -> installation

Keymap: change keymap to non US-layout -> non-US layout

es.bmap Espanol -> Spanish
(every other language name is in English)

INSTALL: Install Vector Linux into the harddisk -> onto

The basic install needs 2500 MB -> The basic installation

a vecterloper immediately pressed the [Enter] key while half a sleep -> half asleep

DONE: no more additional partition, thank's -> thanks

/tmp: small tmp may bost the speed -> boost

(On the list of developers) JohnVan (Forum Cheif) -> Chief

Otherwise, let it to localtime since most PCs are work this way  -> set it to localtime since most PCs work this way

Warning Warning
IF you get a black screen During the config test... -> If you get a black screen during the config test

... If you still get a Black screen when starting X, Then you will need to [text ends here] -> If you still get a black screen when starting X, then you will need to [and continue text]

Logged
Yves Bellefeuille
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #44 on: May 08, 2007, 06:12:26 pm »

I have problems with the ATI drivers.

On a system with an ATI Radeon 7000/VE (Radeon RV100 QY), the fglrx driver didn't work. The radeon and ati drivers worked.

On a system with an ATI Rage 128 Pro Ultra TF, the fglrx driver didn't work; the ati driver worked. I didn't try the radeon driver.

During the installation, X configuration fails with an unhelpful error messsage to check /etc/X11/xorg.conf. I would suggest a more specific error message to try the ati driver.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!