VectorLinux
October 25, 2014, 09:03:30 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
Author Topic: VL-5.8-SOHO-RC3 Bugs/annoyances  (Read 28132 times)
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #45 on: May 08, 2007, 06:57:44 pm »

To continue the install of VECTOR LINUX  -> To continue the installation

Welcome to the VECTOR LINUX Install -> installation

[snip]

INSTALL: Install Vector Linux into the harddisk -> onto

The basic install needs 2500 MB -> The basic installation


I think a cleanup of mistakes like those you found may be in the works, but I don't know how high on the priority list it is. I agree with everthing you've identified as a mistake except for "install" instead of "installation." In computer talk, "install" is often used as a noun. Granted, it's not grammatically correct, but it is part of informal speech/writing. The tone of the installation text is pretty breezy, so I don't think "install" is totally inappropriate.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
JohnB316
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1346


Registered Linux User #386728


« Reply #46 on: May 08, 2007, 07:49:44 pm »

I have problems with the ATI drivers.

On a system with an ATI Radeon 7000/VE (Radeon RV100 QY), the fglrx driver didn't work. The radeon and ati drivers worked.

On a system with an ATI Rage 128 Pro Ultra TF, the fglrx driver didn't work; the ati driver worked. I didn't try the radeon driver.

During the installation, X configuration fails with an unhelpful error messsage to check /etc/X11/xorg.conf. I would suggest a more specific error message to try the ati driver.


The version of the fglrx driver included on the VL 5.8 SOHO RC3 ISO doesn't support older Radeon cards. In fact, when I searched ATI's web site in replying to your post, I couldn't find any proprietary Linux drivers that would support your cards.

IIRC, we also included a warning that if the fglrx driver didn't work, you would need to boot VL into text mode and then run VASM to install either the radeon or ati driver.

HTH,
John
Logged

VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.
Yves Bellefeuille
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #47 on: May 10, 2007, 07:20:48 pm »


IIRC, we also included a warning that if the fglrx driver didn't work, you would need to boot VL into text mode and then run VASM to install either the radeon or ati driver.


I didn't see a message to try the radeon or ati driver. Perhaps it's supposed to be part of the message starting with "IF you get a black screen During the config test" about which I already posted.

I agree that a message to try the radeon or ati driver would be very useful.
Logged
Sty
Packager
Vectorite
****
Posts: 114


« Reply #48 on: May 10, 2007, 07:45:20 pm »

Good evening y'all,

I'm having trouble using glsapt.  Anytime I try to install packages, I fail to download them.  I assume it's a firewall problem, but I don't understand what it could be.

Second, I can't do anything with KMyFirewall.  I open it up and everything is grayed out and I can't edit or change rules or anything.  Anyone else having these problems?

Thanks,

~Sty

Edit: Downloads work fine in Firefox & SeaMonkey.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 07:49:01 pm by Sty » Logged

* Enterprise *
Running Vector Linux 5.9 Deluxe
|| Intel Core2Duo E6600 | 4 GB DDR2 RAM | ATi Radeon X1900XT ||
Dweeberkitty
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 836



WWW
« Reply #49 on: May 11, 2007, 07:55:36 am »

Hello, I've been testing this on some other boxes. So far the MOST annoying thing on all the boxes has been that second optical drives aren't detected. Every box I've tried RC3 on that has 2 drives only one of them is enabled in /etc/fstab.

