VectorLinux

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Visit our home page for VL info. For support and documentation, visit the Vector Linux Knowledge Center or search the Knowledge Center and this Forum using the search box above.

Author Topic: How can I stop the "WIN" key from being "F15" in Soho? [solved]  (Read 3000 times)

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)

I want to get my old "win" key back! I don't need no smelly F15 button to open kmenu for me, I'm used to the win key as an important key for global shortcuts.

I know it probably has something to do with xmodmap, but I didn't quite get how that works ( how to remove F15 ).

Thanks!
« Last Edit: June 04, 2007, 05:48:47 am by The Headacher »
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: How can I stop the "WIN" key from being "F15" in Soho?
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2007, 05:01:20 am »

Don't know how much you already have customized your install, but I used the hatchet approach to mine. Right after install I deleted the .kde folder and built mine from scratch, then used control center to assign my usual shortcuts. No xmodmap involved.
Logged

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: How can I stop the "WIN" key from being "F15" in Soho?
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2007, 05:48:09 am »

Thanks nightflier, that works fine. I don't do much customizing, so it was solved pretty soon.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.

Joe1962

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 2499
    • Joe1962's Website
Re: How can I stop the "WIN" key from being "F15" in Soho? [solved]
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2007, 07:40:21 am »

LOL, and everybody was bitching that we didn't have the winkey set up before... ;D
Logged
O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10

nightflier

  • Administrator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 4086
Re: How can I stop the "WIN" key from being "F15" in Soho? [solved]
« Reply #4 on: June 04, 2007, 11:14:13 am »

LOL, and everybody was bitching that we didn't have the winkey set up before... ;D

Ah yeah, who do you choose to please?  ;)

I never managed to have the winkey bring up the menu in addition to being usable for combination shortcuts. The combinations are most important to me, that way I very seldom need the start menu.
Logged

Triarius Fidelis

  • Vecteloper
  • Vectorian
  • ****
  • Posts: 2399
  • Domine, exaudi vocem meam
    • my website
Re: How can I stop the "WIN" key from being "F15" in Soho? [solved]
« Reply #5 on: June 04, 2007, 12:32:52 pm »

LOL, and everybody was bitching that we didn't have the winkey set up before... ;D

Ah yeah, who do you choose to please?  ;)

I never managed to have the winkey bring up the menu in addition to being usable for combination shortcuts. The combinations are most important to me, that way I very seldom need the start menu.

I use the left Windoze key to type åççënt characters. I have no idea what I'm going to do with its partner on the right, but I'm looking for a keysym that generates an endless stream of gold coins.

In any case, the following page may shed some light on The Headacher's problem:

http://lists.kde.org/?l=kde-linux&m=106519804427555&w=2

I would see if $HOME/.Xmodmap contains anything. It might be loaded in Autostart...?
Logged
"Leatherface, you BITCH! Ho Chi Minh, hah hah hah!"

Formerly known as "Epic Fail Guy" and "Döden" in recent months

The Headacher

  • Louder than you
  • Global Moderator
  • Vectorian
  • *****
  • Posts: 1553
  • I like the bass to go BOOM!
    • Multimedia on VL (work in progress)
Re: How can I stop the "WIN" key from being "F15" in Soho? [solved]
« Reply #6 on: June 04, 2007, 01:43:18 pm »

LOL, and everybody was bitching that we didn't have the winkey set up before... ;D
Yes, but I can bring up the menu with Ctrl+Esc (standard behavior) . I need that winkey as a modifier.
Logged
Most music on my soundcloud page was arranged in programs running on VL.