VectorLinux
November 22, 2014, 01:05:17 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Creating MS-DOS bootdisk in VL  (Read 6455 times)
hemuli
Member
*
Posts: 20



WWW
« on: May 28, 2007, 02:15:58 am »

Hello again

Can anybody tell me how to create MS-DOS 6.** bootdisk in Linux? I think I saw somwhere some imagewrite program for linux... is it in VL too?
There are many bootdisk-sites but they seem to have windoes self extracting boot disks. Where can I find ones that are suitable for linux imagewriter?

Bootdisk is for Toshiba T5100 (80386 16MHz/2Mb RAM/40 Mb HD), suggestions for one-floppy-linuxes that can run with this setup are also welcome Cheesy
Logged
hemuli
Member
*
Posts: 20



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 03:27:48 am »

I founded this: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Create_a_DOS_boot_disk and tried it out, but FreeDOS doesn't seem to run with 2 megs of RAM.

I can't find MS-DOS bootdisk image in .gz-format with google Cry

Does anyone know where to find them or do you know how to make one from the (win-) self-extracting archive?

My newer computer with XP has some problem with motherboard so it can't have floppydrive in it, but the other machine wich runs vector has a fully functional floppydrive. I really don't want to put a windos in it...

Thanks

Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2007, 03:53:34 am »

Maybe FreeDOS would work for you?: http://www.freedos.org/
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2007, 05:05:26 am »

I founded this: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Create_a_DOS_boot_disk and tried it out, but FreeDOS doesn't seem to run with 2 megs of RAM.

DOS 6 isn't going to see that 2 MB of RAM, it's only going to see the first 640K. Does that XP machine have a CD drive? If so, take your XP installation CD and boot to recover mode. This should allow you access to the hard drive to do any repairs you may need to do.

Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2007, 05:07:41 am »

FreeDOS doesn't seem to run with 2 megs of RAM.
oops... Embarrassed. I should read more fully before replying in a hurry.

Does that XP machine have a CD drive? If so, take your XP installation CD and boot to recover mode. This should allow you access to the hard drive to do any repairs you may need to do.
Or get the System Recue CD. It all depends on what you really need/want to do.
http://www.sysresccd.org
« Last Edit: May 28, 2007, 05:13:23 am by Joe1962 » Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
hemuli
Member
*
Posts: 20



WWW
« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2007, 05:31:13 am »

Thank you for your replies.

I tried FreeDOS, doesn't start. Sad

I founded MS-DOS 6.22 bootdisk from: http://oldfiles.org.uk/powerload/bootdisk.htm
Booted it, fdisked and formatted drive, now it has operating system on it and it works! Grin


BTW you can get more than 640 kilos of memory in MS-DOS with HIMEM.SYS and EMM386.EXE (XMS or EMS, not conventional).



Off topic: I bought this "laptop" today from the local fleemarket. Previous owner had used doublespace to double 40 meg HD to 150 megs!!! Lips sealed When I scandisked it there was over 100 bad sectors... didn't finish that scan, but after formatting it back to 40 it had none of the bad sectors. Tell me, is this one of the worst DOS misuses ever or what?

EDIT: T5100 doesn't have CD-drive... yet...
Logged
retired1af
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1267



« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2007, 05:36:20 am »

Not really. Back in those days, hard drive prices weren't exactly affordable. Doublespace was a cheap way of getting more bang for your buck. IBM PCs back then were averaging 7-8,000 bucks a pop with a 120 Meg drive.
Logged

ASUS K73 Intel i3 Dual Core 2.3GHz
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!