I like to push things to their limits. So I scanned an 8x10 picture in at really high resolution. The file came out to be almost 17000x23000. It was a 360mb file. I tried opening it in showFoto which shows the splash screen and starts to load and then the splash screen disappears and the KDE crash handler shows up. Here's the backtrace:
Code:
(no debugging symbols found)
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/tls/libthread_db.so.1".
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread -1234884928 (LWP 3889)]
[New Thread -1237455952 (LWP 3891)]
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
(no debugging symbols found)
0xb6a01251 in __read_nocancel () from /lib/tls/libpthread.so.0
#0  0xb6a01251 in __read_nocancel () from /lib/tls/libpthread.so.0
#1  0xb6a7ed9e in _X11TransSocketRead () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#2  0xb6a7f0bf in _X11TransRead () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#3  0xb6a6098c in _XRead () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#4  0xb6a61c76 in _XReply () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#5  0xb6a5c2f4 in XSync () from /usr/X11R6/lib/libX11.so.6
#6  0xb6e96f20 in QApplication::syncX () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#7  0xb6ed227c in qt_wait_for_window_manager ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#8  0x08141315 in Digikam::ImageEditorPrintDialogPage::staticMetaObject ()
#9  0x0806ef3f in QValueList<KURL>::detachInternal ()
#10 0x0806e4ac in ?? ()
#11 0x081e2768 in ?? ()
#12 0x081e2768 in ?? ()
#13 0xbfe5cd70 in ?? ()
#14 0xbfe5cd80 in ?? ()
#15 0x081426b4 in typeinfo name for QGList ()
#16 0x00000001 in ?? ()
#17 0x08142548 in typeinfo name for QGList ()
#18 0x00000000 in ?? ()

Also I was having problems with K3B not detecting the cdwriter on another box. I had it enabled in /etc/fstab and it showed up in media:/ but K3B didn't recognize it. I tried refreshing the devices but it crashed. Here's the backtrace:
Code:
(no debugging symbols found)
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/tls/libthread_db.so.1".
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread -1235749184 (LWP 7763)]
[New Thread -1246848080 (LWP 7913)]
[KCrash handler]
#5  0x080910e6 in KDirOperator::close ()
#6  0x08093ee5 in KDirOperator::close ()
#7  0x08095517 in KDirOperator::close ()
#8  0xb6deacaa in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#9  0x080d62ca in QFile::at ()
#10 0x080d632a in QFile::at ()
#11 0x0809517e in KDirOperator::close ()
#12 0x080954eb in KDirOperator::close ()
#13 0xb6deacaa in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#14 0xb7e6ea6d in K3bDevice::DeviceManager::changed ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libk3bdevice.so.5
#15 0xb7e7056c in K3bDevice::DeviceManager::addDevice ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libk3bdevice.so.5
#16 0xb7e70a9e in K3bDevice::DeviceManager::addDevice ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libk3bdevice.so.5
#17 0xb7e6ff24 in K3bDevice::DeviceManager::LinuxDeviceScan ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libk3bdevice.so.5
#18 0xb7e7046b in K3bDevice::DeviceManager::scanBus ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libk3bdevice.so.5
#19 0x080f65e7 in K3bOptionDialog::staticMetaObject ()
#20 0x080f68b8 in K3bDeviceOptionTab::staticMetaObject ()
#21 0xb6dead24 in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#22 0xb6deb4bc in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#23 0x080fa1b9 in K3bDeviceWidget::staticMetaObject ()
#24 0x080fa218 in K3bDeviceWidget::staticMetaObject ()
#25 0xb6dead9c in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#26 0xb6deb4bc in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#27 0xb713357c in QButton::clicked () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#28 0xb6e84801 in QButton::mouseReleaseEvent ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#29 0xb6e24a9c in QWidget::event () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#30 0xb6d8608f in QApplication::internalNotify ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#31 0xb6d862e6 in QApplication::notify () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#32 0xb73d5385 in KApplication::notify () from /opt/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#33 0xb6d20b1b in QETWidget::translateMouseEvent ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#34 0xb6d1ef8a in QApplication::x11ProcessEvent ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#35 0xb6d32515 in QEventLoop::processEvents ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#36 0xb6d9c8b1 in QEventLoop::enterLoop () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#37 0xb6d850cf in QApplication::enter_loop ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#38 0xb6f84012 in QDialog::exec () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#39 0x080a28fe in QValueList<int>::detachInternal ()
#40 0x080a435a in QValueList<int>::detachInternal ()
#41 0xb6dead24 in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#42 0xb6deb4bc in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#43 0xb76c7809 in KAction::activated () from /opt/kde/lib/libkdeui.so.4
#44 0xb76c826a in KAction::slotActivated () from /opt/kde/lib/libkdeui.so.4
#45 0xb76ccaf9 in KAction::slotPopupActivated ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libkdeui.so.4
#46 0xb76ccd05 in KAction::qt_invoke () from /opt/kde/lib/libkdeui.so.4
#47 0xb6dead24 in QObject::activate_signal ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#48 0xb712bc7d in QSignal::signal () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#49 0xb6e05781 in QSignal::activate () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#50 0xb6efddd7 in QPopupMenu::mouseReleaseEvent ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#51 0xb76b7561 in KPopupMenu::mouseReleaseEvent ()
   from /opt/kde/lib/libkdeui.so.4
#52 0xb6e24a9c in QWidget::event () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#53 0xb6d8608f in QApplication::internalNotify ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#54 0xb6d862e6 in QApplication::notify () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#55 0xb73d5385 in KApplication::notify () from /opt/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#56 0xb6d20d8a in QETWidget::translateMouseEvent ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#57 0xb6d1ef8a in QApplication::x11ProcessEvent ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#58 0xb6d32515 in QEventLoop::processEvents ()
   from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#59 0xb6d9c8b1 in QEventLoop::enterLoop () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#60 0xb6d9c806 in QEventLoop::exec () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#61 0xb6d8509f in QApplication::exec () from /usr/lib/qt/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#62 0x080a4ceb in QPtrList<K3bPlugin>::deleteItem ()
#63 0xb65f3e14 in __libc_start_main () from /lib/tls/libc.so.6
#64 0x08087ca1 in ?? ()

