VectorLinux
October 24, 2014, 05:23:55 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Visit our home page for VL info. To search the old message board go to http://vectorlinux.com/forum1. The first VL forum is temporarily offline until we can find a host for it. Thanks for your patience.
 
Now powered by KnowledgeDex.
   Home   Help Search Login Register  
Please support VectorLinux!
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Solved] Firefox, Mplayer  (Read 6191 times)
GrannyGeek
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 2567


« Reply #15 on: June 20, 2007, 08:19:52 pm »

You can upgrade Firefox from the help menu, I think there is a "find updates" option (I am using the spanish version, may be those are not the exact words).

You can update Firefox through the Help menu, Check for Updates. However, you must become root and launch Firefox as root in order to update it through the Help menu.

Open a terminal, su, type your root password, type firefox at the prompt. Do Help menu, Check for Updates. Firefox will install the updates automatically and restart, showing that the update was successful.

Close Firefox, type
exit
back at the terminal prompt to get back to your user account. Now start Firefox in your usual way as user and you should be running the updated version.
--GrannyGeek
Logged

Registered Linux User #397786

Happily running VL 7 Gold on  a Sempron LE-1300 desktop (2.3 GHz), 4 G RAM,  GeForce 6150 SE onboard graphics and on an HP Pavilion dv7 i7, 6 gigs, Intel 2nd Generation Integrated Graphics Controller
ESBguy
Member
*
Posts: 9



« Reply #16 on: June 21, 2007, 01:36:42 pm »

Thank YOU, lagagnon.

Return from command fdisk -l:

Disk /dev/hdb: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 10337 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdb1               1        7778    58801648+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hdb2            7779       10337    19346040    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hdb5            7779       10337    19346008+   7  HPFS/NTFS

Disk /dev/sda: 60.0 GB, 60022480896 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 7297 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *           1        2550    20482843+   c  W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda2            2551        4508    15727635    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda3            4509        7119    20972857+  83  Linux
/dev/sda4            7120        7297     1429785   82  Linux swap
vector:/~

Return from command df:

Filesystem           1K-blocks      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda3             20641788   3283336  16309812  17% /
tmpfs                   255752         0    255752   0% /dev/shm
/dev/sda1             20472816  11905056   8567760  59% /mnt/win1
/dev/hdb1             58787264     92736  58694528   1% /mnt/win2
vector:/~


Thanks again, hope this helps...
Logged
lagagnon
Global Moderator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 1922



WWW
« Reply #17 on: June 21, 2007, 02:09:51 pm »

ESBguy: ok, you don't have a /home partition - so I assume all your /home directories or on /dev/sda3. Now in your posts above you stated that you are using the FAT32 partitions for some Linux data, Firefox in particular. Are you still doing that or not? Where exactly is your ~.mozilla directory now?
Logged

"As people become more intelligent they care less for preachers and more for teachers". Robert G. Ingersoll
ESBguy
Member
*
Posts: 9



« Reply #18 on: June 21, 2007, 04:16:17 pm »

Hi, lagagnon.

It's on sda3, at home/me/.mozilla.  When you gave me the command to remove the directory, I did, and when I restarted Firefox it re-wrote it, including a new profiles.ini.  The profiles.ini is what you modify to direct it to use a profile other than default.  It's been using a default profiles.ini ever since I removed the .mozilla directory the first time - I haven't modified it to use the fat32 partition.  I still can't use it without a system crash.

As I said, Thunderbird is set up the same way, with 1 profile shared by 3 OS's on a fat32 partition, and it works just fine.

Just in case you're wondering, I have VL set to automount both fat32 partitions at boot.  I have had no problems accessing or writing to either partition from VL.

Browser conflict maybe???  I'm going to mess around a little with the settings for Konqueror and Firefox....
Logged
jimwill
Member
*
Posts: 43


« Reply #19 on: June 23, 2007, 08:12:21 pm »

Pardon another newbie butting in. I could be wrong in your case, but I've ran into problems with FireFox and Thunderbird when my /tmp directory fills up. I have been opening a terminal, switch to su, cd to /tmp and doing an rm -R * (dangerous, I know -  I tend to cringe every time!) to clear it.

