VectorLinux
August 29, 2014, 10:07:39 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.

Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Podcast aggregator install help and introduction  (Read 1608 times)
Wilzer

« on: June 05, 2007, 04:35:30 pm »

Hello, I am very new to the Linux community so I need quite a bit of hand holding. I have downloaded the deb and tar versions of Icepodder  but am having trouble installing. I believe the deb version is not the one for me but I cant seem to figure out how to install the tar version. help would be appreciated. Im not opposed to RTFM type advice or straight up hand holding. I just need to know where to start. I would prefer to learn to fish than be given a fish but I need to know where to fish.

TBH I kinda jumped in this Linux thing head first as an only averagely savy computer user and am kinda feeling like Im taking an advanced trig course without ever learning addition and subtraction. Ok enough with the poor metaphors ....thx in advance for any help
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian

« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2007, 05:47:45 pm »

This is directly from the fourth line down of the downloads page from the IcePodder website:

"To install the normal package, simply unzip the .tar.gz file and run install.sh as root."

OK, so what you need to do is

1) download the package
2) open a console terminal and navigate to the directory where you downloaded the file to. You do this with the "cd" command, e.g.: cd downloads
3) run the command "tar xjvf IcePodder-5.4.tar.bz2"
4) that unzips the file to its own directory, you then cd to that directory