Please support VectorLinux!

Author Topic: Problems still with DHCPD in 5.8SOHO final  (Read 3384 times)

ekp

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Problems still with DHCPD in 5.8SOHO final
« on: May 22, 2007, 08:24:02 am »
I can not get my network up when booting.  Have had problems in the past but been able to work around it.  Can not start at all now when booting.

I have two ethernets one is on board SIS chip (disabled) the other is a Lynksys.  Lynksys card is seen as eth0 and other eth1 in KControl but vasm will only start network with inet 2 and eth1.  There seems to be some conflict.  VASM should see card as eth0 but does not.

For clarity I can only start network manually from VASM by inet 2 with a device which is seen as eth1 when it should be seen as eth0.  When setting up network init1 is set to boot automatically with DHCP which does not work.

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: Problems still with DHCPD in 5.8SOHO final
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2007, 09:47:27 am »
Reboot your machine and without manually starting your network please post the output of the following commands for us:

ifconfig
route
cat /etc/resolv.conf
lsmod | grep eth

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: Problems still with DHCPD in 5.8SOHO final
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2007, 12:41:34 pm »
Could this have anything to do with your interfaces problem?:
http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=979.0
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

ekp

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 55
Re: Problems still with DHCPD in 5.8SOHO final
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2007, 07:56:59 pm »
Reboot your machine and without manually starting your network please post the output of the following commands for us:

ifconfig
route
cat /etc/resolv.conf
lsmod | grep eth


[/quot
Code: [Select]
root:# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0A:E6:91:C9:18
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)
          Interrupt:10 Base address:0xd400

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

vector://home/ed
root:# route
Kernel IP routing table
Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
loopback        *               255.0.0.0       U     0      0        0 lo
vector://home/ed
root:# cat /etc/resolv.conf
# Generated by dhcpcd for interface eth1
search nycap.rr.com
nameserver 24.92.226.9
nameserver 24.92.226.102
vector://home/ed
root:# lsmod | grep eth



bigpaws

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1868
Re: Problems still with DHCPD in 5.8SOHO final
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2007, 09:08:20 pm »
Since you state you can get an ipaddress with a
change in VASM the driver is ok.

Did you read the information from Joe1962?

How about "mcedit /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-eth0.info" add the MAC
address of the NIC you want to use.

HTH

Bigpaws