VectorLinux
November 24, 2014, 08:10:29 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I install webcam?  (Read 36572 times)
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #15 on: May 06, 2007, 02:52:18 am »

I stop the firewall and in aMSN the same as before:

Type IP-Restrict-NAT
Listening false

You are firewalled or behind a router


when I press "change video settings" I get "Currently, no devices are installed"

 Undecided
« Last Edit: May 06, 2007, 09:56:57 pm by acous » Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #16 on: May 06, 2007, 07:39:33 am »

acous: Are you behind a hardware router?
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #17 on: May 06, 2007, 09:56:45 pm »

The Laptop is directly connected to a broadband modem. This modem has 5 connections for computers to connect to. Except the laptop another computer is connected to it.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #18 on: May 06, 2007, 11:08:22 pm »

At a time when you think that your device is installed check to see if you can find it's device.  I believe it should be: /dev/video0

If you cannot find the device you could try creating one.  Since I'm not a udev expert I can only provide an example to create the device I found through my searching:
Code:
mknod -m 644 /dev/video0 c 81 0

HTH
Logged
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2007, 11:48:46 pm »

I tried the command, and there is no difference, aMSN gives me the same errors as written earlier in his thread and spcagui says:

root:# spcagui
SpcaGui version: 0.3.5 date: 18 September 2005
video device /dev/video0
ERROR opening V4L interface
: No such device


should I give up?  Undecided
Logged
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2007, 11:52:36 pm »

i also tried video1, and it is the same.

When i tried the commands again, I get this:

root:# mknod -m 644 /dev/video1 c 81 1
mknod: `/dev/video1': File exists
vector://home/la
root:# spcagui
SpcaGui version: 0.3.5 date: 18 September 2005
video device /dev/video0
ERROR opening V4L interface
: No such device
vector://home/la
root:# mknod -m 644 /dev/video0 c 81 0
mknod: `/dev/video0': File exists


so the files exist now, whatever that means  Huh

Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #21 on: May 08, 2007, 08:01:44 am »

Well, the error message has changed.  It's indicating 'no such device' rather than 'no such file or directory'.  Gonna have another look around considering the new circumstances.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #22 on: May 08, 2007, 10:30:00 am »

I notice that the Amitech AWK-300 is support and reported working using the following driver: http://alpha.dyndns.org/ov511/
I would read through that page and see if you can figure out how to use that driver rather than the spc5xxx driver that's currently being used.

Maybe someone with better knowledge on these sorts of things can help you out??
Logged
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #23 on: May 08, 2007, 11:13:45 am »

First, thanks a lot for helping me! Appreciate it!  Cheesy

I also found that driver for awk-300, I sent him a mail and asked if he thought it supported awk-310, no answer in a week now.
Installing this driver I must try.

I just wonder, how do i see if a driver is installed? Because it seems as the driver is installed when I compare to the tutorial on how to install the awk-300.

But really I dont know what the different lsmod etc commands show. So how do I know if a driver is installed?
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #24 on: May 08, 2007, 11:27:27 am »

Quote
root:# mknod -m 644 /dev/video1 c 81 1
mknod: `/dev/video1': File exists

I am not an expert, but I note this output and I think: Why there is a video1 dev already?
May be it is your videocam, just a thougth
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #25 on: May 08, 2007, 12:50:00 pm »

no i created this one also, just like video0
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #26 on: May 08, 2007, 08:25:05 pm »

You can find out what a command does by typing 'man <name_of_command>' in the terminal.  For instance, typing 'man lsmod' comes back with this description:
Code:
NAME
       lsmod -- program to show the status of modules in the Linux Kernel

SYNOPSIS
       lsmod

DESCRIPTION
       lsmod  is  a  trivial  program which nicely formats the contents of the
       /proc/modules, showing what kernel modules are currently loaded.

BACKWARDS COMPATIBILITY
       This version of lsmod is for kernels 2.5.48 and above.  If it detects a
       kernel  with  support  for  old-style  modules,  it will attempt to run
       lsmod.old in its place, so it is completely transparent to the user.

COPYRIGHT
       This manual page Copyright 2002, Rusty Russell, IBM Corporation.

SEE ALSO
       modprobe(8), lsmod.old(8)

Based on the description, this command show which kernel modules are currently loaded on your system.  Now, whether or not this is the _correct_ module is a different story Cheesy .  I'd imagine/assume that (just like in windows) you can accidentally load the incorrect module/driver for a device and it will not operate correctly.

I feel like this thread should be moved to the hardware/drivers forum since it sure seems to be more specific to that department, and PERHAPS it would attract the attention of some folks that have more knowledge in this department.  Hopefully a moderator stops by and will move this over. Grin
« Last Edit: May 08, 2007, 08:26:53 pm by newtor » Logged
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #27 on: May 12, 2007, 11:15:03 am »

didnt manage to install the driver i think,  Huh

anyone knows what to do?

Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #28 on: May 12, 2007, 01:55:41 pm »

Please tell us the full name of the driver file so we know what type of file it is and then we might be able to tell you how to install it. (The thing is that some Linux drivers are shell scripts, others need compiling and others are a special package file...).
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
acous
Member
*
Posts: 78


« Reply #29 on: May 13, 2007, 11:22:02 am »

the file name is: ov511-2.32.tar.bz2

and can be found here: http://alpha.dyndns.org/ov511/download.html

thanks for helping!
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!