VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: my sound is not working. help what do i do  (Read 6876 times)

firedudechad

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
my sound is not working. help what do i do
« on: May 11, 2007, 05:52:21 pm »

 ???my sound is not working. help what do i do  ??? ???
Logged
i have Soho 5.8 RC3

Chad C

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2007, 05:56:10 pm »

First thing to do: Run valsaconf as root.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

firedudechad

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2007, 05:58:42 pm »

ok i will try that
Logged
i have Soho 5.8 RC3

Chad C

firedudechad

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2007, 06:02:53 pm »

ok i just ran valsaconf  and it still does not work
Logged
i have Soho 5.8 RC3

Chad C

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2007, 06:05:14 pm »

Did it detect a sound card?

If it still doesn't work, try opening alsamixer and make sure the channels aren't muted. You select audio channels with arrow keys, and if they're muted you'll see two big M's at the bottom. Press 'M' to toggle the muted state.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

firedudechad

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #5 on: May 11, 2007, 06:11:34 pm »

still no luck
Logged
i have Soho 5.8 RC3

Chad C

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #6 on: May 11, 2007, 06:27:34 pm »

still no luck

Was a sound card detected?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

firedudechad

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #7 on: May 11, 2007, 06:36:12 pm »

yes
Logged
i have Soho 5.8 RC3

Chad C

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #8 on: May 11, 2007, 06:55:13 pm »

yes

Ok. When you run lsmod, what output appears? Paste it in please.
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

varaahan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2007, 02:24:42 am »

still no luck

If you have two sound cards (may be one on-board another one on slot), try to disable the on-board sound card by adjusting the bios settings.

Then , as root , run the following commands:

alsaconf      (to configure your sound card)
alsamixer   (after adjusting the volume level pre "Esc" to quit)
alsactl store (to store the mixer sound level)

Let us see what ahppens.
Logged

fvj

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #10 on: June 01, 2007, 08:41:07 am »

Small & useful tip to get a list of playback hardware devices, in a Terminal run (root or user, it's the same):
Code: [Select]
aplay -lIt will show something if the hardware is recognized and the modules loaded.
If not, check the specifications of the (PCI, ISA or Onboard-) souncard and try to get the name of the chipset in the Web, to know which module to load.
Good luck.
Logged

firedudechad

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2007, 02:01:01 pm »

yes

Ok. When you run lsmod, what output appears? Paste it in please.

vector:/~
root:# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
arc4                    2816  2
ecb                     3712  2
blkcipher               5504  1 ecb
cryptomgr               3328  0
crypto_algapi          10240  3 arc4,ecb,cryptomgr
ieee80211_crypt_wep     5120  1
iptable_nat             7172  0
nf_nat                 16556  1 iptable_nat
nf_conntrack_ipv4      14860  2 iptable_nat
nf_conntrack           53128  3 iptable_nat,nf_nat,nf_conntrack_ipv4
nfnetlink               6168  3 nf_nat,nf_conntrack_ipv4,nf_conntrack
iptable_filter          3460  0
ip_tables              12020  2 iptable_nat,iptable_filter
x_tables               12804  2 iptable_nat,ip_tables
cpufreq_conservative     6920  0
cpufreq_ondemand        7308  0
cpufreq_performance     2816  0
cpufreq_powersave       2560  0
p4_clockmod             5412  0
speedstep_lib           5128  1 p4_clockmod
freq_table              4640  2 cpufreq_ondemand,p4_clockmod
sg                     28456  0
fuse                   40724  0
snd_seq_dummy           3980  0
snd_seq_oss            30208  0
snd_seq_midi_event      6912  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                47344  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7308  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            42176  0
snd_mixer_oss          15616  1 snd_pcm_oss
joydev                  9024  0
shpchp                 30496  0
pci_hotplug            28752  1 shpchp
evdev                   9088  0
snd_intel8x0           30016  5
snd_ac97_codec         92332  1 snd_intel8x0
ac97_bus                3072  1 snd_ac97_codec
snd_pcm                70540  5 snd_pcm_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec
snd_timer              20744  4 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    44644  15 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               7264  1 snd
snd_page_alloc          8712  2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm
serio_raw               6404  0
sis900                 20492  0
mii                     5888  1 sis900
pcspkr                  3584  0
bcm43xx               427712  0
sis_agp                 7308  0
i2c_sis96x              6020  0
agpgart                28748  1 sis_agp
ieee80211softmac       27392  1 bcm43xx
i2c_core               18816  1 i2c_sis96x
ieee80211              31816  2 bcm43xx,ieee80211softmac
ieee80211_crypt         5632  2 ieee80211_crypt_wep,ieee80211
Logged
i have Soho 5.8 RC3

Chad C

firedudechad

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2007, 02:02:50 pm »

Small & useful tip to get a list of playback hardware devices, in a Terminal run (root or user, it's the same):
Code: [Select]
aplay -lIt will show something if the hardware is recognized and the modules loaded.
If not, check the specifications of the (PCI, ISA or Onboard-) souncard and try to get the name of the chipset in the Web, to know which module to load.
Good luck.

vector:/~
root:# aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: SI7012 [SiS SI7012], device 0: Intel ICH [SiS SI7012]
  Subdevices: 0/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
vector:/~
root:#
 



Logged
i have Soho 5.8 RC3

Chad C

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2007, 02:25:21 pm »

It looks like you have modules loaded OK for that card. Go back to "hanumizzle's" second post to you. Puta music CD in your CDROM drive. Open up xmms and play the CD. Open alsamixer in a terminal and adjust sliders up and unmute all stuff until you get sound.
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: my sound is not working. help what do i do
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2007, 02:28:53 pm »

FiredudeChad, I have the same card in another computer (laptop). On VL SOHO I didn't get any sound either. On my box it was a "problem" with the mixer settings.Try playing some sound, open kmix, go to the "switches" tab and enable the "External Amplifier" switch.

Hope it works for you.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.
Pages: [1] 2