If some of you guru's think that could be the problem he is having could you give an easier, and safer, way to clear that directory. Or even an automatic way? Cheesy

Jim
Logged
wcs
Packager
Vectorian
****
Posts: 1144


« Reply #20 on: June 24, 2007, 05:29:33 am »

Quote
2)  I can't get Mplayer or Xine to play DVD's.  I can play them with VLC, but only after I direct it to the proper mount (?) point.  Is there a configuration file I need to edit manually to direct the other apps to the right directory?

Was this problem solved by checking the codecs?
Maybe a silly reason, but is "Device used for dvd playback" (in the media tab) set up properly in xine?
Logged
tomh38
Vectorian
****
Posts: 913



« Reply #21 on: June 24, 2007, 07:22:26 am »

jimwill

I've also had trouble with /tmp filling up.  For me this causes Firefox to freeze up, not my whole system.  Usually I have to kill Firefox, mostly after watching a hi-def trailer.  There's always an offending file I can delete, and then Firefox works fine.

I realize this could be off-topic, but it seems at least possible that a full /tmp directory could be related to ESBguy's difficulties.

If not, perhaps as jimwill suggested somebody could give a suggestion about how to deal with this /tmp directory problem.
Logged

"I'm doing a (free) operating system (just a hobby, won't be big and professional like gnu) for 386(486) AT clones." - Linus Torvalds, April 1991
ESBguy
Member
*
Posts: 9



« Reply #22 on: July 17, 2007, 08:47:54 pm »

Hi, all!  Bet you thought I'd given up.  HAH!

I did, however, reinstall VL Soho 5.8.  This was after investigating other possible causes (cheap optical mouse) and resetting KDE with Thunderbird and Firefox as default clients.  This last, by the way, seemed to improve things, but not enough.  I did a couple things different on this install:

1)  Created a separate home partition, and

2)  Used the open source Nvidia driver instead of the proprietary.

After a week of sheer hell (won't bore you with the details) of getting my Windows partitions to boot properly, I'm back and posting from VL!  One strange thing, though.  In my first install, I couldn't get Lilo to write to the mbr and I had to use Grub.  This time, Grub wouldn't work but Lilo installed just fine???  The Grub problem probably has more to do with my screwed up Windows bootloader, but I wonder why Lilo wouldn't work the first time.

Anyway, I removed Seamonkey with Gslapt and modified the profiles.ini for both Thunderbird and Firefox to use the profiles stored on my Win 98 partition, and set the default clients in KDE to Thunderbird and Firefox. .  Everything seems to work so far, I've been surfing happily without a crash.  All 3 OS's see the same emails, bookmarks, and settings.

Just one more app to go - Kbarcode.  This is a killer app for me, gotta have it.  If it doesn't screw up Firefox, I will BE Vector Linux!

I'll let you know how it goes...
Logged
ESBguy
Member
*
Posts: 9



« Reply #23 on: July 20, 2007, 05:13:39 pm »

Yeehah!

Everything works fine, MUCH joy, thank you very much to all who tried to help!

Nevermind the mplayer thing, as long as I have a workaround with VLC I'm happy.

This, folks, is a GREAT distro!  I've played with lots of them and VL is the best, even for a noob like me.  Never seen KDE move so fast.

The word needs to go forth - this could be the Vista killer the world deserves.

I'd like to mark this thread as solved, but I don't know how....
Logged
Joe1962
Administrator
Vectorian
*****
Posts: 2499



WWW
« Reply #24 on: July 20, 2007, 05:55:26 pm »

I'd like to mark this thread as solved, but I don't know how....
I could do it for you, but you might as well give a try... Grin
Find your opening post that started the thread, click on Modify and add to the title.
Logged

O'Neill (RE the Asgard): "Usually they ask nicely before they ignore us and do what they damn well please."
http://joe1962.bigbox.info
Running: VL 7 Std 64 + self-cooked XFCE-4.10
Pages: 1 [2]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!