VectorLinux
October 31, 2014, 03:11:17 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] ATI driver 8.36.5 - Segmentation Fault  (Read 8866 times)
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« on: May 19, 2007, 01:34:10 pm »

Maybe someone can help me since I cannot find a solution.  I'm attempting to install the newest ATI drivers for my Mobility 9xxx (cannot remember the exact model) Shocked

The drivers install fine but when attempting to recreate the new xorg.conf using 'aticonfig --initial' (as root) I get a Segmentation Fault.  My old xorg is move to xorg.conf.original-# and I'm left with a completely empty xorg.conf.

Any ideas are welcome.  I'll see if I can track down the exact mobility model number as I'm sure it will be helpful Cheesy
« Last Edit: May 24, 2007, 09:06:27 am by newtor » Logged
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2007, 02:15:46 pm »

Had similar issue with my Radeon 9600. For some reason selecting fglrx or ati caused problems. I ran X setup from vasm and chose the radeon driver, then re-ran aticonfig. In my case it worked.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2007, 04:16:39 pm »

I'll give that a shot.  I actually tried your suggestion once (based on memory of what you said) - reran xorgconfig and set video to 'ati' (this is where my memory failed - should have been 'radeon') and then tried the aticonfig initial command again with the same results (segmentation fault).  I'll give it a go the correct way later tonight, and I'll give it a shot coming from a standard 'vesa' as well just for good measure.

Do you, or anyone, know exactly what the 'aticonfig --initial' command does?  I read in an ubuntu post that it just changes the driver from 'whatever' to 'fglrx' ( http://wiki.cchtml.com/index.php/Ubuntu_Edgy_Installation_Guide#Configure_the_Driver ), but I'm wondering if there is more to it than just that.  BTW, I did give this a shot and X would not start.

I'd be interested in seeing someone's device section for their video that is using this proprietary ATI driver just to compare.

Anyway, I'll let you know how it goes later tonight.

Thanks for your help and suggestions!!
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2007, 09:10:25 pm »

Here are some relevant sections from my xorg.conf file using the ATI proprietary driver:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

=====================

Section "Module"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "xtrap"
        Load  "record"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "type1"
EndSection
========================

Section "Monitor"

#DisplaySize      380   300     # mm
### Comment all HorizSync and VertSync values to use DDC:
#VertRefresh  56.0 - 75.0
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        VendorName   "SAM"
        ModelName    "SyncMaster"
#       HorizSync    30.0 - 81.0
#       HorizSync    30.0 - 81.0
        HorizSync    62.0 - 62.0
        HorizSync    62.0 - 62.0
#       VertRefresh  56.0 - 75.0
        VertRefresh  60.0 - 60.0
        VertRefresh  60.0 - 60.0
        Option      "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
EndSection
==================

        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "ati"
        VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
        BoardName   "RS480 [Radeon Xpress 200G Series]"
        BusID       "PCI:1:5:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
        Driver      "fglrx"
EndSection
==================

Section "DRI"
        Mode         0666
EndSection
===================

If you need more, let me know and I'll post it.
--GrannyGeek


Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
nightflier
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 4026



« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2007, 03:58:39 am »

Mine is similar to granny's. The script alters a few sections:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "aticonfig-Screen[0]" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
<snip>
Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
        Option      "VendorName" "ATI Proprietary Driver"
        Option      "ModelName" "Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
        Option      "DPMS" "true"
EndSection
<snip>
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]"
        Driver      "fglrx"
EndSection
<snip>
Section "Screen"
        Identifier "aticonfig-Screen[0]"
        Device     "aticonfig-Device[0]"
        Monitor    "aticonfig-Monitor[0]"
        DefaultDepth     24
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
        EndSubSection
EndSection
<snip>
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2007, 08:25:35 am »

I tried both the 'radeon' and 'vesa' options in xorg before attempting the aticonfig --initial and both ended the same way as before.  Then I read in the 5.8SohoFinal-Bugs/Annoyances thread that soren had the same issues and was able to overcome by attempting it without X running so I gave it a shot - it worked!  Thought I was good to go but upon reboot X would not start.  I checked my xorg.conf and it looks match those of GrannyGeek and nightflier pretty well.  However, I did notice that I ended up with 2 Device sections - the original 'radeon' and then the new 'fglrx'.  Is it okay to have 2 Device sections?  Should I try commenting the old 'radeon' section so that I only have one 'fglrx' section?
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2007, 08:33:19 am »

you can have as many device sections as you want in there.
I think the problem you are having with the fglrx package is that it doesnt support your card.
Logged
newt
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1132



« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2007, 09:06:13 am »

you can have as many device sections as you want in there.
I think the problem you are having with the fglrx package is that it doesnt support your card.


You nailed it - it's not supported!  Could've saved everyone a bunch of time by just double-checking the chipset (Mobility U1, aka IGP320M).  I think the reason I was thinking Mobility 9xxx series is because that's what's on my girls laptop Roll Eyes

Thanks for everyone's help.  Guess this one is solved Grin
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!