VectorLinux
August 01, 2014, 07:42:34 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: No /dev/sd?? files  (Read 5595 times)
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2007, 11:29:29 pm »

Was able to get /dev/sdb6 into lilo to boot into that partiion under VL.

/dev/sdb6 has to be in /dev. In fstab /dev/hdd6 remains and can thus be mounted. In lilo.conf setting is root=/dev/sdb6.

Just thought this might be useful for others having such an initial problem with that new device naming.
Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2007, 11:34:29 pm »

Well that's certainly idiosyncratic. How'd you track down the answer?
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #17 on: May 11, 2007, 01:51:57 am »

Well that's certainly idiosyncratic. How'd you track down the answer?

Meaning what Huh?
Logged
Triarius Fidelis
Vecteloper
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2399


Domine, exaudi vocem meam


WWW
« Reply #18 on: May 11, 2007, 11:40:05 am »

In LILO, you have to use /dev/sdb6.

But to mount the drive, you have to use /dev/hdb6.

That's strange.
Logged

"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months
Pita
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1308


« Reply #19 on: May 11, 2007, 06:11:02 pm »

In LILO, you have to use /dev/sdb6.

But to mount the drive, you have to use /dev/hdb6.

That's strange.

Strange, yes. Who can ever fathom Linux?

To run lilo the different partions one wants to boot into have to be mounted. I can't mount /dev/sdb6. It spits back: /dev/sdb6 is not a valid block device.

If in lilo.conf I will put root = /dev/hdd6 as it is in fstab instead of /dev/sdb6 I end with kernel panic when trying to boot into that prticular partition.

Beats me too. However, it works the way I have it set now.
Logged
Kocil
Member
*
Posts: 96

Eko M. Budi


« Reply #20 on: July 13, 2007, 11:10:51 pm »

In LILO, you have to use /dev/sdb6.

But to mount the drive, you have to use /dev/hdb6.

That's strange.

I got the same strange thing in my notebook with SATA harddisk, and IDE layer in BIOS.
Kernel 2.4.x and kernel older than 2.6.18 report it as /dev/hda,
but kernel 2.6.19 - 2.6.21 report it as /dev/sda.
So you will have problem if you have 2 OS with those conflicting kernels.

Since I upgraded the kernel to 2.6.22, the harddisk is known as /dev/hda, consistently.




Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!