VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Poll

Is KDE possible to run on older specs, P2-type processors and 192MB of RAM?

Yes, of course. :)
- 9 (60%)
Well, might be a bit tough.
- 4 (26.7%)
No, needs more RAM
- 2 (13.3%)

Total Members Voted: 15

Voting closed: June 09, 2007, 12:17:50 pm


Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: KDE 3.5.x on older specs  (Read 6903 times)

DrGrov

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 106
KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« on: June 02, 2007, 12:17:50 pm »


Well, here goes. A post regarding KDE on older specs as I myself have.
I find KDE to run very well with 192MB of RAM. Just thought to ask some opinions regarding this matter.
Thanks for your answers!  ::)
Logged
Stop complaining about everything, do something about it instead.

|nic|

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 164
    • My Blog
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2007, 02:32:01 pm »

I have VL SOHO installed on a P2 266Mhz and 256 ram. It runs quite good, I use it as a file server. The only problem is with media, it is a little slow when playing divx.
Logged
registered user #393337

Freeman

  • Tester
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 323
  • Choice to the user!
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2007, 03:52:06 pm »

On my P3 it runs very fast, so a P2 would do just fine I think. No problems here, the only thing is you need more then 124MB ram, then you're good to go!
Logged
It's better to die 10 times, than never to have loved at all.

rbistolfi

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2318
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2007, 04:00:06 pm »

I am not a kde user, so just guessing. I think you are near the limit with that amount of ram. Kde will run, but you need to be careful to avoid swaping. I use the gimp on a std on a 128mb machine to edit large photos, once the gimp start, I can work smoothly. No multitask during that job of course :'(
If I start other apps, I need to use swap. That on xfce.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2007, 04:02:16 pm by rbistolfi »
Logged
"There is a concept which corrupts and upsets all others. I refer not to Evil, whose limited realm is that of ethics; I refer to the infinite."
Jorge Luis Borges, Avatars of the Tortoise.

--
Jumalauta!!

lagagnon

  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1922
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #4 on: June 02, 2007, 06:43:26 pm »


...I find KDE to run very well with 192MB of RAM.
Sure, KDE might load OK to the desktop, but when you load any large application such as OO, Firefox, The Gimp, and others, you will undoubtedly require the use of swap, at which point the machine will slow down considerably. Personally I believe 384MB of RAM is a minimum RAM amount to use KDE and its associated applications effectively.
« Last Edit: June 02, 2007, 06:47:19 pm by lagagnon »
Logged
"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #5 on: June 02, 2007, 09:49:49 pm »

Can't say on the "real" hardware front, but a vmware vm inside winxp SP2 ( ::) ) with 256 MB RAM and 256 MB swap works very well with KDE on SOHO 5.8.
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4133
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2007, 04:38:18 am »

I have one P3-667/192 and SOHO 5.1 runs acceptably on it. Heavy apps are somewhat sluggish, but that happens in Xfce as well as KDE. I prefer Opera for browsing and e-mail on that one.
Logged

saulgoode

  • Vectorite
  • ***
  • Posts: 340
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2007, 06:29:06 am »

I was never overly confronted by KDE's execution speed on a 500MHz PIII. What was of concern was memory usage. I could, and did, run KDE on 200M of RAM but it did not take much to initiate swapping. Over time, I found that it was preferable to use a light window manager and, when possible, Dillo for webbrowsing (the Gecko browsers are a bit much with regards to RAM usage). Of course, running lean was important to me because I often have compiles running in the background (and that often requires quite a bit of RAM).

My advice would be to get some more RAM for your machine if you wish to continue using KDE on it. While processor speed is not insignificant with insufficient memory, the majority of your computer's time is spent waiting on disk activity.
Logged
A complex system that works is invariably found to have evolved from a simple system that works.

MikeCindi

  • Tester
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 1075
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2007, 01:36:52 pm »

A lot of things are possible but what one is willing to "put up with" is a completely different question. What has been asked can easily be done but I wouldn't want to stay there very long.
Mike
Logged
The plans of the diligent lead to profit...Pro. 21:5
 VL64 7.1                                     RLU 486143

GrannyGeek

  • Packager
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2567
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2007, 06:20:18 pm »

I don't quite see the point of the question. Is it *possible* to run KDE on a slow computer with 192 megs of RAM? Of course, since people report they have done/are doing it. Would you *enjoy* running KDE on a slow computer with 192 megs of RAM? If you ask me, no, I would not. If you ask someone else, the answer might be "yes."

I can't abide slow, low-RAM computers--and I do most definitely consider 192 megs a low-RAM computer. I know people say KDE runs fine on 192 megs or 256 megs, but I sure didn't find it that way. Sixteen months ago I got a new computer because I simply couldn't stand running VectorLinux on a Celeron 500 with 512 megs of RAM. Sure, if it were my only computer and I had no option to get a better one, I'd survive. But enjoy it? No way!

So I gave that computer to a nonprofit and bought a new one on a very good sale. I'm extremely glad I did.
--GrannyGeek
Logged
Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller

DrGrov

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 106
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2007, 10:52:45 am »



Nice to see commited Vectorites answering and commenting. I started the poll based on that I could get some opinions are maybe switch WM/DE to something else. I decided now to go with WindowMaker since it's light-weight, beautiful with the right themes and very versatile compared to perhaps KDE or the larger DE's.

Thanks for the answers! Please keep on having a debate. It's always a pleasure to read the forum when you guys/girls/ladies/gentlemen are so commited and eager to share your opinions. :)

Logged
Stop complaining about everything, do something about it instead.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4133
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #11 on: June 04, 2007, 11:03:47 am »

Sounds like fun. I'm sure many would be interested in hearing how it works for you. A post with your results would be appreciated.
Logged

DrGrov

  • Packager
  • Vectorite
  • ****
  • Posts: 106
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #12 on: June 04, 2007, 11:11:40 am »


Nightflier, you want to hear about how WindowMaker works me or did I misinterpret your reply?
Sorry if I did.  :-\
Logged
Stop complaining about everything, do something about it instead.

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #13 on: June 04, 2007, 01:06:04 pm »


Nightflier, you want to hear about how WindowMaker works

On his behalf, yes.

It's true: WindowMaker has a ton of themes, and goes quite well with the GNUstep environment...
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4133
Re: KDE 3.5.x on older specs
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2007, 06:56:58 pm »

Yes, tell us how well that setup is working for you. Other people with similar hardware could benefit from your experimentation.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2