I don't know if these backtraces are useful or not, but I figure that you can use all the information you can get. Let me know if any more info is needed.

Oh, I also tried RC3 on an old WinBook xli. The sound card wasn't detected and the mouse wasn't detected.
EDIT: The mouse was turned off in the bios
However suspending and standby works. Overall, it seems to be running acceptably smooth on the thing. It's a 300MHz with 128Mb Ram.

Well, that's all the problems for now. Let me know if any of it was useful.
~Dweeberkitty

« Last Edit: May 11, 2007, 06:36:54 pm by Dweeberkitty » Logged

Registered Linux User #443399
Desktop: Intel Pentium D 3.33Ghz, 320GB hard drive, 2 gigs DDR2 533mhz RAM, NVIDIA Geforce 7800 GS, X2GEN 22" widescreen monitor;
Laptop: Dell Mini 9, Intel Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB ram
Multimedia Bonus Disc website: http://www.vectorlinuxsolutions.com/
soren
Member
*
Posts: 12


« Reply #50 on: May 13, 2007, 02:54:19 am »

Hello friends.

I have just installed 5.8 SOHO RC3, and I am certain that this is the best VL release I have tried yet. Excellent job! So far everything has worked perfectly.

I did have a few minor problems during installation, and I wanted to mention them, even though it is likely that they are specific to my hardware and/or my lack of expertise.

1st issue: When the installer reached the part where it changes the keymap, an error would occur, with a message similar to: "Could not locate x11 keymaps". (I am not sure exactly what the message said, but it was something like that). The installation program reached a state where I could do nothing but quit the configuration, and after the reboot it reached the tui login screen. (Obviously many things, including X, didn't work, as the configuration never had reached those steps. No users created, no root password, etc...). I had to install everything again, and skip the step where it changes the keymap.

2nd issue: I was unable to boot the "linux2" kernel, as the boot program told me the kernel was not found. This could be intentional, but I haven't followed the development, and if the kernel isn't included, maybe the option shouldn't be listed?

