VectorLinux
October 02, 2014, 04:22:03 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Xmms doesn't play aac+ radio streams  (Read 2355 times)
Ainvar
Member
*
Posts: 29



« on: May 28, 2007, 10:41:19 am »

I am using Xmms 12.10, I want to know if there's a way to make it play aac+ streams. There are so many radios using this format, and it won't open any files of this type. Is there a way i could make it play them? And with the mp3 radios, if there's a problem with the connection, it just stops playing the radio, and won't buffer it again.
Please, if you know a way to make it work, tell me, the aac+ format has great quality at a low bitrate and it's the best alternative for mp3 stations.
Thank you.
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 10:58:51 am »

I can't help you with xmms, but I use vlc for aac streams.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Ainvar
Member
*
Posts: 29



« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2007, 11:01:21 am »

Ok, i will download vlc. Thanks for the advice!
Logged
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2007, 11:04:17 am »

RealPlayer has a plugin for AAC. I read somewhere that Exaile can play AAC but I can't confirm that. Exhaile is very poorly documented. I don't know if AAC is the same as AAC+.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
Ainvar
Member
*
Posts: 29



« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2007, 12:38:56 am »

VLC works just fine, i think i will remain at it. Thanks again for your help!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!