VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: [Solved] install flash for konqueror  (Read 2423 times)

nubcnubdo

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 675
[Solved] install flash for konqueror
« on: May 28, 2007, 07:30:39 pm »

konqueror says it needs flash, so I follow link, download, extract, and attempt to install flash.

Code: [Select]
user:$ ls
Readme.txt  flashplayer-installer*  flashplayer.xpt  libflashplayer.so*
vector:/~/Desktop/flash/install_flash_player_9_linux
user:$ flashplayer-installer
./flashplayer-installer: line 76: [: 11): integer expression expected

ERROR: Your glibc library is older than 2.2.
       Please update your glibc library.

Has someone installed flash for Konqueror? Is it possible I will break things trying to improve Konqueror?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2007, 03:39:15 pm by nubcnubdo »
Logged

JohnB316

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Registered Linux User #386728
Re: install flash for konqueror
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2007, 08:21:29 pm »

As far as installing Flash into Konqueror specifically, you shouldn't need to do it. As long as Konqueror knows where your Firefox plugins are installed (/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins on a VL box), it can find them and use them. To set up the plugins for Konqueror, click on Settings -> Configure Konqueror -> Plugins -> Scan for New Plugins. Konqueror will scan for whatever plugins you have in the paths listed in the search dialog and will use what it can.

HTH,
John
Logged
VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.

newt

  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1132
Re: install flash for konqueror
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2007, 09:33:56 pm »

john's suggestion is probably the easiest option, but this post came to mind when you mentioned the glibc library problem: http://www.vectorlinux.com/forum2/index.php?topic=2657.msg17613#msg17613

HTH
Logged

jimjan

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
install flash for konqueror???
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2007, 09:07:12 am »

As far as installing Flash into Konqueror specifically, you shouldn't need to do it. As long as Konqueror knows where your Firefox plugins are installed (/usr/lib/mozilla/plugins on a VL box), it can find them and use them. To set up the plugins for Konqueror, click on Settings -> Configure Konqueror -> Plugins -> Scan for New Plugins. Konqueror will scan for whatever plugins you have in the paths listed in the search dialog and will use what it can.

HTH,
John

is this for vector since konqueor is not on livecd 5.8  :)
Logged

JohnB316

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1346
  • Registered Linux User #386728
Re: [Solved] install flash for konqueror
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2007, 09:36:25 am »

The solution in the above post is for any version of VL that has KDE installed. IIRC, the 5.8 Live CD you are referring to does not have KDE on it.

HTH. If you still have a problem using Flash with the live CD, please start a new thread.

Thanks,
John
Logged
VL 6.0 SOHO latest alpha on one box, VL 5.9 Lite on the other.