3rd issue: When the installer starts installing packages, it tells the user that he "may leave for a moment". However, if I leave my computer alone with the installer, it reaches a screensaver-like state after a few minutes, and when I move the mouse or press shift to return to the program, it has halted, and there seems to be no way of continuing the process. I have to stay close to the computer, and push a key every now and then, to ensure that it doesn't halt. Minor problem, probably only happens on my hardware...

None of these problems can change the fact that this is a near perfect release. Everything looks great, and works great. And we all know how fast it is! You guys have done an amazing job, thanks a lot!
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #51 on: May 13, 2007, 04:54:13 am »

When creating a new user using VASM, I've noticed two things.

First, the usual default splash screen does not appear when logging in under the new user. Instead of the circles filling across the bottom of the screen, a box appears in the middle of the screen.

Second, the very first login seems to hang. Left it sitting for about 3 minutes before unplugging the machine and booting back up again. User is then able to log into the machine. But still without the default splash screen.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #52 on: May 13, 2007, 06:36:52 am »

retired1af: I am unable to duplicate such behaviour here on my machine. Creating a new user works fine and no strange things happen as you describe. Do you have a stock VL5.8RC3? Have you added any other window manager packages? Did you change any of the default groups for the new user when you created the user?
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #53 on: May 13, 2007, 06:51:59 am »

Oh boy, this is about as unstock as I can get it at this point. Cheesy

I've loaded E16 and IceWM on this machine as well. However, when the user was created, it was just a normal user, and I left the defaults alone when creating. I was also using KDE at the time as well.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #54 on: May 13, 2007, 07:51:52 am »

I've loaded E16 and IceWM on this machine as well.

It is difficult then, to do bug testing without a stock install as my first guess would be that loading the other WM's on that box has created some sort of inconsistency with the KDE login manager (KDM) - hence your strange behaviours.

Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1265



« Reply #55 on: May 13, 2007, 08:06:24 am »

Yeah, kinda figured that.. I'll do some digging and see what's different between the newest account, and the other accounts that were created during the installation.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
ekp
Member
*
Posts: 55


« Reply #56 on: May 15, 2007, 07:39:41 am »

I have not reposted for fear of repeating an old problem.  I suspect that users trying out RC3 are not as I do also try LiveCD's as well but then maybe it is only a problem for me.  When ever I try out a Live CD and then reboot into SOHO RC3 I have to reconfigure networking.  My device is detected and enabled but DHCP does not start at boot.  This as been a problem for me with all release candidates.  I am using a Lynksys ethernet card, with a cable modem on a LAN.  I hope this can be solved

Forgive me if it is only a problem for my system. 
Logged
glas
Member
*
Posts: 7


« Reply #57 on: May 19, 2007, 01:55:34 pm »

Hi all,

I've solved the problem with the mplayer plugin choking the video streams from news channels so I thought I'd share it.

Right click on the mplayer plugin page to bring up a list, select configure, select video output, choose x11 from the list, click ok, done deal - video streams flow as they were meant to.

Congratulations to the Vector team for a great Vector 5.8 SOHO final.
Logged
spadge63
Member
*
Posts: 2


What did I just step in?


« Reply #58 on: May 20, 2007, 07:28:38 pm »

There's a problem with my ATI  Radeon Xpress200m on my Toshiba laptop.  All three driver choices don't work for this card.  I'm new to Linux and this has me baffled.  The install on my desktop went well, but I don't have any sound.  I checked the settings on the Alsamixer switching the master from "00" to "MM" and back again. It looks like the sound card is configured.
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #59 on: May 20, 2007, 09:07:01 pm »

There's a problem with my ATI  Radeon Xpress200m on my Toshiba laptop.  All three driver choices don't work for this card.
I don't know but try this: http://www.ensode.net/ati_radeon_xpress_200m_linux.html
Quote
The install on my desktop went well, but I don't have any sound.
Run kmix, put a music CD in your CDROM drive, run KsCD and play the CD and keep playing with KMix until you get sound...
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!