VectorLinux
November 26, 2014, 08:01:08 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: Installation fails while copying veclinux.tlz  (Read 7992 times)
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #15 on: June 06, 2007, 01:56:18 pm »

Are you sure the problem is the cd drive?
You could try to install VL from an iso in the hd.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Maniqui
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #16 on: June 06, 2007, 03:19:15 pm »

Hi rbistolfi.

I would like to know how to instal VL from an iso in the HD!
Thay may be the easiest (and cheapest) way to do it (the Compaq CD drive costs u$s 60 here).

Can you please point me to a resource where the process explanation?

Edit: I think you will point me here: http://vectorlinux.osuosl.org/docs/vl58/manuals/vl5_installation_guide_en.html#iso_linux

I also will try some of the switches suggested at the end in the Troubleshooting section.
« Last Edit: June 06, 2007, 03:25:17 pm by Maniqui » Logged
Maniqui
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #17 on: June 06, 2007, 03:37:24 pm »

Will this be possible?

1. create a partition for the .iso file (and the vinstall-iso file).

2. copy both files there. To achieve this, I will burn it as data in a CD and then, copy it to the new partition.
How can I copy it? I have no idea.
Can I use the console that comes in VL (when it is not installed, because I can reach that console...) to copy the both iso/vinstall-iso files?

3. execute the vinstall-iso.

4. After successful installation, I will run gparted or another partitioning software and delete and re-allocate the partition created ad-hoc in step 1.

What do you think?

Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #18 on: June 06, 2007, 04:25:08 pm »

I guess a simple

Code:
cp /path_to_the_iso/vlxxxx.iso /destinantion

will copy the file, same with the script. You can check the "install from a windows host" too. This is what I did once in a friend's computer with no cd-rom: I take a hd with a fat32 partition (with windows on it) from another computer, I prepared the hd as described on the docs (copy the iso file, loadlin, etc...), I pluged the hd on the host machine, I booted the host with a bootable dos floppy, then I followed the instructions (cd to loadlin...), the regular installer starts and everything goes fine from there.
This allows me to not format and make partitions to another hd to just move the iso file.
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Maniqui
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #19 on: June 07, 2007, 08:46:58 am »

Still trying... and failing..

- using
Code:
cp
to copy the .iso to a partition failed giving an
Code:
cp reading ... Input/Output error
(or similar)
- then, by Googling a bit, I tried with
Code:
dd if=... of=...
but again, it failed copying the .iso. It usually copied a few megabytes and then stop...

That's when an idea come to my mind: copy the .iso from a Kingston Datatraveler USB pen drive.
So, I booted with a Damn Small Linux to a command line as a root and with some switches.
The USB pendrive was listed in /proc/scsi/scsi, and also /proc/bus/usb was mounted (but I'm not sure what would I want that directory mounted).

But, because of my bad luck, I wasn't able to mount the pendrive and browse the files inside it. Why? I don't know.
It failed to mount any /dev/sda* to /mnt/sda* telling me that
Code:
mount: /dev/sda* is not a valid block device
or other similar messages...

The next steps

Tonight, or tomorrow, I will try to run a Xubuntu Live CD to see if it recognizes the USB pen drive and then copy the .iso to a partition.

Still listening to your advices...
Logged
rbistolfi
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2290


« Reply #20 on: June 07, 2007, 09:29:54 am »

hmm, looks like the cd drive is really bad...

Quote
But, because of my bad luck, I wasn't able to mount the pendrive and browse the files inside it. Why? I don't know.
It failed to mount any /dev/sda* to /mnt/sda* telling me that
Code:

mount: /dev/sda* is not a valid block device

or other similar messages...
About the mount issue, you could try this http://interactive.linuxjournal.com/article/6867
That is really bad luck!  Angry
Logged

"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #21 on: June 07, 2007, 09:45:10 am »

Did you run "fdisk -l" to list the available partitions to mount?
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Maniqui
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2007, 12:20:01 pm »

Well, I have gone a step further and achieved to copy the VL .iso to a HD partition (I did it by running a Xubuntu Live CD that mounted the USB pen drive and move the .iso from the pendrive to the HD).

Then, I booted with the VL Linux CD I have burned soem days ago and went to the terminal so I can run the installation from the harddrive.

BUT I failed (once again).
It told me I have to run vinstall-iso as root.

"Error: must run as root"
"Please, login as root or call su first"

I thought I already was root, but it seems I'm not root.

I have tried "sudo -su", "su root", etc but I can't become root... so I can't install VL linux yet.
It says that "su" or "sudo" are not found...
Any other command/way to become roout?



Any new advice, please?
Thanks again.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 12:28:20 pm by Maniqui » Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2007, 03:20:46 pm »

Just type "su" then hit your enter key, then enter the root password. That has always worked here...
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
Maniqui
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2007, 09:40:18 pm »

I havent give up yet...
But I'm running out of ideas and chances.

Right now, I'm logged as root in a terminal, running a Xubuntu Live CD.

The VL iso file is saved in a hard-drive partition already mounted with read and write permissions. Also, I have chmod 777 vinstall-iso and VL-5.8-std-Gold.iso.

So, I-m in the terminal, as root, and run './vinstall-iso VL-5.8-std-Gold.iso'.
And I get again:

"Error: must run as root.
Please, login as root or call su first"

I have tried calling su, and running the same command again, but nothing.
Also, switched to init 2, as the  installation guide says, but it doesn't make any difference.

I'm about to give up until I get a new CD drive or until someone comes with a new way to install VL .

Thanks again vectorized people.
Logged
uelsk8s
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2504



« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2007, 10:31:14 pm »

I think you can edit the vinstall-iso script and comment out the section that checks for root.
Logged
Maniqui
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #26 on: June 12, 2007, 06:53:23 am »

hi uelsk8s

Our minds are connected! I tried that last night, after posting here.
Installation went on, but then I cancelled, and went to sleep.

Right now, VL is installing on the old laptop, so I hope to be posting in VL forum soon, but using that machine.

Of course, I hope it recognizes the NetGear MA101 USB wireless netcard.
What do you think?
Should I be prepared to spend another week to install that card? Wink

Thanks everyone here for being so helpful.

I can't claim victory yet, because it's installing...
Logged
Maniqui
Member
*
Posts: 19


« Reply #27 on: June 16, 2007, 08:28:38 pm »

Yeah... I should have come some days ago to tell you that I have achieved to install VL in my old Compaq Presario...

Installing directly from an .iso file was the way to go.

Now, I need to find out how to install the drivers for my Netgear MA101 USB wi-fi card...
So I might open a new thread if I get into troubles...

BTW, I have found a bug, where should I report it?

Thanks everybody for the help.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!