VectorLinux
November 28, 2014, 10:46:56 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I set up auto login?  (Read 16689 times)
glas
Member
*
Posts: 7


« on: May 04, 2007, 03:49:46 am »

Hi folks, I recently installed 5.8 on a low end machine and am vey impressed so far.

Unlike the 5.1 SOHO I've got on another box with KDE, I can't find the facility in Xfce to enable auto-login (so I don't have to type a password each time I boot up).

Any help in this regard would be much appreciated.

thanks
Logged
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2007, 04:38:55 am »

This can be easily done in 5.8 by editing your /opt/kde/share/config/kdm/kdmrc file

Save a copy of the file (for backup purposes Wink ) Then open the original in your favorite text editor

Find the line that read
Quote
#AutoLoginEnable = True

Remove the "#" on that line.

You will also need to specify which user to log in under...
So a few lines down from the one you just changed, Find the one that reads:
Quote
#AutoLoginUser=fred
Again, Remove the "#" on it, and change "fred" to which ever your user name is.

Reboot, and that should do it
Logged

newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2007, 07:33:11 am »

...I can't find the facility in Xfce to enable auto-login...
This can be easily done in 5.8 by editing your /opt/kde/share/config/kdm/kdmrc file

I think the issue is with xfce auto-logins and moes help seems to indicate a kde fix.  Or does this not matter?

edit:
Oops... my bad.  I'm mistaken - see posts below.  Thanks for clarifying that.  I'm still learning Grin
« Last Edit: May 04, 2007, 07:51:13 am by newtor » Logged
The Headacher
Louder than you
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1553


I like the bass to go BOOM!


WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2007, 07:43:11 am »

Quote
I think the issue is with xfce auto-logins and moes help seems to indicate a kde fix.  Or does this not matter?
VL 5.8 standard uses KDM as login manager. The login manager is what takes care of the in logging Cheesy.
Logged

Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
M0E-lnx
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 3192



« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2007, 07:46:19 am »

The_Headacher is right... 5.8 Ships with KDM... (Hence my post)
Logged

Kocil
Member
*
Posts: 96

Eko M. Budi


« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2007, 08:30:15 am »

In case you dont want to launch the heavy KDM just for this ...

Edit /etc/inittab.
Change the default run level to 7 or 8.

To change the default user,
edit /etc/rc.d/rc.A.
Change the user id from 1000 to whoever you wish.

p.s: Not sure if this is still valid (it was in VL Dynamite 5.9.x)

Logged
dawnsboy
Vectorite
***
Posts: 135



« Reply #6 on: July 24, 2007, 08:05:47 am »

Quote
In case you dont want to launch the heavy KDM just for this ...

Edit /etc/inittab.
Change the default run level to 7 or 8.

To change the default user,
edit /etc/rc.d/rc.A.
Change the user id from 1000 to whoever you wish.

p.s: Not sure if this is still valid (it was in VL Dynamite 5.9.x)

Use of this method on VL 5.8 standard causes system to hang on boot up when starting services for Run Level 8.  However the method described for editing the kdmrc file does work flawlessly...
Logged

Custom Mini-Itx - VL6.0 Light
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #7 on: July 24, 2007, 04:57:01 pm »

Use of this method on VL 5.8 standard causes system to hang on boot up when starting services for Run Level 8.  However the method described for editing the kdmrc file does work flawlessly...

What is Run Level 8? Is that a typo? VASM offers just Run Levels 2, 3, 4, and 5. I like Run Level 2.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
dawnsboy
Vectorite
***
Posts: 135



« Reply #8 on: July 25, 2007, 08:57:55 am »

If you use your favorite text editor to open the file /etc/inittab you will note the following:

# This is only for VL Dynamite
# 7/8 = autologin boot !     :  HACKING Tongue
#

Run level 7 is for text autologin and run level 8 is for gui login. 

If you use that text editor to open /etc/rc.d/rc.A you will note the following:

#!/bin/sh
.A   # rc Boot the system into GUI mode using AUTOMATIC LOGIN
#         This is intended to run as init level 7/8
#
# This automatic login is a big big hacking.
# I mean, is is not standard at all.
# It uses run level 7/8, which is documented (RTFM init),
# but hardly found on any UNIX system.
# As far as I know, no one has ever done this way before.
# Usually you have to use KDM or GDM to achieve autologin.
# Now you just need to boot into run level 8,
# and get the free access to that nice GUI.
# Run level 7 is reserved for TUI mode. 
# Enjoy but once again ... DO NOT think this as an official UNIX way !!!
#
# (c) 2004, Eko M. Budi
# (c) 2004, Vector Linux
# License: GNU GPL

## The settings, changed by vbootset
## who will be our user
USER_ID='1000'

## the default level after autologin session is finished
NEXT_LEVEL='4'

Apparently this is an experiment (by Kocil?) that allows the use of the inittab and rc.A files to permit an autologin bypassing the display manager, ie kdm.  It is said to work on the new version of VL Dynamite.

I decided to check out the above users suggestion to see if it would work on VL 5.8.  It does not work on VL 5.8.  Interesting idea though.
Logged

Custom Mini-Itx - VL6.0 Light
vince
Member
*
Posts: 1


« Reply #9 on: December 24, 2007, 07:11:45 am »

If you use your favorite text editor to open the file /etc/inittab you will note the following:
...
Apparently this is an experiment (by Kocil?) that allows the use of the inittab and rc.A files to permit an autologin bypassing the display manager, ie kdm.  It is said to work on the new version of VL Dynamite.

I decided to check out the above users suggestion to see if it would work on VL 5.8.  It does not work on VL 5.8.  Interesting idea though.

Is there any way to bypass kdm on VL 5.9? Or this route works only with VL Dynamite.

thanks
Vince Tikasz
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!